We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great cultural experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of My Chew Jetty Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
My Chew Jetty Homestay
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great cultural experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Stay here for 2 nights and what a great experience it was! The room and place is basic but what a great cultural experience! You stay right on one of the historic jetties and really get a feel for the people who live there. The owners were so welcoming and helpful. And another family member lives across the Jetty. It's a great location and easy to walk to everything. I think was the best place to stay in Penang! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 02chilkoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    10
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
19
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Regensburg, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at this exciting place. Siew Pheng has grown up a comfortable home stay here at jettys. She is a friendly and humorous person and has been helpful in any way and anytime. The provided details, hints and suggestions around the home stay and Georgetown activities are awesome and more one could ask for!
The service has been great. Towels, soap, shampoo, drinking water and fruits had been provided to guests. Many thanks again for the dinner we were allowed to join! We was very happy with our choice.
All in all, a basic accommodation at an authentic location - very clean and comfortable with a lovely, smart and helpful hostess. Nothing more to ask for. Highly recommended!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank markus e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randers
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

It was a very nice experience to stay there and the service was really-really good.
(They even washed our clothes for free!!)

But the buildings also sets a limit to the comfort and privacy, and therefore I cant give them the fifth star, that they are very close to receiving.

But I would truely recommend people to stay there for a couple of nights to wake up to that sunset.

Thanks for the stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trooper77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
631 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

My wife and I have traveled a lot, in many parts of the world. The experience we had at Chew Jetty Homestay ranks among the best we've ever had.

Chew Jetty Homestay is in a traditional home on one of the clan jetties of Georgetown, the Chew Clan jetty. It has three rooms, we stayed in the deluxe room. It has air con and a comfortable bed. The homestay has a small balcony where you can sit and watch life on the jetty and on the sea all the way over to Butterworth. The hostess, Siew Pheng Chew,, is a very nice young woman who gives all sorts of good tips on where to go in Penang and even more importantly, good restaurants and hawker stalls and what to eat. The CF Hawker Stall is right across the street and Ms. Chew gave us great ideas of what to eat there. Georgetown is a foodie's paradise and it's important to know where to get the good stuff.

Ms. Chew's mother, Mrs. Chew, is a great cook and was, in fact, featured on Anthony Bourdain's show on Penang from 2012. She cooked us a wonderful lunch the first day we arrived.

If I could give this place more then 5 stars, I would. You will get an experience here you could never have in a motel or hotel.

Room Tip: Get the larger deluxe room if available and ask Mrs Chew to cook you a meal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Craig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

A truly unique experience! Highly recommended for travelers who are looking for a laid-back and relaxing type of lodging experience! They have a balcony where you could just lay down, have a drink, and watch the world go by. Don't expect 5-star facilities (which is not impt to me anyway) but you can certainly expect a 5-star experience and a 5-star service from Ms Chew! :)

Room Tip: Take the bigger room if you require a bigger space because some of her rooms might be too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

Good things
Peaceful location
Terrace to sit out on
English speaking owner called in twice during our 4 night stay

Not so good things
Rather smelly at times, though we did get used to it
Very basic accomodation for the price we were paying
Various people seemed to turn up to use the shower and toilet, who we had no idea should or should not be there. Really not keen on that and felt insecure.
No family members seemed to be living there permanently, just a series of different non English speaking people seemed to turn up to just sleep there.
Owners mother (cantonese speaking, but understood some mandarin) came each morning to do some cleaning but then went again, so no one on the spot to ask anything.

Negative things
Toilet!! Anyone with any sort of conscience would struggle as I did seeing their own waste just dropping into the sea, or mud at low tide. As a traveller I try not to make a negative impact on the environment I visit, and this was very uncomfortable. It was not my western sensibilites or distaste at a basic facility, it is doing what is right. This is not right when there is a choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Davidfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

We love the place and it is kept exceptionally authentic. The home itself is famous because it is a site for one of the mural paintings famous on the island. The owner is friendly and information on what to see and eat is provided free of charge. Basic necessities provided and rooms come with air-conditioner. Hot water heater, shampoo, shower liquid and clean towels are provided as well. Most importantly the place is clean and comfortable. Sitting on veranda and looking out at the sea is a bliss although it was raining when we were there. Take your time visiting the surrounding areas at the jetty. The place is conveniently located in Georgetown and many tourist spots in Georgetown are located within walking distance. Recommended for a once in your lifetime experience.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Oh-Jo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.7 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#30 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.4 mi away
Spices Hotel
Spices Hotel
#22 of 82 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chulia Mansion
Chulia Mansion
#13 of 82 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 82 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,321 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 82 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#17 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Chew Jetty Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Chew Jetty Homestay

Property: My Chew Jetty Homestay
Address: 59A Chew Jetty | Weld Quay, George Town, Penang Island 10300, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 104 Speciality Lodging in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — My Chew Jetty Homestay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in a unique cultural experience, 'living like a local' in one of George Town's few true homestays, in a family's rustic wooden home on stilts at the Chew Jetty, a unique heritage community nestled on the city's waterfront. Right on the water’s edge of the heritage city of George Town, the Chew Jetty is a unique settlement consisting of 88 rustic wooden family homes linked by a long walkway, starting from the shore and jutting out onto the water. In existence since the 1880s, and one of seven remaining clan jetties, the Chew Jetty is unique in that the residents all share the same Chinese surname. Ours is a wooden house fronting the main walkway, roughly in the middle of the Chew Jetty. You will be staying in 1 of 5 rooms in our family house, out of which only 3 rooms are for homestay guests. You will be getting a cozy DOUBLE ROOM in the middle section of the house, with a small window on its side. The room is air-conditioned, and also has a wall fan, and is furnished with a queen-sized bed. We have a bathroom shared by all in the house, and it comes with instant hot shower and sitting toilet. Our living room, dining hall and our back and side open decks are available for your use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your My Chew Jetty Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
My Chew Jetty Homestay Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing