We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding .... Feels Like Home”
Review of 23 Love Lane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
23 Love Lane
Ranked #17 of 170 George Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Outstanding .... Feels Like Home”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed for a night at the 23 Love Lane. The hotel is amazingly awesome. It really feels like home. Check in was fast and we were given welcome drinks.. refreshing.. in a couple of minutes we were in our room. The straits room is large, high ceiling, beautiful pieces of art.. and the amazing thing is the bathroom is huge.. high ceiling and superb water pressure.. very comfortable.. and nostalgic.. its like the olden days.. mosaics, we loved it.. The verandah and garden is so well manicured and maintained. We had our photo shoot at the garden,..awesome. Service is very good I must say.. Thumbs up to the team. Breakfast was served to us in the garden lounge.. that's very personalized.. we appreciate the efforts taken by the team at 23 Love Lane. It truly feels at home.. highly recommended hotel in the heritage area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Vignesh215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    49
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
61
101
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

We have been travelling to George Town for over 5 years. This is a wonderful example of the careful conservation and adaptation of George Town's wonderful architectural diversity complete with a calming cooling garden and great service.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank MandPSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We've just returned from an Easter break in Penang.
We wanted to stay in Georgetown and wanted accommodation that was more inkeeping with the UNESCO feel of the area.

23 Love Lane was an incredible find and is one of the best boutique hotels I've had the pleasure of staying at.

We booked the Indian Shophouse as there were four od us (one couple, a mum and a daughter) and the Shophouse was perfect. Set on two stories, it had had two oversized bathrooms (the ground floor one was insanely large), twin beds upstairs and a king bed downstairs. Both levels had aircon and a massive fan, and the house was tastefully furnished with a nod to Penang's famous street art.
The accommodation had a small bar fridge with complimentary drinks, and breakfast and afternoon tea were included.

The staff were incredibly helpful. We didn't arrive until very late and they stayed around to make us a welcome drink and take our luggage to our house. They even organised a driver for us at a moments notice. Nothing was too much trouble.

They have lots of indoor and outdoor seating, as well as a library on the second level. The normal rooms (from what we could tell) looked as luxurious as our accommodation, too.

Despite being in the heart of the heat and bustle of Georgetown - you can walk to pretty much anything - the moment you walk through the gates at 23 Love Lane you really do feel like you've left it all behind. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cakeybees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

From the moment I booked 23 Loveland provided exceptional customer service. I had a few questions before arriving and even managed to extend our stay over email the day before arriving.

Upon arrival, we were greeted with a delicious drink, whilst the check in was dealt with.

The room (Eclectic Straits 2) is well kitted out, an extremely cosy bed, lights that can be controlled with remote controls, a great powerful walk-in shower and many other of the usual benefits. The decor is great throughout the entire hotel, in our room there was beautiful furniture and art work.

Breakfast, in the attached restaurant, is excellent. The offer a western breakfast (we didn't try this) instead opting for the local breakfast - highly recommended. They also freshly juice oranges and make a good coffee. Breakfast also has a wide array of fresh fruit and cheese and crackers.

The afternoon tea provided each day provides a welcome break from the heat, a few light bites to keep you ticking over before hunting down some street food.

Overall, our stay at 23 Lovelane was marvellous. We will definitely be returning to here to continue to explore this excellent city.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Maybe someone should define "B&B" because in my mind, this was best described as a small hotel; it's charming to experience and beautifully arty from an aesthetic perspective.

From the welcome at check-in to departure, all the staff were always friendly and helpful throughout the whole stay. The rooms were very comfortable, clean, cool (ie air condtioning) with great shower rooms and good toiletries; for the price it was excellent and this is the key point (ie value for money). We stayed in the Anglo Indian Bungalow, which had a great lounge area outside our room.

Breakfast was good and we also had dinner in the same restaurant; all times it was consistently good quality food and service.

I would definitely recommend this small hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I don't know where to begin with this review, as I literally found every aspect of my stay here exceeded all reasonable expectations. First greeting on arrival with a chilled ginger beer cocktail and warm smile was a great way to start. Being introduced to our room, the Indian Shophouse, was even better. An absolutely impeccably decorated and maintained unique suite with a queen bed on the bottom floor and two beds for my children in the loft. I found myself wandering around the suite admiring the art all the time, The kids absolutely loved it too,

Staff were always ready to lend assistance during our stay, whether it be offering directions to different restaurants or suggesting activities. The afternoon tea was also a great feature, as it was a great reason to take a break from wandering the sweltering streets of Penang to rehydrate and replenish energy reserves with fritters, samosas and other nibbles, as well as fresh fruit juice.

Can't say enough good things about 23 Love Lane!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ontheblackhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This is not a B&B in my view. It is a boutique hotel and it is a lovely boutique hotel. We were greeted warmly by the staff as soon as we pulled up outside the front gate. We were shown in, given a welcome drink and escorted to our room immediately. Our room was upstairs. There was a nice common living room right outside our room. Our room was nicely appointed and in good condition - both the bedroom and the adjacent bath. The bed was OK, not great. I liked the scent of the candle which was burning in our bathroom, there was plenty of bottled water, the bath products were nice, rain shower head and the bathrobes were ok. The air conditioning is very powerful so you don't need to worry about the heat. There is air conditioning in the common library as well as the rooms.

The whole property has a cute feel to it. The wifi works well. The breakfast was fine. There is plenty of choice. Fresh fruit juice, coffee, water, cheese, fruit, western breakfast and asian breakfast. The daily afternoon tea was also a nice touch. There was always someone on the front desk with a smile, ready to help. While we were waiting for our cab to the airport, we were given fresh drinks.

The property is in a great location. We walked everywhere over two days and nothing was far - this is good when you need to come back to the hotel to escape the heat for a while. I would definitely recommend this boutique hotel to others looking for somewhere to stay in georgetown.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Constantlyontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#10 of 84 in George Town
3,583 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Edison George Town, Penang
0.1 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 84 in George Town
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#2 of 84 in George Town
592 reviews
0.5 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#9 of 84 in George Town
466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nam Keng Hotel
Nam Keng Hotel
#12 of 84 in George Town
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 23 Love Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 23 Love Lane

Property: 23 Love Lane
Address: 23 Lorong Love, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — 23 Love Lane 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
23Lovelane Penang, A Heritage Boutique Hotel in George Town UNESCO World Heritage Site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your 23 Love Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
23 Love Lane Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing