We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It started out great until it crashed and burned”
Review of Super 8 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Hotel
Ranked #52 of 85 Hotels in George Town
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The room appeared clean so we were happy about it, until we had to freshen up when we discovered a filthy towel, I mean it was a used towel!!! It still had some person's dirt and smell on it. I called the front desk who informed me they had no room attendants at the moment so she'll personally bring one 5 minutes later. I mean if the room attendant can't change a towel then it puts into question the cleanliness of the room. It might appear clean but who knows? I would not recommend this place because of the cleanliness issue.

In the evening, the hotel's surrounding area was dark with rats scurrying about but the mall (2nd avenue) was about 500 meters away and the hawker restaurant recommended by the tourism brochure was 300 meters away so it was good nonetheless.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OLS_LTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
There are newer reviews for Super 8 Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

The hotel has a good location, 5 mins from Komtar, shopping malls and some food stalls. However, the staff in super 8 failed to my expectation from the online reviews. I actually booked 2 days before I check-in, but the staff seem not to receive my booking and like I have given them trouble. We were 20+ years old but they treat us like we are kids and look down on us. Finally we got the room, but the room is not in good condition, bed sheets are dirty, no towels, and etc. We called to ask for change rooms but their attitude is unwilling and said there was only one other room left. After we changed the room, it was okay, but the staff's attitude are totally not nice which is very disappointing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leeann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is good budget hotel.Located near to the Penang Town.Good staff service,free & spacious car park,clean,neat,good condition. Our room come with no window but well kept,good condition and clean. Bath room clean but will flood after a while you shower.
overall, this is good budget hotel, still brand new condition.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank princess1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Actually I had stay there for two nights. Overall it is quite worth for the price. Except for the carpet had a strange odour. Maybe the room I stayed is not facing the main road. Its window is facing to the building behind it.
By the way, the parking available provided by the hotel is not many and is on first come first served basis. Same goes to the hair dryer as well.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meiyan90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We rented a deluxe room and it was super clean and comfortable (we had a room with windows). Quiet and peaceful location and it's just a few minutes walk frm coffee shops nearby. Parking was also not a problem.

Saw some reviews and they said something about karaoke outlets and pubs. Thankfully, according to the staff, they had closed down.

However, don't expect great service from staff esp the front desk. But, house keeping was good.

Overall, it's a no-frills hotel with super clean and spacious room. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: On the 1st day, the corridor was filled with cigarette smell... So get a room with windows. No...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lokannhotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We had 2 family rooms & one standard room. Rooms were very clean & well maintained. Family room is very spacious. Location was also good - calm & quiet. There is car parking as well. Good place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank krps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

In general, I've found the customer service at Malaysia hotels and hostels to be poor.

However, Super 8 was an exception. The front desk lady was so nice and helpful and willing to answer our questions about how to get around Penang.

The rooms are big and comfortable. I consider them an excellent value.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank supongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Heliconia Hotel
Heliconia Hotel
#28 of 85 in George Town
229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ink Hotel
Ink Hotel
#49 of 85 in George Town
74 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mingood
Hotel Mingood
#54 of 85 in George Town
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Eton Hotel
Eton Hotel
#47 of 85 in George Town
22 reviews
0.3 mi away
Munlustay 88 Hotel
Munlustay 88 Hotel
#57 of 85 in George Town
52 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
#32 of 85 in George Town
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Hotel

Address: 81 Tye Sin Street, George Town, Penang Island 11050, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 85 Hotels in George Town
Price Range: £16 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing