We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is all true!”
Review of Campbell House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Campbell House
Ranked #1 of 169 George Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It is all true!”
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Just read all the raving reviews, because it is all true! We stayed here for three nights and absolutely loved it. The level of service, friendliness of the staff and owner, the decoration, comfort of the rooms, it is all excellent. The hotel is conveniently located in the historic city centre within walking distance of all attractions of the UNESCO world heritage site. If you are looking for a beautiful and romantic getaway look no further.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris_van_h1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    754
    65
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
89
498
59
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Campbell House is a truly special property.

Located in the heart of the old town, Campbell House makes you feels as if you are staying with friends or family, and the staff go out of their way to assist you with any of your queries or needs.

We stayed in the Colonial suite - utterly gorgeous. High, dark wood ceilings, beautiful coloured glass shuttered windows, king size bed and a well-designed bathroom. All of the details in this room have been thoughtfully considered - from the cold water and jug of ice tea in the bar fridge to the nespresso coffee machine - it is truly a home away from home. The Colonial suite is also located directly next door to the roof top terrace which is also a lovely space to enjoy.

The location is exceptional. Walking distance to some wonderful little restaurants and delicious street eats. We would just leave the hotel and start walking just to see what we would find. Campbell House is a great base from which to do this.

We loved it here and will happily return the next time we return to George Town.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RafKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Campbell House was probably our favourite of all the hotels we stayed in in Malaysia. The room was luxurious, the local eco-friendly bathroom products were fantastic, the service was exemplary. We needed help booking onward transport and the reception staff called the bus company, checked times, etc. It's more than just a willingness to do the things guests ask about though - it's chatting, making you feel at home, creating a relaxing environment. We loved it here and wished we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank SusanStoHelit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George Town, Penang
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

It's not just the ambiance that I love about Campbell House, because that's amazing on its own, its its owners that make the difference. Nardya and Roberto know what service is about, they truly value each and every one of their guests, and they actively go out of their way to make sure that your experience is the best experience that you can possibly have anywhere.

That the rooms are to die for is just another reason to stay. I mean they really are, and coming from a guy, and a straight one at that, that should tell you that they are something special.

For me, their restaurant is the best in George Town. The food is amazing, but again its the small things that make the difference. Its a family oriented traditional Italian eatery and the fact that Roberto has pictures of his grandparents on the wall says more about them than anything else.

I also love the fact that no matter how busy they are they always make the effort to come and sit with you, or at the very least to say hello.

Well done guys! Seriously, well done!

Room Tip: They are all good! Trust me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

My partner and I pre-booked this accommodation based on the central location, and were impressed from the moment we arrived. We received a warm and friendly welcome and throughout our stay all of our questions were answered - and if the answer was not known it was researched - including a recommendation for an emergency dentist! The owners are equally friendly and helpful and genuinely engaged in conversation and shared some laughs. The building and rooms have been rennovated with great attention to detail and decorated with tasteful furniture and fittings. The coffee machine (and nightly sweet treats) in the room was a lovely touch. We ended up staying an extra night as we loved the city of Georgetown and the hotel so much!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeefromHackett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
308 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Campbell House is definitely one of the best bed and breakfasts / small boutique hotels in the world! It is certainly at the top for George Town. Roberto and Nardya have made this building that was vacant for seven years in to a blissful oasis for travelers. My husband and I found it to be the perfect place to stay months before we ever set foot on Penang Island.
One of the things that set this wonderful place apart from the rest of the world’s establishments is service. Nordstrom (a fantastic U.S. department store) may have a lock on service for the retail world, but the Campbell House is dominating the hotel industry. We had numerous questions and requests prior to our August stay. All of our emails were met with immediate replies and answers. One of our inquiries concerned Malaysia's last traditional signboard maker. A member of the Campbell House’s staff went out of her way to Kok Ah Hwa’s shop to make sure she had the right answers for us. We do not know of many places that would do that for their guests!
The great service continued as soon as we entered the Campbell House. We were warmly greeted and were given a good amount of information concerning George Town. My husband was thrilled to be given a map for us to walk around this UNESCO World Heritage City. With no lift in the building, the staff used a rope and pulley system to get our luggage to the floor above. They took all of it to our room.
The Sari room we stayed in was beautiful and spacious (The amount of space here was sorely missed during our stay in Singapore). We had a little balcony with a table and chairs that overlooked the edge of George Town’s Chinatown. There was a tricky step right before our bed, but that is clearly marked. Every night we slept wonderfully due to the large comfortable bed. Our bathroom was a good size with some of the best soap we have ever used. It is made from local lemongrass by residents of George Town. The bouquet of the soap made one feel like they were in heaven. It was that nice.
The extra touches to our room really added to our enjoyment. The pitcher of delicious iced tea quenched our thirst. Any time we wanted more iced tea, the Campbell House gladly replenished the pitcher. There was plenty of bottled water in the room’s fridge. There was a decent sized flat screen TV, a DVD player, and a Nespresso machine we used every morning to make some tea. We had free Wi-Fi that was at times not good, but it was rock solid in the library. If we went out for a while, we would come back to find our room made up, and in immaculate shape.
Lovely décor is everywhere. The antique furniture and artwork in their library made for a great place to relax and unwind. The library had lots of books for guests to read. This included numerous tour books to help you figure out what to do while on Penang Island. There always seemed to be guests taking advantage of this very nice library. In the restaurant, there are two display cases of items for sale. Nardya has done a great job of displaying jewelry, local artwork and cookbooks by Pearly Seok Poh Kee – a very talented local chef who has great cooking classes. The quality of the jewelry and artwork was so good that a lot of what we bought in George Town was purchased at Il Bacaro. We even bought some of that fantastic soap to bring back with us.
Since our flight to Penang was late in the day, we opted to have dinner at the Campbell House’s restaurant, Il Bacaro. The influence of Roberto clearly shows with their menu and the quality of food. We have eaten at numerous Italian restaurants throughout the world, and Il Bacaro is one of the best we have eaten at. And, this includes the ones in Roma! Roberto came by our table, and we had a great conversation with him. He made us feel like we were part of his family and that the Campbell House was our “home away from home”. Even with a nice bottle of Italian wine and two mixed drinks, our tab for a great Italian dinner was less than $100. What makes this price even more amazing is that the Malaysian government puts a high tax on alcohol.
The complimentary breakfast is served in Il Bacaro. It appears the restaurant is open in the mornings only for its guests. Filtered sunlight lights the restaurant, making for a very pleasant way to start the day. One has numerous choices of breakfasts. Fresh local fruits, a great selection of breads, freshly squeezed juices, yogurt, scrambled eggs, Eggs Benedict, and French toast are all on the menu. Everything we had at Il Bacaro was delicious. The Campbell House can work around your schedule. We had an early-morning appointment one day thus the Campbell House made a special breakfast for us that we had in our room. They made some absolutely delicious sandwiches with grilled zucchini and meat. It is a testament to Il Bacaro’s cooking that we state that the sandwiches were delicious as neither of us like zucchini.
We have stayed at bed and breakfasts throughout the world and the Campbell House is definitely in that elite class. This gem is perfectly located – right in the heart of the historic district. The experiences we had at this great bed and breakfast have us wanting to return right now. It is that good. We hope to see Roberto and Nardya very soon. Thank you very much for giving us such a memorable stay in a lovely place!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MagyarNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Campbell House, and it was fantastic. Slap in the middle of old Penang,
centrally located and a great base for walking and exploring, a short walk to the bus stop. A 10-minute walk to the Red Garden Food Hawker stalls - an great eating experience not to be missed. Also don't miss the trip to Penang Hill - wonderful views and cooler up there.
We had the Calligraphy room, just beautiful with old Chinese antique furniture and lovely to have the Nespresso machine for the early morning coffee. The cooling ginger tea in the
'fridge each day was a winner too. Lots of stairs, but the pulley system for the luggage means no carting luggage upstairs. Shakira and the other staff provided wonderful service, and helpful answers to our questions. The breakfasts were great and dinner at Il Baccoro was delicious. If you're coming to Penang, Campbell House is the place to stay - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank casscats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 84 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 84 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Muntri Mews
Muntri Mews
#5 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
0.4 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#10 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campbell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campbell House

Property: Campbell House
Address: 106 Lebuh Campbell, George Town, Penang Island 10100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 169 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Campbell House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campbell House is a new class... a new breed of Heritage hotel in Georgetown. A stunning 3 story corner shop house lovingly restored by European owners Nardya & Roberto, located arms length from the madding crowd, with 10 individual suites offering today's modern traveller a luxurious home away from home. Campbell House has plenty of charm, and personal touches, modern amenities mixed with classic Colonial style at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campbell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campbell House Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing