We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!”

Mum's Nyonya Cuisine
Ranked #114 of 1,218 Restaurants in George Town
Cuisines: Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Our Official Tripadvisor page! We serve Traditional Nyonya homecooked dishes with our family's secret recipes handed down from generations to generations.
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

Food was really good and I don't care if it is or isn't authentic (as some complain it isn't) the place was packed with local families and they clearly know where they want to eat. When in Penang avoid the tourist restaurants - and that doesn't only mean frequenting the food courts!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank MarkOpatija
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 91 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2016

We were recommended Mum's Nyonya Cuisine by the concierge in our hotel and we were very happy with the recommendation. The food is delicious and we enjoyed every mouthful! The restaurant is simple and unpretentious but the food and service is good and the ambience authentique. Prices are reasonable. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank opinion3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 July 2016

had one of the better assam fish here. the food is very tasty. recommend the acar fish, cincalok pork too.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank fsng282
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 July 2016

This is Nyonya style food at its best. Joining Malacca and Singapore as the key hubs for the Nyonya Baba culture, Penang food is something not to be missed. Tucked away In Abu Siti Lane, Mum's Nyonya Cuisine, appears understated. However, the food is not!! My family and I were brought up on this with a mother whose cooking lineage dates back to the Strait Settlement times. Mum's restaurant is well known to any taxi driver and is certainly worth the trip. The wide menu of dishes including dessert will make an enthusiast of anyone who loves asian food with a distinct spicy character. The fusion of Chinese and Java has its roots in the migration of the Chinese to the Malaysian Peninsula centuries ago with Princess Hang Li Po. The taste has matured and will be a reward for your efforts to find this gem. Enjoy!!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 July 2016

I have been away a long time and we had only two nights in Penang. As third generation Nyonya ourselves, my sister and I had to pay homage to the best of the best. A quick check on Google pointed to this little unassuming restaurant in Aboo Siti Lane. We ordered ALL the must-haves* and we weren't disappointed to say the least. All the dishes delivered all the punches. I rate this place top marks for authenticity and keeping up to the old standards. Well done! (*Perut ikan, Kiam Chye Boey, Joo Hoo Char, Beef Rendang, Too Car Chore, Sayur rumi)

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JTindale
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Mum's Nyonya Cuisine also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
Penang Island, Penang
 
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Mum's Nyonya Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.