We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Dissapointing!”
Review of Cititel Penang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cititel Penang
Ranked #20 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Extremely Dissapointing!”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Booked the Cititel many months ago for a 14 days visit. We turned up and we wanted a water view. We were shown to a smoking room with a view which, at the time we accepted, as there was no obvious smoke smell however the longer we stayed in the room the stronger the smoke smell got. To be fair that was our fault however our real problem was the size of the room. It was far too small and it appears that all rooms in the hotel are the same size. The reception area and the breakfast area had a strange dirty smell and we checked out the following day to stay at the Bayview Georgetown, just around the corner. To be fair the staff were extremely friendly and very concerned with our comfort. They even assisted us to arrange alternative accommodation.
I think if we had been placed in a non-smoking room and had plans to stay for only a couple of days the Cititel would have been fine.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brentwood_Resort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

Thank you for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us and I trust that you had a good trip home.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointment encountered during your recent stay with us. I regret that our hotel does not have a totally smoke-free environment policy but please be assured that our Maintenance Manager and Housekeeper are always looking into improving the air quality of our public areas and in our guestrooms constantly.

I am also sorry to note that our rooms are too small for your liking – may I recommend our Corner Rooms for your next stay here; they are located at the corners of our guestroom floors and are bigger in terms of room size. I do hope you will consider this category for your next stay.

My sincere thanks for writing in as it is through your kind feedback and observations that we can continuously improve and ensure that our guests enjoy their stay with us.

My team and I look forward to be given another opportunity to make amends and look forward to welcoming you back to Cititel Penang again soon.

Please do not hesitate to contact me at gm@cititelpenang.com if I may be of assistance in planning for your next trip to Penang.

With best wishes and kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    576
    236
    46
    25
See reviews for
206
244
92
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Vilniaus Apskritis, Lithuania
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Very good location, walking distance from major objects. Nice and clean rooms, very good staff service. We really liked over there. And it was really nice to relax after chaotic day in the town. Recommend for the ones looking good comfort in Asia ;)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aida S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

Thank you very much for your kind comments of our hotel services, facilities and location - they are greatly appreciated.

My team and I are truly glad to know that you and your family have had an enjoyable time here.

Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back again for yet another fulfilling stay.. see you soon.


With best wishes and kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Attending niece wedding at Penang on 22nd February'2014,since wedding reception is held there,obvious choice of hotel to stay in since i m from Kota Kinabalu.

Location is good as near to town centre.
Transport facility not mentioned as not needed.
Security unknown
Room is cosy and comfortable,adjustable airconditioner is really good,has stayed at few hotel before where airconditioner not adjustable and really suffer if too cold.
Breakfast is good and choices fairly good.
Transport to airport very conveniently arranged.
Room service good and room is clean

In conclusion,Good and recommended to others
I will stay at Cititel again if i go to Penang again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chunlip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

I trust that you and your family had a memorable time at your niece's wedding celebration.

It is wonderful to know that you have enjoyed your stay here and thank you for taking the time to write. Your positive comments on our team, our facilities and your stay experience here at Cititel Penang are most appreciated and thank you for your recommendation in your review.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you and your family back on your next visit to Penang.

With best wishes and kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

As we had spent most of our travels backpacking we thought we would 'treat' ourselves to a hotel in Georgetown - disappointed was an understatement.
The first room we were given was in the middle of a building site as the hotel was having CCTV fitted - the corridors verged on dangerous. However, this was shared at check in so we decided to continue to the room. The room was disgusting. The sheets were stained, there were hairs in the bed and stains up the walls. We took pictures and went back down to the reception. Both managers came to see the pictures and seemed shocked by what we showed them.
They moved us to another room - but again the sheets were stained and the ceiling was leaking all around the air con - and not just a little bit.
Again we returned and a manager said we could have a room that had just been vacated. The manager actually over saw the cleaning of the 3rd room and it was much better than the first 2 we had been allocated.
This room was better than the first 2 and we did stay. The staff on the whole were very friendly but I wouldn't rush back.

Room Tip: The 3rd room we were offered was stain free and clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACW80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

Thank you for taking the time to share the review of your recent stay and it is with much regret to learn of the less-than-positive experience of your recent stay with us.

I sincerely apologise for our shortcomings and for the lack of attention from our Housekeeping team in the first two rooms you mentioned.

Please be assured that this is not our usual standards of service that we maintain here at Cititel Penang and I have reiterated to my Housekeeper and team to ensure that this does not recur.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write as it is through your feedback that we can continuously strive to improve and ensure that our guests enjoy their stay with us.

I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again – do contact me at gm@cititelpenang.com if I may be of further assistance.

With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The hotel located in Georgetown which is a beautiful old town. There were many restaurant nearby. The room was so small, also the bathroom, but there were some bath stuff there. Thing that I disliked was that A/C didn't work well. Though I turned to 19 Celsius degree, I didn't feel cold at all. So I had to turn on a ceiling fan, then it's better. Anyways, there were various kinds of food for breakfast and they tasted good. NO free wifi in the room even if in the lobby.

Room Tip: NO free wifi in the room even if in the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pajaree W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay in Penang and I hope that you had a good trip home.

Please accept my sincere apologies on the malfunction of the air-conditioning unit in your room – our Maintenance team has looked into the issue and am pleased to share that the thermostat for this unit has been replaced.

I am sorry to hear of the WIFI issue; All room reservations are accorded complimentary Wifi for two devices, unless the reservations are made through a travel agent

Separately, we do have a 24-hour Internet Kiosk/Station within the Main Street Café, our all-day dining restaurant, located on the Lobby Level. all guests and patrons are accorded complimentary use of the surfing stations as well as have access to the complimentary WIFI at the restaurant.

On the positive side, I am glad that you enjoyed our breakfast spread and exploring our heritage city.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write as it is through your continuous feedback that we are able to objectively review our facilities and the services we provide to ensure that they meet and exceed our guests’ expectations.

I look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back to Cititel Penang again soon and please do not hesitate to contact me at gm@cititelpenang.com if I may be of further assistance with your next reservations.

With best wishes and kind regards,
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Huge hotel at the edge of the old town. It is a bit of a walk to the jetty (20 minutes) but the free CAT bus has a stop across the street from the hotel. The room looks a bit aged but is clean, with the bathroom recently renovated. A few stains here and there but it is generally clean. It is a busy hotel with many patrons in the lobby at most times of the day but sound-proofing seems quite decent and noise was not a major problem. Hotel staff are knowledgeable and helpful, especially the concierge, who organized an airport drop-off in a nice vehicle at very reasonable market rates.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hkg2009hkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Guest

Gong Xi Fa Cai and Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang!

I am delighted to note that you had an enjoyable stay with us and are happy with our hotel services and facilities. My team and I thank you for taking the time to write and your kind comments are most appreciated.

Thank you for your support and we look forward to your continued patronage.

Wishing you a great Lunar Year of The Horse!

With best wishes and kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This is our first time in Penang. The hotel location is good; accessible by bus and its surroundings are good. It is just opposite to the Red Garden, our favour place to eat.
The room is ok; clean and functional. The service is good; the staff is friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast is excellent but a bit disappointed on the buffet supper.
Overall, we have a good time in Penang and will certainly visit Cititel again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang and hope that you had a good trip home.

Thank you for taking the time to compliment our services and facilities during your recent stay and I am indeed very pleased to know that you and your family have had a wonderful stay with us.

I have shared your kind comments with my team members here and have thanked them for their dedication and hard work in ensuring that our guests have a fulfilling stay with us.

All of us certainly look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Cititel Penang again and please do not hesitate to contact me directly at gm@cititelpenang.com if I may be of further assistance.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience with us.

With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.7 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#22 of 84 in George Town
1,070 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
0.6 mi away
Cititel Express Penang
Cititel Express Penang
#31 of 84 in George Town
255 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royale Chulan Penang
Royale Chulan Penang
#17 of 84 in George Town
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cititel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cititel Penang

Property: Cititel Penang
Address: 66 Jalan Penang, George Town, Penang Island 10000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in George Town
#8 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cititel Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 451
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along bustling Upper Penang Road, in the heart of George Town. Easy access to commercial and government offices, 30 minutes by car from Penang International Airport, 5 minutes drive to Penang Ferry terminal, 5-10 minutes walk to nearby tourist attractions such as street arts and UNESCO heritage trails, 15-minutes walk to Chowrasta market and Mydin Hypermarket, 20-minutes walk to Komtar/Prangin Mall/1st Avenue Mall, 20-minutes walk to Esplanade/Beach Street and the Red Garden Hawker Centre is located just opposite the hotel. 451 comfortably furnished rooms inclusive of executive rooms, broadband internet, LCD TV, long bath, bidet, electronic safe in selected categories, coffee/tea making facilities, mini fridge, satellite TV and in-house movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cititel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cititel Penang Georgetown
Cititel Penang Hotel Georgetown
Cititel Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing