We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy apartment located next door to popular hospital”

Desa Pelangi Condomium
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Desa Pelangi Condomium
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We went to Georgetown, 5 of us, for Medical Checkup, so renting apartment is making more sense especially since the hospital (Loh Guan Lye) is just a stone away from this apartment.
We also rent a car, so this would make renting this apartment is more appealing since there are lots of parking lot provided and with no extra charge.
The apartment interior is quite comfy, the eating utensil provided, there are also stove, microwave, toaster and washing machine provided. There are 3 room which looks modern with 2 bathroom (one in master bedroom and one outside). There is small swimming pool also although we don't use it. The apartment location although not too far from the central georgetown but still takes a while if you on foot, so only recommended either if you have your own transportation or the purpose of visit is to go to hospital next door (Loh Guan Lye)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arif_wicak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
There are newer reviews for Desa Pelangi Condomium
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

There were 5 of us, so it made more economic sense to rent an apartment instead of staying in a hotel. First, the positives: spacious, within walking distance to eateries, situated on a quiet street away from the main road, certain Astro channels on tv (small and non-flat screen though). Now the negatives: the place is old, tired, and in dire need of an overhaul. The bathroom tiles were stained and filthy. Water from the tap was yellow. Cutlery and utensil were in odd bits and pieces. Toilet flush did not function properly. Workmanship was so poor that the curtain rail in one of the rooms collapsed on the merest of touches. To be fair, the management responded quickly to the latter and had it fixed in no time. We did not make use of the kitchen, washing machine or the outdoor pool so were unable to comment.

Would I recommend this to anyone? Only to those who need space and can overlook the negatives as stated above. Personally I will steer clear of this place and opt for somewhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbugPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

The apartment is spacious with 3 bed rooms. Room is a bit run down but beds and bedsheets are reasonably clean .

Its located in Georgetown, 1.5 km walking to Komtar. Not too far but not too near either, there are plenty of eateries along the way.

The kitchen and washing machine were fully functioning but there was no washing powder provided. There is a small pool downstairs. Water is clean but there are mosquitoes in the evening.

There is no reception. The office is on the 3rd floor. Not much service but they responded to your requests.

Plenty of parking lots were available in basement.

I definitely recommend this place to families or groups.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C0linSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The way the management contact us for our personal details and asked us to bank in the money was very rude.

The apartment looks cosy, but cleanliness (I.e.the washing machine area needs improvement).

We admit we made some noise, but the way the management (Ms Wati) approached us was like confronting us by initiating a scold. Our friends visited us which their cars parking outside but the management insisted us to provide vehicle number which we did not understand the logic.

We have informed the management that our friends would visit us without staying overnight but we got scolded seriously stating if they really merely come for visit. We hope the management can check cctv first without scolding headlessly.

BAD experience on the management.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chungying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

The apartment was clean, spacious n had hotel grade beds n bedsheets. So no Angry Bird covers. Just smooth clean crisp white sheets. Its located in georgetown so it was close to eateries n attractions compared to our last visit where we stayed in feringgi which was 20 minutes away from georgetown. The kitchen was fully functioning so j made breakfast everymorning. The pool was also clean n had both kids n adults pool. Washing machine iron etc was availabke n they had astro so that was nice too. There is no reception. So upon entering guardhouse just say u rented an apartment from ms wati and he'll let u wait at the visitor bay while u call wati to come down. Parking is in basement. As there are pemanent residents there u gotta be mindful if noise n building rules such as proper swimwear. I definitely recommend this place to families or groups. Unlike small apartment o homestay owners, they have i think 20 over units availabke for rent so u can really coordinate a large group to stay here.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank YantiKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

we have 4 adults and 3 small kids. it's located near to "loh guan lye" hospital. location is quite strategic, very near to center of Georgetown and Gurney.
the apartment is fully furnished and well-equipped with kitchen utensils, cutlery, oven, dish washer, washing machine, iron & iron board. a car park was provided upon request.
swimming pool is also available and it looked well-maintained. we did not have time to soak ourselves in the pool due to our schedule.
Most importantly, the rooms included bathrooms are clean and tidy.
The only downside is one of the bathrooms is rather small and very difficult to move during shower. The car park provided is also small for our 12 seated car.
Overall, it's a good stay for a family.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alyznin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The condominium is in Georgetown. A convenient place to stay if you intend to be in the city to enjoy the food and sights. There is a clean swimming pool which guests can use and a kids pool as well. A carpark will be provided upon request. The condominium is fully furnished, dishes, cutleries, toiletries provided and all. We chose the boutique 3-bedroom condo as it looked better than the standard. The condominium guest relations executives will answer all your email queries and prompt too. We were told that the condominium is popular with families who want to stay overnight after attending a wedding dinner or convocation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.1 mi away
One Pacific Hotel & Serviced Apartment
0.7 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#8 of 85 in George Town
480 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
GLOW Penang
GLOW Penang
#21 of 85 in George Town
941 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.2 mi away
Noble Villa Apartment
Noble Villa Apartment
#60 of 118 in George Town
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desa Pelangi Condomium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desa Pelangi Condomium

Address: Desa Pelangi Condominium 11 Jalan Logan, George Town, Penang Island 10400, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 118 Speciality Lodging in George Town
Price Range: £47 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Desa Pelangi Condomium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desa Pelangi Condomium Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing