We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fit for Backpackers on Budget”
Review of Red Inn Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Inn Court
Reviewed 5 June 2014

It's at the heart of the heritage Georgetown. It's affordable, accessible and clean. Right at its back is Little India. It's near Kapitan Keling Mosque. There are food houses nearby so as the bus stop.

I stayed in the four-bedroom dorm for 4 days at the first floor. The bed's comfy. The hot shower's working well. I only had a roommate on the second day of my stay maybe because ‘twas off peak. Coffee, tea and water were available 24/7. If you're fine with bread, jam, fruits and foodhouse noodles, you'll enjoy their free breakfast. The staff is generally approachable and helpful. You can ask for freshly brewed coffee. I did.

The downside: the noise from the above floor, the early morning noise from the reception at the ground floor or the kitchen noise from the neighbor food house reached my room. But all of these are tolerable. But, I presumed it could get noisier during peak season where guests could flock. Also, if you're carrying your heavy luggage, you might want to reconsider because the wooden stairs are quite steep.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ynnabackpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
There are newer reviews for Red Inn Court
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

Ok, so it's pretty perfect :)
I had a 4bed dorm to myself; sadly had to change hostels after two nights because they were booked. Incredibly clean (the staff is always moppin' n scrubbin'). I watched two movies both nights in the lounge....ahhh! What a treat when you are travelling for a year. Awesom staff, very quiet, aircon cooled, great breakfast...tons of healthy fruit!
You should stay here :)

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScruffyofCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Very nice place, very clean, with breakfast included in this price and a very friendly and usefull staff. I arrived there at 10:00 p.m on a rainy day and there were very healpfull. You will for sure enjoy your stay there. The locationis also perfect if you want to visit George Town. Close to the ferry and also very close to the art street and main attrations. Totally recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oana_Gavril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

It's clean, simple room setup for twin single bed, 500 m walk to Esplanade and nearby Little India, staircase is a bit steep and narrow to walk up and down .

Shared toilets but they are clean. Free breakfast provided.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank 230limw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

It's an old charming building in the middle of Georgetown with modern amenities .. The rooms are small but clean. The staff are courteous but somewhat aloof and one of the receptionists is mathematically challenged or tried to swindle a few bucks on two different occasions. There is complimentary tea and coffee in the public area around the clock and breakfast is simple and acceptable

Room Tip: It is a noisy street so take a room in the back
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ghada S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Inn G, Front Office Manager at Red Inn Court, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

As many have said these mattresses are a welcomed treat in comparison to the thin strips of sponge you get elsewhere. The wifi is excellent and breakfast is awesome. Little India is right next door with plenty of eateries, all very unique and tasty! Also make sure you try cafe little angel, a 2 minute walk if you turn right out of the hostel. Simply awesome food and so cheap.

The hostel is very helpful to plan trips. We only stayed for two nights and on the day we planned to go up penang hill it rained so we had to do something else. Rooms are clean, air con is brilliant. Showers are hot. A machine dispenses filtered water. This hostel has it all really at a very good value.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank AlexCoetzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Stayed at a 4 bed dorm for 2 nights. You sleep like a baby on the excellent matrasses they have. Very clean hostels close to all the sights. Your stay has a small but nice breakfast included, free coffee, tea and water 24/7. The staff is friendly and helpful. Definately woudld recommand this place. The dorm was only about 7 euros, 30 ringit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carina850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#35 of 85 in George Town
650 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#33 of 85 in George Town
362 reviews
0.2 mi away
The 80's Guesthouse
The 80's Guesthouse
#7 of 118 in George Town
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Frame Guesthouse
The Frame Guesthouse
#6 of 118 in George Town
205 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
#2 of 118 in George Town
270 reviews
0.4 mi away
SIOK Hostel, Penang
SIOK Hostel, Penang
#3 of 118 in George Town
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Inn Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Inn Court

Address: No. 35B 35c, Jalan Masjid Kapitan Keling, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 118 Speciality Lodging in George Town
Price Range: £9 - £16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Inn Court 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
" A Heritage Experience for the Weary Traveler" Red Inn Court is a boutique eco-guesthouse centrally located in Georgetown, Penang, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. "Every stay becomes a memorable experience" characterises the hospitality one can expect from Red Inn Court. Your stay will be infused within an oasis of myriad cultural experiences that make up our heritage. Use our guesthouse as the starting point to a day of exploration. Many of Penang's prime heritage attractions are only minutes away. Little India is right behind us & the 200-year old Goddess of Mercy Temple is across the road from us. After a long day's walkabout, return to the warmth among friends and little home conveniences. We offer free Wi-Fi, free breakfast, free use of Internet PCs, a kitchenette, a Lanna area, in-house movies, free flow hot/cold drinking water, book exchange, lounge area, hot spa showers and that little extra touch unique to us. Our eco-guesthouse is built for leaving a very small impact on the environment; heat-recycled hot spa showers, all lighting use LEDs, an active recycling program, eco-ventilators, automated lighting for bathrooms, etc. Guest can relax in our Lanna. A chill out area where you can sit back, relax and catch up on movies. We offer our facilities as: • We have a mini library (novels, comics, games and book exchange) • FREE HD Movies via Media Player viewed on a 42" HD TV • FREE yet Fast Wi-Fi. We dare say one of the fastest among Penang's hostels. Wi-Fi is available througout the hostel including all rooms. • FREE Breakfast - A simple selection of local and continental spread for breakfast • FREE Flow of Hot & Cold Water • FREE Flow of Coffee & Tea the entire day • FREE use of a Shared Kitchenette (equipped with microwave,cutlery,toaster and kettle) We are unique to other hostels or even bigger hotels, is that our guesthouse is built for leaving a very small impact on the environment. Green is not a byword. We have installed heat-recycled (from the Air-Condition) hot spa showers, ALL lighting uses LED, an active recycling program, Wind-ventilators, Automated lighting for All bathrooms (Toilet lights and exhaust fans switch on when door is closed) and common light timers. Last but not least, we also have a resident tours and travel guide whom would be glad to provide tourist information on Penang. Do enquire to experience what Penang has to offer :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Inn Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Inn Court Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing