We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice budget hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chulia Heritage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Ranked #30 of 82 Hotels in George Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice budget hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

My family initially booked for a queen bed single room. On the day I check in,they were kind enough to upgrade to double queen bed after seeing us w a baby.good Service.will surely come back there again

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Nabil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    295
    151
    31
    18
See reviews for
108
255
57
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Due to our late check-in, we were given a smaller room rather the one we've booked online.however, after speaking to the staff, she was kind enough to inform us that our original room had been given away due to late check-in and informed us that we can get an upgrade the next day after the guests had checked out. we were really happy with the bigger room and vow to come back in the future.
Good news for those nasi kandar lover,Line clear is merely just 5 mins walk away. there are even bicycles to be rented out for visitors who like to ride around Georgetown, especially for those who are planning to go around looking for the famous wall arts.
Parking space are ample and of course first come first serve basis.

Room Tip: better wifi reception with rooms nearer to the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArmedCrossChecked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We had a 3D2N stay in this hotel and it was an unpleasant stay here. Our room number is 120 (attached bathroom) which is located at the ground floor and beside our room is a public washroom. During our stay, we encountered some sort of ants or flies on our bed after we went out for sightseeing. It's all over the bed crawling here and there! After quite some time the toilet will have some stinky smell and a lot of Mosquitos too! Anyway, the hotel staff are friendly and helpful. Initially, we chose this hotel is because of the free 3 hours bicycle rental for us. However, you need to deposit RM50 per person and if you exceed the 3hours limit your deposit will straight away be burnt. You will see a lot of bicycles at the parking lot but according to the staff a lot of bicycles are spoiled and out of order. So, if you want to rent their bicycles then please be early to pick your bike. Overall, the stay is average for me.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahckm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

The lonely planet describes the rooms as clinical virginal white that lack character. I disagree. The place was fantastic, in the center but just behind the main road, so not much noise. It was safe and secure with staff present 24hrs. The rooms where very white with art to break the monotony. That is what made the room have character. It was so white that you couldn't hide dirt and grime and that is what really made it welcoming. The rooms were not huge but a good size with a very comfy quin sized bed with a firm mattress. Aircon was good, the room was spotless and cleaned every day. The staff were very helpful and it was cheap as chips (£20). Although it did not have breakfast, there are so many amazing hawker stands (Roti Canai in little India was phenomenal) that it makes no difference. This is not a Sheraton with huge rooms, room service, buffet breakfasts and a pool. This is a great heritage boutique hotel that offers extremely clean, comfortable, quiet and safe rooms in the centre of Georgetown.Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: The deluxe on the ground floor are en-suite. The rest (inc the family rooms have shared bathroom fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpmgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

The Chulia Heritage is well located, with a clean and pleasant feeling. Spacious rooms, though the bathrooms are rather cramped, good wi Fi, pleasant staff and seems to be great value for money. Its location, set back from one of the main streets in old Georgetown makes it perfect to explore all the old city on foot.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazzz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

This is a very pleasant, centrally placed hotel on Chulia Street, near the Penang Road end. It's very close to Cintra Street, which leads to the Campbell/Kimberley Roads morning Chinese market. That's another story ...
The room was on the ground floor, down a short corridor on the right. It was big enough (just about) but 'not enough room to swing a cat' springs to mind! The room was OK for the rate we paid, the bed was comfortable, but there was only one cheap chipboard wardrobe and a small corner shelf with tea and coffee making facilities. That was OK as we were only there for 3 nights, but a longer stay would have become a problem.
The bathroom was tiny, about 1.4 meters by 1.5 m - no cat-swinging in there! There was a washbasin on a shelf and a toilet pedestal - the (very good and quickly hot) shower was just above the toilet, so everything got wet when showering. At first I could not find the toilet tissue, but located it well under the washbasin shelf, hidden away so the tissue was not soaked when showering.
The staff were VERY helpful and did a lot to explain how to get to places, and indeed, told us about the Chinese market and some places to eat.
If you are a Wi-fi freak and just can't do without your electronic handbag, wi-fi in the hotel is free, but patchy - it doesn't really work in the rooms, and you need to sit in the (very nice, open and airy) lobby to get a signal. They need to get a better router ...
HOWEVER, (probably our bad luck) there was a lot of building work going on during our stay so our lazy lie ins were stopped by about 9.30 when someone started drilling on the other side of the wall. Not happy about that, but at least it wasn't at 7.30!
No breakfasts were served, nor was there a restaurant that I could see. When I was in Georgetown 8 years ago there used to be plenty of back-packer cafes which would do a reasonable breakfast, but they all seem to have gone now. Chulia Street has been smartened up a lot, but it was a problem getting fed early in the day. The receptionist directed us to the Chinese market, but living in Thailand, I found the food VERY bland, and the hygiene was even worse than Thailand! Too many cooks spiting on the ground as they cooked the noodles - and you'll be noodled out in Penang, believe me!
All in all, you get what you pay for and this was fine - an easy walk down Chulia Street to Little India and gorge yourself on chicken tikka, not too far from Fort Conwallis and the seafront park (about 1 km), and even less to Komtar and the Prangin Mall (underneath which is the bus station, at the corner of Cintra St and Tek Soon St)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mister_FixitBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We booked the family suite and had the downstairs room. We've had a very positive experience staying here for 2 nights. The front desk receptionist was very helpful. We appreciated the complimentary bottled water. The room was very well air-conditioned and the bathroom comes with adequate hot water shower. Though the entire bathroom gets wet each time we have a shower but the design of the bathroom is still well thought out considering the amount of space available. There were enough towels to wipe down the toilet and vanity when they get drenched by the shower. A soap dish would've a nice addition in the bathroom too.

The flat screen wall mounted TV was enjoyed by my kids with Disney and discovery channels available. I would suggest the lobby area to be air-conditioned as the waiting area needs to be comfortable while we wait for our room to be cleaned. Perhaps the open courtyard/lobby can be screened by glass doors. There is a security guard outside to stop the riffraff from entering. The entrance is welcoming and there are bicycles for hire on site if required.

Breakfast is not provided but food is so much better at the nearby hawker stalls and coffee houses, hence it is not required. I would recommend this hotel to friends and relatives

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LNCKIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#31 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#18 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.6 mi away
Heliconia Hotel
Heliconia Hotel
#28 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chulia Mansion
Chulia Mansion
#13 of 82 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
#35 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.3 mi away
Spices Hotel
Spices Hotel
#22 of 82 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chulia Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chulia Heritage Hotel

Property: Chulia Heritage Hotel
Address: 380 Chulia Street, George Town, Penang Island, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chulia Heritage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chulia Heritage Hotel - the ideal hotel for traveller which offers high standard accommodation and personalized services in a stylish manner. Culture and history combined to create an atmosphere of luxurious living. Chulia Heritage Hotel is strategically located within the core zone of the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Penang, where is no doubt the traveller favorite must-visit place while holidaying in Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chulia Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chulia Heritage Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing