We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Ranked #37 of 87 Hotels in George Town
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Location of the hotel is hidden from the main street, no breakfast is provided but glad the hotel is surrounded with alot of types of food. Staff are friendly. WIFI is good. We booked two (2) types of rooms (standard double room & deluxe family room). Rooms were on the ground floor with private bathroom each. Standard double room is very small, without dressing table and no fridge while deluxe family room had those. Bathroom includes soap, shower gel and towels only. Good budget hotel.

Room Tip: Hotel consists of two (2) floors which 2nd floor needs to take off shoes and are using common bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeatriceKee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

206 - 212 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Good position, close to good restaurants an cafe.
The hotel is very minimal.. All white. The room is medium dimention.
The bathroom is very small, the shower is just above the water :/ in the middle of the bathroom. We found a dirty table.
Staff gentle.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Stefano C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We booked 2 type of rooms ( triple & double deluxe)

Triple room with sharing bathroom: On the first floor so be ready to haul luggage up the staircase. No shoes policy applied. Hot water & ironing available at common area. Communal bathroom is extremely clean. However there is only one power point in the room so please prepare multi-plug for several electrical devices

Double deluxe all situated on ground floor with attached bathroom. Pillows & beds are more comfortable than in the triple room. So this is definitely the best choice if staying in Chulia heritage Hotel.

Room Tip: Deluxe double is generally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank YvonneL1891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Well hidden hotel from the main street. First impression it looks really nice and clean with shiny floors. We have to take off our shoes when we go upstairs. Our room was on the first floor, quite close to the bathroom. Room has 2 double beds, pretty basic, no fridge nor chairs with just a small coffee table. Good news is that it has air-cond! Towels are provided too.

There are quite a few shower with toilet rooms - probably around 7 on the 1st floor. They were generally quite clean. Slippers are provided before entering the shower/toilet area.

The wi-fi connection is almost non-existent on the 1st floor. Just enough to do some web surfing but not really for skype.

Friendly receptionists and guest were given free bottle of drinking water every day. Good budget hotel and close to all amenities. Recommended for money savvy travelers.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Room is small but it's clean, new & located near to the Heritage sightseeing places. Worth the money, recommended for budget travellers.. Parking not a problem..There's also plenty choice of food around the hotel. Will stay here again for next visit to Penang.

Stayed: September 2013
1  Thank Ashilyseo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and we thought it was fantastic. The service was even better - particularly a man behind the reception desk (think his name is Adi). He couldn't do enough for us. Super comfy bed and very clean throughout. Great value - highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jadelicous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is a slightly upscale budget hotel set right in Chulia Street, which is the hottest spot in Georgetown. It is fairly close to food and drinking spots. Although it is located along Chulia Street, access to the hotel is via a longish narrow lane, so it is a comfortable distance away from traffic noise.

We booked 2 standard double rooms. The rooms were basic. For example, there was only mini bars of soap in the standard rooms. No fridge, no shower foam. The rooms were clean and quite bright. The standard double rooms were quite tight. Sorta reminded me of room sizes of Tune Hotels. The aircon was not cold. Set it to 16 degrees and it was only mildly cold in the middle of the night. After one night, they upgraded one of our rooms for free to a deluxe.

This came with a king sized bed and the room was a little larger. The bed was hard but comfortable. They provided two pillow each. One soft and one harder. There was also 2 chairs in the room with space for a luggage laid out on the floor.The room also came with a showcap, soap dispensing machine, desk and a fridge. However, this came at a cost. Being located at the reception area, you could hear any noise from the reception area. No good if you hoped to sleep early of wake up late. Also, being located on the ground floor, you could hear footsteps from the second floor quite clearly, sometime, all night long.

Staff were friendly and quite accommodating.

This is an ok hotel to stay at. No big issues. But nothing fantastic either. No porter service, no extra keycards. This is a budget hotel, just up-scaled, befitting Chulia Street. It is worth staying if you are looking for a reasonable stay. Nothing fancy. If you are not expecting a truly Georgetown heritage experience, this is not the place.

Room Tip: Don't choose rooms with door facing the main lobby area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Chris Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Chulia Mansion
Chulia Mansion
#14 of 87 in George Town
836 reviews
0.3 mi away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#19 of 87 in George Town
598 reviews
0.6 mi away
Heliconia Hotel
Heliconia Hotel
#29 of 87 in George Town
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#33 of 87 in George Town
366 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
#32 of 87 in George Town
165 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang
Tune Hotel Georgetown Penang
#39 of 87 in George Town
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chulia Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chulia Heritage Hotel

Address: 380 Chulia Street, George Town, Penang Island, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in George Town
Price Range: £14 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chulia Heritage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chulia Heritage Hotel - the ideal hotel for traveller which offers high standard accommodation and personalized services in a stylish manner. Culture and history combined to create an atmosphere of luxurious living. Chulia Heritage Hotel is strategically located within the core zone of the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Penang, where is no doubt the traveller favorite must-visit place while holidaying in Penang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chulia Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chulia Heritage Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing