We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Connecting room was noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Ranked #25 of 88 Hotels in George Town
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stayed on the club floor (16) and was first given a room that connected to a noisy family with small kids. This is an old hotel and the soundproofing between the two rooms was terrible. Impossible to get any work done by day or sleep well by night.

The next day the duty manager switched me to a better room (non-connecting) and I was happy there. I should have insisted on a room like that from the start.

The furnishings and facilities are old, but everything works and is well maintained. I particularly liked the long bathtub and that they furnished bath crystals so you could soak away your cares.

The room had good wi-fi as well as a cable for a wired internet connection. Useful for business travelers. Location of the hotel was quite central and it was an easy walk to Jonker Street and other interesting areas.

Staff in the Club Lounge were exceptional and cocktail hour was always a pleasure. Some families with young children descended there like locusts and made supper from the canapes. Not really sure what the hotel could do about it.

I was quite pleased overall and would gladly stay at Traders Penang again.

Room Tip: Think twice about accepting a connecting room. You might have noisy neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZhongguoKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,995)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

862 - 868 of 1,995 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

Our group of 8 arrived to find friendly and helpful staff to check us into our rooms. They managed to get us connecting rooms for our grown up children. The rooms are a bit old but clean and of decent size. The only gripe is the old tv set that is really unexpected in a 4-star hotel run by the Shangrila group. They provided us a carpark pass that lasted our stay. The hotel is next to Komtar, Prangin Mall and a new Parkson shopping centre. Many of the famous street food and shops are near. It is definitely a central location. Ask for rooms with twin beds which are bigger.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobLum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Near to public transport ,shopping and eating places.They have a shuttle service to Batu Ferringhi which makes it very convenient to travel around the interesting places. Can also use the Golden Sands resort facilities. Would recommend to friends coming to Penang

Room Tip: TV in the room is a bit old.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Shiu Yoong K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Central location next to bus interchange. Shopping malls (1st Avenue, Prangnin Mall) in adjacent buildings. Hotel has the basic facilities, abit dated but well maintained. We used the free shuttle to go to sister hotel Golden Sands along Batu Ferringhi. Great to have access to the facilities and enjoyed the beachside hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank chuil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

When we arrived at check in the area was quite full and it looked like it could take a while. We were asked our names while standing in the queue we were taken to the Club Lounge to check with 2 other families. We still had to wait but we could have a soft drink or tea and coffee while we waited. My wife and I stayed in a non smoking Traders Club Room on the 17th floor. The room was a reasonable size well appointed but the most noticeable feature in the room was an enormous bed which thankfully turned out to be very comfortable and not overly firm. There was an in room safe, iron and ironing board, mini fridge, tv, tea and coffee making facilities and adequate hanging space and draws for clothing. The room did not smell of stale smoke but we did smell cigarette smoke in the room on a couple of occasions (possibly from the air conditioner air, it was not more of an amusement as to where it came from). The bathroom is a little small necessitating a shower over the bath which could be problem as we all get older. The room was always kept clean and stocked with water and toiletries.

The Club Lounge provided drinks and canapés which were quite good. The wine was quite drinkable an there was a selection of about 5 or six spirits, beer, soft drinks and fresh juice. The food was typically a selection of sushi, fried finger food, small savoury tarts and a selection of small cakes and fresh fruit. This was varied slightly during the night as plates were emptied and varied in part on each night. The variety and quality of the food and drink makes this the best club offerings I have experienced.

We had breakfast in the main dining room every day as this provided the greatest variety of food. There was fresh soup with a large selection of noodles and vegetables to choose from. There was and egg station which also made fresh roti and had a pot of what I think was sweet potato and carrot curry which was surprisingly tasty and not overpowering. There were Bain Maries full of curries, fried noodles and the typical mushrooms, tomato halves, chicken sausages, etc, etc. There was a section of local glutinous rice sweets as well as pastries.

There was a small selection of fresh fruit and juices. The staff were eager to help you find what you were looking for and they could provide freshly squeezed juice as well as expresso coffee. The only criticism of the breakfast was that it seemed to be the same every day and we stayed over 7 days so it was noticeable.

There is a complimentary shuttle bus to Golden Sands Ferringhi beach. You could catch the last bus and check out Longbeach or the night market.

Check out was fast and friendly.

All in all the staff were all very keen to assist you with whatever you wanted, the food and club were good and the location next to Prangin Mall, 1st Avenue and the Komtar bus terminal make this a very good base to explore Georgetown and Penang.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Great_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

It was a pleasant surprise to be upgraded to bigger suites upon check-in. The kids had lots of room to run about. Love the L'Occitane toiletries! We are very impressed with the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, especially at Club Lounge. Location is also good - short walk to Prangin Mall and Gama Supermarket!

Room Tip: Get Club Lounge access!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank LKKhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Very friendly staff and good view. Near shopping complex and administrative office. Bus station is near too. There are many different types of food being sold near the hotel. There is even a cinema near the hotel. Caters for everyone.

Room Tip: Not suitable for very tall people as the shower heads are fixed at a low height. Take the suites, if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Veronica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.0 mi away
The Wembley – A St Giles Hotel, Penang
2.1 mi away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#12 of 88 in George Town
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#15 of 88 in George Town
1,677 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
1.0 mi away
Royale Chulan Penang
Royale Chulan Penang
#16 of 88 in George Town
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La

Address: Magazine Road, George Town, Penang Island 10300, Malaysia (Formerly Traders Hotel Penang)
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in George Town
#8 Family Hotel in George Town
#9 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#11 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range: £48 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penang is known as the Pearl of the Orient. It's an island-city, dotted with untouched historic architecture down every street. Whether it's diving into the deep blue sea or strolling through the streets of history, Penang is inspiring - I can't wait to show you. Hotel Jen Penang is located in George Town. It is close to the city's prime commercial, business and shopping areas. Penang International Airport and Bayan Lepas Industrial Zone are only 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel Georgetown
Hotel Jen Penang By Shangri-La George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing