We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dark and dingy”
Review of Cocoa Mews

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cocoa Mews
Ranked #31 of 172 George Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2014

There are only two good things about this place. The staff were very friendly and gave great tips about where to go. The location is also brilliant, right in the heart of Little India with some amazing restaurants nearby.

Everything else was awful. My boyfriend and I paid for an "executive" private room. Essentially this means you get a private bathroom. The room had no window which we were not informed of beforehand and left us feeling blind every time we entered in to natural daylight. The room itself stank of mould, which was visible in the bathroom and the room itself. Its not particularly safe when you've no window to let in fresh air. That's probably why the room is mouldy in the first place. I understand the no durian policy is because of the strong smell, but you'd think they'd take the mouldy smell more seriously. Apparently not, because our room wasn't cleaned once the entire 4 nights we stayed. Our towels were also never replaced.

The bed looked like it was on its way out. It dipped in the middle so that it was difficult to actually get comfortable. I can't be sure how clean the blanket we were given was, but it's also seen better days.

The room was on the ground floor right next to the shared bathrooms and the only place where there are a couple of chairs for people to sit. It was noisy, particularly at night when trying to sleep, as people would convene directly outside our bedroom to chat. One person even decided to dry their hair at 1am. The kitchen is small but provides a microwave, a fridge and a kettle. It's not particularly clean either.

I wouldn't go back here if it was the last place on earth. It's just not worth the price, which wasn't particularly cheap. This is the worst room I've ever stayed in during my two months of travelling through Asia.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JessicaAndRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Great location, walking distance to everything. Staff are extremely friendly and willing to help with lots of local knowledge and recommendations. Comfy dorm beds, lockers in room, free water, free wifi, free tea and clean bathrooms. Only downside is there isn't a communal social area but for the price you pay you really couldn't ask for more! Spend an afternoon walking around with the map they provide to search for all the local street art; it's pretty cool and with your eyes peeled you'll see more than the map shows.

TIP: if getting ferry you can walk to hostel in under five mins even with luggage. Just go straight over the pedestrian bridge over the road and walk in a straight line until you reah lebuh king road, turn left on this road and hostel is a short way down on the left.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DJScho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Great location, fantastic owner who was so friendly and full of great tips, he even gave us discounts when we asked to stay another night

The rooms very basic but clean, well air conned and bug free which is all i want from a budge hostel, would definitely stay again

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I can only imagine the terrible places that the folks giving this place high marks have stayed. It was one the worst of our 4 months in Asia. The only redeeming quality was the free walking map. Do not recommend. Loud, cramped room, threadbare sheets, rude staff, dirty bathroom. One night was rough.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank heatherm27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Pros:
The staff - fantastic! All three men on reception were welcoming, chatty and incredibly helpful, advising us on how to get around, what to see, where to eat and how to get to butterworth for free.
The location - right in the heart of little India, you can get everywhere really easily.

The cons:
Room - dingy with no room to swing a cat and no hooks or shelves to put anything so you're constantly tripping over bags and luggage on the floor.
Noise - it's an old building and sound insulation is non existent. Even though there are signs everywhere showing how to walk in a heritage building, it still sounds like the jolly green giant is trudging past your door everytime someone goes to the loo.
Bathrooms - shared showers and toilets. Again, very small and no hooks so your stuff gets wet.
I know it's a budget option but no need for it to be quite so budget.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonKatastrophe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We found Cocoa Mews by accident (401 bus from Nibong bus station) and were pleasantly surprised at the price and VERY helpful staff!
Pros - heart of Little India, amazing staff, clean (but small) rooms
Cons- if you're a light sleeper (we're not) the noise from the street and people walking/talking might disturb you

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Natasha30_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed here in a private room for the few nights we stayed in Georgetown and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else if we were to return. The location of the hostel is brilliant - right in the heart of little India, the most charming part of town in my opinion. The rooms are small and basic with good (perhaps a little too good - it got a bit chilly) air conditioning. What really makes this place amazing are the staff! One of the men who work there sat us down for 20 minutes on our first day and provided us with a bunch of maps, recommending the best places to see/eat and visit. All of the staff were so incredibly helpful and friendly that we would definitely return here if we were to be staying in Georgetown. Thank you for a wonderful stay :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lkd22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Thirty Three Stewart Houze
Thirty Three Stewart Houze
#24 of 172 in George Town
102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Muntri House
Muntri House
#25 of 172 in George Town
149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Just Inn
Just Inn
#14 of 172 in George Town
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kimberley House
Kimberley House
#52 of 172 in George Town
184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunny Side
Sunny Side
#22 of 119 in George Town
27 reviews
0.5 mi away
28 Bahari
28 Bahari
#33 of 172 in George Town
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocoa Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocoa Mews

Address: 101 Lebuh King, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 172 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range: £8 - £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cocoa Mews 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cocoa Mews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocoa Mews Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing