We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful”
Review of Suffolk House

Suffolk House
Ranked #76 of 920 Restaurants in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“beautiful”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

beautiful restored mansion, houses an excellent restaurant which claims not to use the terrible poisonous MSG = Monosodium Glutamate. garden is lovely, a must to see this mansion!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank overseaswriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penangnative, Manager at Suffolk House, responded to this review, 1 June 2016
Dear overseaswriter. Thank you for your review. We are pleased to inform you that since the YKH group has taken over the management of Suffolk House we have refurbished the place in May 2016 to an even higher standard. The beautiful garden with its rain trees are still as beautiful as ever and the dining rooms have been given a facelift making it one of the most classy restaurants in Penang. The menu has been changed and it's now helmed by chef Mathijs Nanne from the Netherlands and as you can see from the latest reviews people are loving it. We hope that you will be back to visit us one of these days soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    31
    16
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cosy colonial”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The food was very good. The service was very friendly and the prices reasonable. Surprisingly not all Taxi drivers know where it is !

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penangnative, Manager at Suffolk House, responded to this review, 1 June 2016
Dear Bonviveur_13 . Thank you for your review. We are pleased to inform you that since the YKH group has taken over the management of Suffolk House we have refurbished the place in May 2016 to an even higher standard. The beautiful garden with its rain trees are still as beautiful as ever and the dining rooms have been given a facelift making it one of the most classy restaurants in Penang. The menu has been changed and it's now helmed by chef Mathijs Nanne from the Netherlands and as you can see from the latest reviews people are loving it. We hope that you will be back to visit us one of these days soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Much Room for Improvement”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Just last week, I organised a dinner at the Suffolk House for someone's 70th Birthday. I had a private room and chose the Set Dinner. I picked the Suffolk House primarily for its Heritage status and its attractive grounds. However, the food and the service certainly did not live up to its lofty status that night. The Manager, Maiane was most helpful and professional. I can't say that about the service staff. They just stood around the room, with no smiles and was oblivious whenever a glass needed to be refilled. As for the food, that night, all my guests gave compliments for the Salad and the Seafood Chowder. But all who chose the Steak as their main course, myself included, felt we were cutting through a piece of leather. Mind you, we had all ordered Beef Medium Rare. The set menu offered Ribeye Beef Steak with Béarnaise Sauce. The steak we had didn't taste like Ribeye and it was dry. I saw all my guests asking for sauce and even the sauce offered was not Béarnaise, it was just ordinary brown sauce. When I pointed out to the manager that beef was tough the excuse I was given was : " You ordered the beef from the set menu....." as if to tell me that Suffolk House serves lower quality meat on the set menu. Then why bother offer the set menu and the price wasn't a giveaway either. Moreover, the milk jug was more for aesthetics but certainly not practical. The milk kept on spilling on the table so much so that my guests ended up playing a game of who could pour the milk without spillage !! Would I go again to dine in Sufflok House, I have my doubts. One lesson to be learnt: A good restaurant and good service doesn't just come about because it operates out of a swanky Heritage building.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SatrnR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penangnative, Manager at Suffolk House, responded to this review, 1 June 2016
Dear SatrnR . Thank you for your review. We are pleased to inform you that since the YKH group has taken over the management of Suffolk House we have refurbished the place in May 2016 to an even higher standard. The beautiful garden with its rain trees are still as beautiful as ever and the dining rooms have been given a facelift making it one of the most classy restaurants in Penang. The menu has been changed and it's now helmed by chef Mathijs Nanne from the Netherlands and as you can see from the latest reviews people are loving it. We hope that you will be back to visit us one of these days soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucainena de las Torres, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Great Way to Spend an Afternoon”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This restored former colonial residence offers "High Tea" at 70 RM for two persons. There is a choice of quality teas of varying flavours served with a delicious hot chicken and mushroom pie, followed by a selection of sandwiches, warm scones with jam and cream, more cakes and cookies. The ambiance is tranquil and staff polite and attentive, regularly topping up the teapots, etc.
The house is interesting and well worth a visit.
The gift shop is somewhat sparse - an opportunity missed?
Easiest way to get there is by Taxi from Georgetown, however we found two taxi drivers who had never heard of Suffolk House but a third knew exactly where and conveyed us there efficiently.
A most pleasant afternoon away from the normal hustle and bustle typical of Penang.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tez444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penangnative, Manager at Suffolk House, responded to this review, 1 June 2016
Dear Tez444 . Thank you for your review. We are pleased to inform you that since the YKH group has taken over the management of Suffolk House we have refurbished the place in May 2016 to an even higher standard. The beautiful garden with its rain trees are still as beautiful as ever and the dining rooms have been given a facelift making it one of the most classy restaurants in Penang. The menu has been changed and it's now helmed by chef Mathijs Nanne from the Netherlands and as you can see from the latest reviews people are loving it. We hope that you will be back to visit us one of these days soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A special place to celebrate with that special someone”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My husband and I was here for NYE dinner, walking in around 7.30pm, the setting was beautiful with golden balls hanging off the ceiling, creating a very magical feel. We were promptly seated and our server promptly explained that we will be served the NYE set dinner. The server was very professional, asking us if we wanted more time between the courses. Interesting though they did not give us an option if we wanted sparkling or still water.

The appetiser was Foie Gras Tortellini, which was served in a spoon, giving me the impression that it was a small bite compliment of the chef. A little dissappointed with this dish, as the Foie Gras was barely there, tortellini pasta sheet was on the thick side, in which the flour became the main source of taste.

We both decided to have the Angus beef steak as mains. The beef came out perfectly, cooked just right - succullent and juicy, accompanied with mashed potatoes - rich and creamy and caramelized baby carrots. This is indeed the highlight of the night.

For dessert, I've got the chocolate extravagance plate and my husband had the cheese plate - both are good but nothing exciting.

Overall, it was a nice beautiful place to have that special meal with the special someone. I would love a proper pan-seared Foie Gras vs a Pasta wrapped Foie Gras (could not taste the FG at all). The interesting part is that on NYE, the restaurant closes at 11pm. A little dissappointed that the management didn't have a more interesting program lined up for such a special night to count down the new year. Or as my vivid imagination is causing me to go wild - thinking if this place is haunted? and all the staff/customer needs to leave before 12midnight?

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaTeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penangnative, Manager at Suffolk House, responded to this review, 1 June 2016
Dear AngelaTeh . Thank you for your review. We are pleased to inform you that since the YKH group has taken over the management of Suffolk House we have refurbished the place in May 2016 to an even higher standard. The beautiful garden with its rain trees are still as beautiful as ever and the dining rooms have been given a facelift making it one of the most classy restaurants in Penang. The menu has been changed and it's now helmed by chef Mathijs Nanne from the Netherlands and as you can see from the latest reviews people are loving it. We hope that you will be back to visit us one of these days soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Suffolk House also viewed

 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Suffolk House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing