We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, welcoming, funky hotel in a fab location”
Review of 23 Love Lane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
23 Love Lane
Ranked #15 of 172 George Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2014

From the moment I booked 23 Loveland provided exceptional customer service. I had a few questions before arriving and even managed to extend our stay over email the day before arriving.

Upon arrival, we were greeted with a delicious drink, whilst the check in was dealt with.

The room (Eclectic Straits 2) is well kitted out, an extremely cosy bed, lights that can be controlled with remote controls, a great powerful walk-in shower and many other of the usual benefits. The decor is great throughout the entire hotel, in our room there was beautiful furniture and art work.

Breakfast, in the attached restaurant, is excellent. The offer a western breakfast (we didn't try this) instead opting for the local breakfast - highly recommended. They also freshly juice oranges and make a good coffee. Breakfast also has a wide array of fresh fruit and cheese and crackers.

The afternoon tea provided each day provides a welcome break from the heat, a few light bites to keep you ticking over before hunting down some street food.

Overall, our stay at 23 Lovelane was marvellous. We will definitely be returning to here to continue to explore this excellent city.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

Maybe someone should define "B&B" because in my mind, this was best described as a small hotel; it's charming to experience and beautifully arty from an aesthetic perspective.

From the welcome at check-in to departure, all the staff were always friendly and helpful throughout the whole stay. The rooms were very comfortable, clean, cool (ie air condtioning) with great shower rooms and good toiletries; for the price it was excellent and this is the key point (ie value for money). We stayed in the Anglo Indian Bungalow, which had a great lounge area outside our room.

Breakfast was good and we also had dinner in the same restaurant; all times it was consistently good quality food and service.

I would definitely recommend this small hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
8  Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I don't know where to begin with this review, as I literally found every aspect of my stay here exceeded all reasonable expectations. First greeting on arrival with a chilled ginger beer cocktail and warm smile was a great way to start. Being introduced to our room, the Indian Shophouse, was even better. An absolutely impeccably decorated and maintained unique suite with a queen bed on the bottom floor and two beds for my children in the loft. I found myself wandering around the suite admiring the art all the time, The kids absolutely loved it too,

Staff were always ready to lend assistance during our stay, whether it be offering directions to different restaurants or suggesting activities. The afternoon tea was also a great feature, as it was a great reason to take a break from wandering the sweltering streets of Penang to rehydrate and replenish energy reserves with fritters, samosas and other nibbles, as well as fresh fruit juice.

Can't say enough good things about 23 Love Lane!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Ontheblackhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This is not a B&B in my view. It is a boutique hotel and it is a lovely boutique hotel. We were greeted warmly by the staff as soon as we pulled up outside the front gate. We were shown in, given a welcome drink and escorted to our room immediately. Our room was upstairs. There was a nice common living room right outside our room. Our room was nicely appointed and in good condition - both the bedroom and the adjacent bath. The bed was OK, not great. I liked the scent of the candle which was burning in our bathroom, there was plenty of bottled water, the bath products were nice, rain shower head and the bathrobes were ok. The air conditioning is very powerful so you don't need to worry about the heat. There is air conditioning in the common library as well as the rooms.

The whole property has a cute feel to it. The wifi works well. The breakfast was fine. There is plenty of choice. Fresh fruit juice, coffee, water, cheese, fruit, western breakfast and asian breakfast. The daily afternoon tea was also a nice touch. There was always someone on the front desk with a smile, ready to help. While we were waiting for our cab to the airport, we were given fresh drinks.

The property is in a great location. We walked everywhere over two days and nothing was far - this is good when you need to come back to the hotel to escape the heat for a while. I would definitely recommend this boutique hotel to others looking for somewhere to stay in georgetown.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Constantlyontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Boutique hotel or B&B? I don't think it matters at all; it's an excellent place to stay. We stayed for 3 nights. We were nicely greeted with a welcome drink and shown to our room, the Anglo Indian Garden. The room is spacious, if a little dark, with en-suite and a really nice garden bathroom. This had a good shower and a lovely wooden bath which must be tried.
The buildings have been lovingly restored with tasteful decor. There is a central garden where complimentary afternoon tea is served.
Free wifi is available but worked more consistently in the communal areas than our room.
Breakfast was comfortably better than many much more expensive hotels. Perfect, and not over chilled, fresh juices, cooked local or western breakfast to order, great fresh fruit, and the usual buffet items.
We had dinner one night in the Steak frites restaurant-simple and good. They concentrate on one item only and do it well. Beware the house rose though, unless you like fizzy wine ( I don't ).
Foursie and his staff were all flawless- helpful without being all over you.
The only reason we wouldn't stay again is that we don't plan to revisit Georgetown. Great architecture and interesting place, but 3 nights felt enough to us.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
12  Thank DullDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We hadn't read any reviews of 23 Love Lane before we discovered it on a ramble through Georgetown, but it doesn't take long to realise that this is an absolute gem.

On our third visit to Georgetown we had planned to stay in the suites at the Ryokan hostel, but after a disrupted first night we bailed out and went for a quick wander to see what was close by. 23 Love Lane was just round the corner but it is at the opposite end of the budget scale to a hostel!

We were so tired we thought we'd treat ourselves to one night here but were overwhlemed by the attentiveness of the staff, the ambiance of the surroundings and, of course, the exceptional room, so we booked in for two nights.

At the end of our stay we were asked to fill out a satisfaction questionnaire and identify which member of staff should be awarded their Excellence in Service award. I wrote that all should be commended because every single staff member was fantastic. Not over-bearing or in your face, just there when you needed them. Nothing was an effort.

I'll leave you to research the building and view the photos in your own time. All you need to know is that the renovation of the old Anglo-Indian bungalow and annexe has been done tastefully and with respect to the original plans.

The bedroom was huge. We opted for Straits Eclectic 1, which is in the corner at the back of the building, offering complete removal from the sounds of the streets near-by. The only noisy thing about the house and gardens are the finches chirping in the trees. That's a good thing, by the way. The bed was very comfortable and we had two good nights' sleep. The bathroom was also massive, offering a sink for each of us. The room was turned over in the evening. There was cable TV, wi-fi, tea and coffee... all the usual you'd expect from a 5-star experience.

Breakfast in the morning was good too, though I was a bit disappointed to not have the option of pork bacon. I opted for an omelette instead before filling my boots with toast and home-made jam. On our second morning we had to get up early to catch the 8.15 ferry to Langkawi and the proprietor ensured they opened up the breakfast room half an hour early so we could get a full breakfast before leaving. Under normal circumstances I'd have just expected a packed breakfast prepared for us the night before, so to get the staff to come in half an hour earlier just for us is worth noting.

When you're treating yourself to a bit of luxury it's nice to soak up the atmosphere of the place and so the afternoon tea, served between 4.30 and 6pm, is a nice way to wind down. The gardens are beautifully kept and the open-sided hall is light and breezy, offering comfort in tasteful surroundings.

In short, 23 Love Lane is a beautifully renovated piece of history. If this is within your budget you'd be hard pushed to find anywhere as authentic and laid back as this place.

Room Tip: We opted for Straits Eclectic 1, which was probably the farthest from any of the streets and therefo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank followtheboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

23 Love Lane: bit of an uninspiring name, but it mirrors the understated elegance and unpretentiousness of this airy hotel.
My partner and I first came across it on a previous trip to Georgetown. An enthusiastic guide included a quick visit here during a 'cultural' walking tour, pointing out its awards for sympathetic and accurate conservation. The tenders, complete with detailed structural and architectural drawings, lie on a shelf under one of the coffee tables in the cosy lobby. I enjoyed leafing through them during the complimentary tea (and savouries and cakes and fruit) served every afternoon between 4.30 and 6.00pm.
The service was attentive without being fawning. I'd say it was faultless. All members of staff seemed genuinely to enjoy their jobs and engaging with customers -- they were either naturally friendly or well-trained in not showing negativity.
The room was huge, with a comfortable bed and useful furniture. In the bathroom there was an enormous shower, which -- I am ashamed to admit -- I stood under for twenty minutes at a time. Waffle kimonos and white slippers that fitted properly helped to make it difficult to spend time anywhere but the room, although the common parts -- in particular the peaceful garden -- were equally comfortable and furbished with an eclectic mix of styles. The interior designer has managed to create original living spaces which are entirely free from artifice, no mean feat in these days of contrived , stilted living.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank LizCleere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 88 in George Town
876 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#12 of 88 in George Town
3,706 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Edison George Town, Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#8 of 88 in George Town
500 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nam Keng Hotel
Nam Keng Hotel
#10 of 88 in George Town
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Muntri Mews
Muntri Mews
#7 of 88 in George Town
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 23 Love Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 23 Love Lane

Address: 23 Lorong Love, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 172 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range: £42 - £335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 23 Love Lane 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
23Lovelane Penang, A Heritage Boutique Hotel in George Town UNESCO World Heritage Site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your 23 Love Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
23 Love Lane Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing