We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of G-Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
G-Inn
Ranked #45 of 169 George Town B&B and Inns
Butterworth, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Clean and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Clean rooms and also very near to town. But the location of the hotel is located at the street which always have traffic jam during the peak hours. However, the breakfast here is sublime, they offered buffet for such a cheap price stay! The buffet is excellent and there are various of food to choose from.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EricJina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    39
    21
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
19
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Clean room and okay size, however, I wish I had checked the location more carefully. G-Inn is located in the middle of Penang--somewhere between Gurney Drive and the more happening part of Georgetown. However, it's a really long walk to get to either destination and the condition of the sidewalks aren't great (wouldn't recommend it).

Another gripe I had was the weak wi-fi connection from rooms.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank reinosaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

The rooms are very clean and the WiFi works really good, location is good, staffs are friendly and helpful. There was not more choice in breakfast, all in all it is good hotel, you get what you paid for.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PuruTimalsena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Blanket too small for 2 adults, rejected by asking additional blanket even pay for it. Less choice of breakfast. But good location, nice outlook exterior.Staff have good smile but less helpful actions.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MorganLee78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George Town, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

First impressions were what a beautifull building this is, full of colour on the outside and charming inside. The hotel staff are excellent to deal with, one person in particular [ CAMILLA ] who seems to smile for malaysia every time i had the pleasure of meeting her, a true asset for the hotel and front line staff. I accidently forgot my security code for the safe in my room and of course the secutiy girl from borneo had it opened in quick time. The cleaning staff were excellent also, leaving my room in perfect order every day. The rooms are big and bright with everything you need at your disposal, with great air conditioning units. Breakfast is provided adjacent to the reception area and caters for both western and malaysian cuisine. The penang coffee is really good tasting and is best when taken black as it has its own sweetness.Fresh fruit along with different juices are available each morning. Mid day lunch is also served and is extremely fresh and varied, served to you by Irene and Felix and other members of the kitchen staff. My trip to Penang and my stay in the G-INN was a great experience, and i can highly recommend this establishment. Best wishes to everyone, from FRANK in Dublin, Ireland

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marylin301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

A frequent traveller to Penang and this was the most affordable stay so far. Its clean surroundings, friendly staffs, ample parking, secure place and easily accessible if you want to go anywhere in Georgetown coz its right in the middle of it! Surely we will come to G-Inn again and we hope it will be as it is when we are there!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Idris2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

I've been to Penang a couple of times and this time, my friend and I, both agreed to experiment our stay somewhere else; further away from Lebuh Chulia.

G-Inn is approximately 20mins away (by foot) from Gurney Drive. A usual-site where we would always hang out if we are in Georgetown. The location sits two mega-malls, namely Plaza Gurney, and the newly - built, Paragon mall. Also, at Gurney, it is famous for the street-hawker food (5 mins away from the plaza), and the long stretch of fresh seafood eating places near to the sea-shore. Both "Oriental Seafood" (Nearer to the Gurney hawker) and "Bali Seafood" (Along the stretch of other food centres) are our recommendations.

I think "Bali seafood" is slightly a lil more pricey due to the fact that whatever food you ordered from the menu are all freshly cooked and served. They have a medium-size aquarium near to the entrance if you know what I mean.

If you are going to Komtar by foot, it is approximately 25-30mins. No zig-zags or turning in-between. It's a straight long road ahead leading you to komtar from the hotel. Plus a couple of road crossings. While you're walking towards komtar, you might wanna take notice of the food stalls/centres along the stretch. Some of the these food stalls you pass-by would be buzzing with people at night. It's a different sight at night literally. This said, I don't think you'll ever go hungry at night (some of these stalls close as late as 4.am) or even in the day as there are a wide variety of eateries to choose from.

Same goes for convenient stores if you need to get something urgently. The "Happy-Mart" or "7-eleven" stores are just minutes away from the hotel.

From MacAllister to Chulia Street/Upper Pinang Road (where the drinking places are). It's slightly longer via foot. Approximately 40mins? Passing by 'Jalan Argyll' is a good gauge that you are approaching there. But of cause, Lebuh Chulia within that area is fairly huge (there are other lanes such as Lebuh Campbell and Kimberly for example). Unless you are going there for dinner (e.g. night street food or nearby Chinese seafood place, pubs), there's really nothing much you can do in the evening. In the day however, all the stalls (e.g. shirts, art-pieces, batik art etc) are open.

Alright, I'm getting long-winded here. I guess ultimately, Penang never fail to amaze us. I would also recommended that if you have the time and immense patience, takes a whole day off to search for interesting Street-Arts; Muriel-like paintings on the wall, all segregated, painted in different areas along Armenian Street and nearby lanes. I'm sure the hotel has a map for it before you begin your conquest.

Last but not least, back to the hotel review. G-Inn is pretty "neat". The wifi is free, a mini-fridge, a safe-box in the room..and a window (for ventilation) in the room... A 24/7 convenient store at the hotel lobby. Free complimentary breakfast from 7am-10am. The same café that serves lunch if you're lazy to head outside.

Hope this review helps.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
One Pacific Hotel & Serviced Apartment
0.4 mi away
Heliconia Hotel
Heliconia Hotel
#28 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ink Hotel
Ink Hotel
#43 of 84 in George Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Eton Hotel
Eton Hotel
#46 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Inn
Grand Inn
#106 of 169 in George Town
3.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.7 mi away
Magpie Residence
Magpie Residence
#9 of 169 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G-Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G-Inn

Property: G-Inn
Address: 133 Macalister, George Town, Penang Island 10400, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 169 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — G-Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your G-Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G-Inn Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing