We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Coffee Atelier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coffee Atelier
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Zuchwil, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at coffee atelier. The staff was very kind and Stephan organised a tour through the old town for us. Coffee atelier is located very close to "love lane" in the centre of George Town. You'll find great food around the place as well as in the Coffee that belongs to the Hotel. The rooms are very big and decorated very nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thanks again for staying with us, it was a pleasure having you as our guests! See you sometimes again.l
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    42
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
47
75
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

My travel companion and I had an amazing experience at this establishment. We stayed in the ground floor suite. The hotel staff was happy to deliver an extra mattress to our room upon our arrival. From the room we could not hear any outside noise. No one stayed above us during time there so I can't speak about up/down room noise. The breakfast was lovely- tea, orange juice, assorted breads, choice of bacon/sausage, eggs, mushrooms, and baked beans. Very tasty. The staff was also helpful in booking cabs and helping us sort out our day. I would definetly stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mntngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thanks again for staying with us! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us - please visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

It has all the trappings of modern comfort such as flat screen tv, DVD player, fridge, tea maker and hair dryer. Yet it preserved the old charms of the shophouse with tasteful decorations and furniture.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kyeixhin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thanks again for staying with us and glad that you enjoyed your stay! Please visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Negros Occidental, Philippines
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

A great place to stay in the heart of the heritage area, clean and comfortable accommodation, friendly and efficient service, attention to detail, scrumptious food and just a short walk or trishaw ride to many interesting sites around the city, quaint cafes and restaurants, museums, temples. The best way to explore for us was just to walk around the narrow streets and lanes and admire the preservation and restorations works on the temples and colonial shophouses turned into inns, hotels, cafes, small museums, shops and what have you. It was our first time in Penang and we would love to have a longer stay on our next visit. thanks Coffee Atelier for a memorable experience.

Room Tip: The stairs going up the second floor rooms are narrow and claustrophobic so a good tip would be to c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsipalay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thanks a lot for staying with us and glad that you had a good time in Penang and at Coffee Atelier. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

It was my first time staying in town, even though we come to Penang often. Most of the the visits we stayed at Tanjung Bungah. Well, it is truly a great experience staying here. The place is wonderful, clean, spacious, good location, convenient and the people are friendly too. The breakfast is fantastic, we have bacon for b'fast and not to mention the restaurant serves the best food in town. We wake up at 7am and we walked the streets. The tourist spots are just walking distance
. We visited Chow Resta Market, and it brings back good memories when I was a kid. Just the good old days!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YipJoshua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you again for staying and glad you enjoyed your time at Coffee Atelier. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Those looking for a place to stay in the heritage area would be wise to choose Coffee Atelier. The location is a fantastic starting point to explore Georgetown's old houses, temples and mosques. There are many small cafes, street food vendors and convenience stores around the corner. The building was carefully restored inside and out maintaining its character. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with very good wifi connection. The bathroom is big and open air so you hear the birds while bathing in the morning. The food and coffee at the cafe are excellent. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If you are on the large side choose a room on the ground floor so you do not have difficulty going u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kyapjoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thanks again for staying with us and glad that you had a good time in Penang and at our place - please visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Lovely place to relax & watch the world go by. It's a beautiful cafe with an art gallery next door. They used to roast their own coffee beans here & you can see the room out back where this was done. They also have rooms here which look beautiful, but didn't stay in them.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkZoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Glad you enjoyed and thank you for stopping bye!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 84 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 84 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Edison George Town, Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#9 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.3 mi away
Spices Hotel
Spices Hotel
#21 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coffee Atelier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coffee Atelier

Property: Coffee Atelier
Address: 47 - 55 Lorong Stewart, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in George Town
#4 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coffee Atelier 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COFFEE ATELIER is located right in the core zone of George Town, Penang, a UNESCO World Heritage Site.It comprises a collection of five beautifully restored early 20th century shophouses. Today it houses an eclectic mix of a restaurant, an art gallery, a coffee museum and suites which are fully appointed with all modern amenities for short or long term stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Coffee Atelier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coffee Atelier Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing