We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“basic but good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Asia Hotel Penang

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
New Asia Hotel Penang
Ranked #80 of 170 George Town B&B and Inns
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“basic but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

I don't know how great the room was to give it 4 of 5 rating. However, it was definitely good enough. AC, ceiling fan, TV, 2 beds, hot shower, balcony. You have to bend over the toilet to take a shower. You are waken by the crowd at the dim sum restaurant across the street. But the location was perfect. Just walked the entire time I was in Penang and had more than enough to do. Great food. Mall. Bus station to get to all points in Penang.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mybangkoklife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    45
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
16
34
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

A pretty basic hotel, location is ok, 8/10mins walk to love lane, little India, and 5 mins to mall.

Rooms are ok, pretty basic, shower room and toilet and sink literally in a box, its a corner of the room with plastic walls and all on top of each other, but clean!

Beds are ok, linen is clean, pillows are foam and like bricks.

Wifi, AC, fridge all ok.

Nothing to write home about but fairly comfortable and clean, with a fairly good price in Penang!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGooner14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kluang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

Overall it was an enjoyable stay. Interior of the hotel was traditional and rooms were spacious. Staff were friendly and accommodating especially the uncle on night shift.

Some areas to be improved include:
1. One of the two rooms we stayed had a cockroach running around (there were 4 of us so we were not quite bothered by the extra company).
2. the washroom attached had an open ceiling, so whatever business done inside would be clearly visible (and probably smell-able) by others in the room. not too convenient for group travels.

Best part of the location - right downstairs of the hotel (Kimberly street), there are many awesome local food stalls that come to live at night. It's a must try!

The location is also very strategic if you'd like to experience Georgetown by foot, exploring the arty murals or quaint cafes hidden in town...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlottesze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

Last minute booking ,this hotel suitable for whom are keen to explore Georgetown from food trail to its heritage.
An old hotel if you are just look from exterior,lobby and spacious dining area decorated eith chinese furniture.
Stayed in clean spacious deluxe room attach with tiny clean bathroom-room with balcony and provided with hanger to hang dry cloths,limited tv channel equipped with ceiling fan and a/c.
Only 1 staff i've met from c/in till c/o -friendly and helpful.
At 4.30am noise from outside hotel-people talking and doing work early morning make unpleasant
Sleep till 7am.
Location hotel very good-near jetty,easy access to places of interest.

Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank dianajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

After reading all the good review i was expecting nice room but i was really disspointed as when i check-in to my room i found stains on the sheets and hairs on the floors.It looks like they did not change the sheet ! And the toilets were dirty as well .Wouldnt recommend this place!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimberleyL284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

For a budget hotel the location was superb. Stayed there for 1 night last March 2013 and the staff was really accommodating even though we arrived at the wee hour of the morning. They let us stay in the lobby and told us we can already check-in by 10am. Now that is a service! Aside from that just below the hotel you can experience Penang street food as well as just being a walking distance from a mall. The location was really superb!

My only concern though is that the a/c in the room is not that great, aside from everything has been very good.

Room Tip: Asked for a room with good a/c.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jantox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here twice in the last few years, it is a budget hotel and a bit scruffy but clean and central. Penang is not the cheapest of places to stay so this is Okfor the price. The staff were helpful and friendly

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spottedsweetlips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
#34 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kimberley House
Kimberley House
#51 of 170 in George Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.0 mi away
INN Residence 18
INN Residence 18
#50 of 170 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Apollo Inn
Apollo Inn
#12 of 170 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shanghai 1910 Heritage
Shanghai 1910 Heritage
#48 of 170 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rope Walk Guest House
Rope Walk Guest House
#26 of 104 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Asia Hotel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Asia Hotel Penang

Property: New Asia Hotel Penang
Address: 110, Jalan Pintal Tali, George Town, Penang Island 10100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Asia Hotel Penang 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your New Asia Hotel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Asia Hotel Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing