We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“def not a 4 star as stated needs a re vamp”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Berjaya Penang Hotel
Ranked #43 of 85 Hotels in George Town
Reviewed 24 November 2013

on entering the lobby there is a musty smell to the whole place, check in pretty smooth we were given a room on the 16th floor, the room was clean and tidy but definitely tired and needs a revamp, windows outside filthy .... but it was the 16th floor !!!! only 3 lifts so long waits for them always.
On our 1st night we realised we would be having very little sleep ,,,,,,,,,, the plumbing of the hotel seemed to be running right next to our room so every time a tap, bath shower toilet were used it was really loud in our room , a real downside im sorry to say,
the breakfast was a buffet style with eggs being cooked freshly do your own toast.
we were unsure of the situation of the hotel on arrival but we found we were pleased to be out of central Georgetown, as it is called the City hotel we presumed we were in the middle , it is in fact a taxi/bus ride into Georgetown itself, the nearest place is the Gurney Plazas.
on the whole not a bad stay but for sure needs a lot of money to get it back to its former 4 star status, good points free wi fi with a coupon even in your room, helpful staff and ideal if you want to shop till you drop on Gurney

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dawnybrads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C-Xin, General Manager at Berjaya Penang Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Greetings to the Dawnybrads from UK and thanks for staying with us. We sincerely express our regrets that your stay was not to your satisfaction due to the noise from the water riser beside your room and also the delay in the lifts.

If you had advised us at the time, our staff would have tried their utmost to change you to a less noisy room. As for the lift, we regret the inconveniences as our hotel was running with very high occupancy resulting in the lifts being constantly utilised.

We are glad that you like the freshly cooked eggs for breakfast and are happy with the hotel's location as well as the staff's helpful services. We hope that your future stay would be a more positive experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
There are newer reviews for Berjaya Penang Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

291 - 297 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

We were on a business trip. I decided to try this hotel as i use to stay in Penang Road area. Book four rooms. All the rooms are very clean and they came with bolster. Very quite as we were stay on 16 and 18 floors. Will definately come back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicholasCHUA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I held my birthday party at the main ballroom recently. Very pleased with the food & decoration set up. I've dealt with friendly & helpful personnel right from day-1 of my preparation up to the end of my function.

I'd like to say a big Thank You to Arthur and his F&B team! My guests were most pleased with the food & service and we had a memorable time that day! Good job!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VivienLoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel has recently refurbished their rooms. Location wise, it is very convenient as we can actually walk to Gurney Drive, Gurney Paragon and several hawker centres. Staffs are friendly and helpful.

Definately worth staying and revisiting.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
3  Thank VincentLee17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The room is clean & tidy, good service from cafe & reception & the best location to travel around Penang. Friendly faces from all the staff where ever I visit in the hotel. I order the char kway teow and its taste really nice, highly recommended to all.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2Evil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Booked 3 nights for 2 rooms, but after 1st night, we had to get out immediately. No need for refund. Badly needed a revamp, sound proofing is terrible, water running/toilet flushing can be heard clearly within or next door, felt like sewage pipes are bursting at any minute. Beds are in bad shape although the sheets are clean. Rooms are too dim, carpets are too dirty. Too old Will not visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BVicSin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Frontdesk staff and banquet staff led by an experienced
Senior Manager in Mr Leon Tan gave us good service.

Location is good. We also used their ballroom for an event
and staff members were helpful and patient.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phgoh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#23 of 85 in George Town
1,086 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Royal Penang
Hotel Royal Penang
#53 of 85 in George Town
525 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
1.6 mi away
GLOW Penang
GLOW Penang
#22 of 85 in George Town
941 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berjaya Penang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Penang Hotel

Address: 1-Stop Midlands Park | Jalan Burmah, George Town, Penang Island 10350, Malaysia (Formerly Georgetown City Hotel)
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range: £32 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Berjaya Penang Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to discerning business and leisure travellers, the Berjaya Penang Hotel is conveniently located as part of the lively ‘1-Stop Midlands Park’ business and entertainment centre. With enchanting cultures, heritage and tantalizing food all around, the Penang Island also heralds in a golden opportunity to make business a true pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Berjaya Penang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Hotel Georgetown
Berjaya Penang Hotel George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing