We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique, Comfortable and Cosy Homestay Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
My Chew Jetty Homestay
Reviewed 16 January 2013

A truly unique experience! Highly recommended for travelers who are looking for a laid-back and relaxing type of lodging experience! They have a balcony where you could just lay down, have a drink, and watch the world go by. Don't expect 5-star facilities (which is not impt to me anyway) but you can certainly expect a 5-star experience and a 5-star service from Ms Chew! :)

Room Tip: Take the bigger room if you require a bigger space because some of her rooms might be too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 28 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2012

Good things
Peaceful location
Terrace to sit out on
English speaking owner called in twice during our 4 night stay

Not so good things
Rather smelly at times, though we did get used to it
Very basic accomodation for the price we were paying
Various people seemed to turn up to use the shower and toilet, who we had no idea should or should not be there. Really not keen on that and felt insecure.
No family members seemed to be living there permanently, just a series of different non English speaking people seemed to turn up to just sleep there.
Owners mother (cantonese speaking, but understood some mandarin) came each morning to do some cleaning but then went again, so no one on the spot to ask anything.

Negative things
Toilet!! Anyone with any sort of conscience would struggle as I did seeing their own waste just dropping into the sea, or mud at low tide. As a traveller I try not to make a negative impact on the environment I visit, and this was very uncomfortable. It was not my western sensibilites or distaste at a basic facility, it is doing what is right. This is not right when there is a choice.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Davidfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

We love the place and it is kept exceptionally authentic. The home itself is famous because it is a site for one of the mural paintings famous on the island. The owner is friendly and information on what to see and eat is provided free of charge. Basic necessities provided and rooms come with air-conditioner. Hot water heater, shampoo, shower liquid and clean towels are provided as well. Most importantly the place is clean and comfortable. Sitting on veranda and looking out at the sea is a bliss although it was raining when we were there. Take your time visiting the surrounding areas at the jetty. The place is conveniently located in Georgetown and many tourist spots in Georgetown are located within walking distance. Recommended for a once in your lifetime experience.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Oh-Jo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We only stayed for one night but we loved it here. The jetty area was very picturesque. The home itself was great; the rooms were very nice, complete with drinking water, fan, double bed, wifi, maps, and even lonely planet info for the area... there was also a table in the kitchen set up with lots more information - some great effort has been put in to accommodate the backpacker!

A lovely simple breakfast spread was set up for us in the morning and our taxi pick up was arranged while we sat and looked out at the great views.

The bathroom, as others have said, is very basic.. but most can handle it for a few nights. Had it not been for our booked flight, we would have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T_Killeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

The good: Staying at the historic jetty, Ms Chew was very helpful and sweet, and the rooms and bed were clean and comfortable. I wanted to like this place, I really did...
The bad: The bathroom. Its a squatty potty which is OK, I don't need a western toilet, however I had a hard time seeing all waste just dropping into the ocean below. There was no bin provided for paper either so I had to carry that out of the bathroom with me. I am assuming that all bathrooms are like that for homes and businesses on the jetty as you get a real stench at night blowing through the windows. Also, you share this one toilet and shower (its together) with all guests staying and the family so several times I had to wait busting to pee while someone was taking a shower.
We only stayed one night before moving to a guesthouse along love lane which was better value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laserlime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

My wife and I have stayed here twice now and loved it each time. The location is perfect and if you enjoy taking photos you'll be very busy here! The sunrise from the Jetty is simply breathtaking.

The owners of the house are wonderfully friendly, and Siew Pheng (the very attractive daughter) was exceptionally helpful at all times. We were given the space and freedom to enjoy the location and have a relaxing and peaceful time, but whenever we needed anything Siew Pheng was on hand to advise us or sort things out.

Staying at Chew Jetty is an amazing experience, far more interesting than staying at the usual run of the mill hotels. What made it even nicer was how we both felt so very welcome and at home in this house, it was like we were part of the family.

Keep it up Siew Pheng!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kal-El138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Breakfast is pretty basic: toast that you make yourself, jam, and self-prepared instant coffee. Bathroom is VERY basic; others have described it.
The room is, on the hand, very comfortable, assuming you don't mind a very firm mattress, with air conditioner and fan, adequate storage space, and quite clean. If you need other bed covers or an extra pillow, just ask.
What really made it remarkable was the jetty itself, a location completely unlike any that either of us has ever stayed in. It's nothing like a hotel, or even an ordinary bed and breakfast. You are in the midst of everyday life (without feeling in any way intrusive) in a family home on the longest of several "clan jetties", long piers with dozens of small houses set upon them, originally built mid-nineteenth century by immigrating Chinese.
The members of the Chew family who will be your hosts are wonderfully hospitable. Twice we were taken by the english speaking daughter Siew Pheng and her boyfriend to dinner at food centers we would never have found by ourselves, the first time just the four of us and the second together with the occupants of the other two homestay rooms. We very much appreciated that.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zephyrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.6 mi away
Chulia Mansion
Chulia Mansion
#14 of 87 in George Town
836 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#2 of 87 in George Town
640 reviews
1.0 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#8 of 87 in George Town
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Spices Hotel
Spices Hotel
#23 of 87 in George Town
189 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
#2 of 118 in George Town
275 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carnarvon House
Carnarvon House
#4 of 172 in George Town
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Chew Jetty Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Chew Jetty Homestay

Address: 59A Chew Jetty | Weld Quay, George Town, Penang Island 10300, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 118 Speciality Lodging in George Town
Price Range: £20 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — My Chew Jetty Homestay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in a unique cultural experience, 'living like a local' in one of George Town's few true homestays, in a family's rustic wooden home on stilts at the Chew Jetty, a unique heritage community nestled on the city's waterfront. Right on the water’s edge of the heritage city of George Town, the Chew Jetty is a unique settlement consisting of 88 rustic wooden family homes linked by a long walkway, starting from the shore and jutting out onto the water. In existence since the 1880s, and one of seven remaining clan jetties, the Chew Jetty is unique in that the residents all share the same Chinese surname. Ours is a wooden house fronting the main walkway, roughly in the middle of the Chew Jetty. You will be staying in 1 of 5 rooms in our family house, out of which only 3 rooms are for homestay guests. You will be getting a cozy DOUBLE ROOM in the middle section of the house, with a small window on its side. The room is air-conditioned, and also has a wall fan, and is furnished with a queen-sized bed. We have a bathroom shared by all in the house, and it comes with instant hot shower and sitting toilet. Our living room, dining hall and our back and side open decks are available for your use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your My Chew Jetty Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
My Chew Jetty Homestay Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing