We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth for money.Comfortable”
Review of Super 8 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Hotel
Ranked #50 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worth for money.Comfortable”
Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

My 2nd time visit Penang,also my 2nd time choose to book this hotel.Still comfortable,value for money! Keep it up! Very recommended to those coming to georgetown for holiday.But remember,u must have transport.If u just a walk backpackers,it may hard to u.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ButtermilkHoHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    37
    41
    12
    9
See reviews for
27
22
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

This is a relatively new hotel situated near the heart of George Town. The room is clean and has the best strong showers (hot or cold) in town - very powerful - better than other more expensive hotels in town. Near a large shopping centre (GAMA) which supplies all your needs. Local food especially Indian and Chinese foods are nearby. Walking distance to Komptar the bus network center of Penang. The staff is very polite, helpful and efficient. The surrounding is in the older part of the city and there is noise from barking of dogs from opposite the hotel. For the price, this is worth it being close to transport and shops.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher level facing the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jae8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

My friends and I just got back from a 3D-2N spontaneous trip to Penang. The hotel is definitely a value for money (we paid about RM 220 for 2 nights).

The room was spacious. It wasnt sound prove but we were too tired and fell asleep once we headed to bed, so it wasnt an issue for us. What we loved the most was the powerful shower head and spacious bathroom. Towel provided. After a whole day touring around the city, we were all sweaty and tired and that was exactly what all of us needed. Kudos to that! but personally I think the sink can be slightly cleaner.

Locality wise, it is near to 3 malls, and walking distance to the main bus station for both normal bus and penang CAT (komtar), so basically you can get to anywhere you want. We found the nicest local food at the nearby market upon arrival, at a walking distance. We also LOVE the cakes from Ms. Cake House, a small but yummy cake shop at Lebuh Presgrave (nearby the hotel), remember to try the green tea cake!

Wifi and water dispenser provided and receptionists were pretty friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VunTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Lobby area was spacious. Reception wasn't very friendly. Parking was good. Not a busy area. Room was spacious. Very spacious. Astro and Free WiFi was provided. Very clean and comfortable room. There wasn't any windows though. Toilet was clean too. Three of us were glad we chose a hotel that was within our budget. Must have a car if you're staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iylham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

I stayed here w/ husband and 2 kids before went on cruising. Quite well for a budget hotel,very worth the price. We had a room with no windows. But the room was clean: clean bedsheets, clean wall-to-wall carpet, clean bathroom. They provided water dispenser w/ hot and cool water next to the elevator in every floor, and also coffee-tea in the room. The rooms are not quite sound-proof, so you can hear every sounds from the corridor. The surrounding environment was old-style residential building, very interesting if you like heritage buildings. Foodstalls and hawkers are near, and it is only a few blocks away from a big mall (can't remember the name). The minus part is the pub next to the hotel, which is pretty noisy at night.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jooneek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2013

For the price, everything is ok except the bath towel is bad. Brownish and not water absorbing. Feels like it has been soak in oil before or maybe it is not coton. I got a replacement towel and still the same problem. Hope the management will pay attention to this issue.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Recommended for those traveller travel with car at penang.
Room is big with clean and nice bathroom.
Pillow is small and not very comfy.I know this is not expensive hotel,but at least please give more comfort pillow to guest as pillow is one important part to make your guest happy while staying there.
Attention to the management,your bathroom water is a bit fluffy.I only shower for not more than 3 minutes then water start to reach my ankle.Hope u can fix this.
Parking lot is available.
No need to complain much as i think it's value for money we spent.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ButtermilkHoHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.5 mi away
Ink Hotel
Ink Hotel
#44 of 84 in George Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heliconia Hotel
Heliconia Hotel
#28 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#30 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#33 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.3 mi away
Munlustay 88 Hotel
Munlustay 88 Hotel
#56 of 84 in George Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.9 mi away
G Times Inn
G Times Inn
#53 of 84 in George Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Hotel

Property: Super 8 Hotel
Address: 81 Tye Sin Street, George Town, Penang Island 11050, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing