We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location warm service”
Review of Cititel Penang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cititel Penang
Ranked #21 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location warm service”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Booked my last minute holiday through Zuji. Read the good reviews about this hotel.

Experience was good. The hotel is nicely located near food centre and there are shops nearby. Reception staff was warm and friendly. Breakfast spread was good and a huge variety. Room was clean however we could have a better stay if there was extra bed. The king size bed they claim look more like a queen size.

In summary good service and I will recommend this hotel to my friends.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank mshoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

I am very happy to note that you had enjoyed your stay with us and I have shared your kind comments with my team.

Your words of appreciation mean a lot to us and it is always a delight to know that we have exceeded our guests’ expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to Cititel Penang on your next visit - do try booking with us directly via our hotel website for lowest room rates available.

Sincere thanks once again for sharing your experience with us.

With kind regards,
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    574
    236
    46
    25
See reviews for
204
244
92
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Bathroom has no fan or air circulation, causing the whole room to stink and steamed.
had to wait for 90 minutes to check in at 3:30PM because my room wasn't ready.
The room are not very clean and look a bit old.
The beds are comfortable and location is convenient tho.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J9zz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.


Please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointment encountered during your recent stay with us - we were experiencing high occupancy during your visit and I regret the wait at check-in. I hope that did not deter you from enjoying your stay in Penang.
On a separate note, I am pleased to share that the bathroom in our guestrooms are presently being upgraded and will have better ventilation when ready.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write as it is through your observations that we can continuously strive to improve our facilities and services and ensure that our guests enjoy their stay with us.

I do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again for another stay soon.

With kind regards and best wishes
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kulim, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Room
Honestly, I have always associated Cititel Penang with cheaper Penang hotels but I was pleasantly surprised by the quality in a few areas. Check-in was effortless. Room was clean and tidy with even a fruit platter. Bathroom was not classy but clean. Sea-view was a nice surprise.

Breakfast
Breakfast spread was good, better than many other business hotels I’ve been to.

Others
The hotel houses the Kirishima Japanese restaurant. Must try it. Salmon belly and the Kampachi.

Parking
Crammed for space so your skill has to be good. Hard to get in and out of car though so if you are sensitive about scratches on your precious car, then be careful where you park. Pay RM4 per entry but this is claimable through a voucher you will receive during check in. My only complaint was that even when I parked at the allotted space, my car was surrounded by other cars in the morning and need to inform the attendant to remove the cars. Wasted about 15 minutes of time there.

Other facilities
Went for foot reflexology and it was one of the better ones. The guy (Jimmy) could tune his strength accordingly (you know some cannot  no matter how many times you ‘request’ for a softer massage) and the 15 minute of shoulder/back massage really relieved my backache and returned the spring to my steps. Only RM55 for 1 hour, RM65 if you request for in-room reflexology. Swimming pool was nice with Jacuzzi function but start it and it will last 30 minutes, so think before you press that button.

Location
It is strategically located, within a few minutes’ walk to E&O Hotel (if you decide to have their buffet dinner instead) and also within easy access to the Heritage areas such as Khoo Kongsi and the Peranakan House. Walk down the road and already you could see street arts on Muntri Road.

Conclusion
Nice neat hotel, good location, great in house facilities (foot reflexology and Kirishima restaurant), ok pricing.

Room Tip: Get higher floors and face the sea as you can get the sunrise. Ask for the seaview rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LNZJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

My team and I are very happy to note that you and family have enjoyed your recent stay with us and thank you for your sharing the experience on Trip Avisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.

With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Having stayed at other Cititel a long time ago I picked up the courage to stay at Cititel Penang because of the location. Not only was I completely satisfied with the location, I felt that my recent stay was beyond expectation. It was good value for money, the staff were very warm, friendly and most of all, very genuine. I appreciated the 4 bottles of water (others usually provide 2) on the hot days, the free printing of my boarding pass at the coffeehouse and smooth check in and out. I also dropped off the keys for the rental car at the hotel itself with minimal hassle and took the taxi provided by the hotel to the airport. Everything was smooth and stress free.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alcinito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera and thank you for having chosen to stay at Cititel Penang.

I am most delighted to read your encouraging review – thank you for your gracious comments of our team’s services, hotel location and facilities.

My team and I are truly glad to know that you have had an enjoyable time here.

Thank you for writing and we look forward to welcoming you and family back again for yet another fulfilling stay when you are in Penang again... see you soon.

With best wishes and kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The hotel is located in a good neighborhood with some 24 hour eateries nearby. The lobby is modern. The check-in and housekeeping staff were good.

The room we got was shabby and dingy. We got a non-smoking room on the supposedly non-smoking sixth floor. The first thing you smell when you get off the sixth floor is cigarette smoke. The room and or ventilation also smelled smoke.

The bathroom was really "tired" with mildew present as a common feature and joints (grout or caulk) cracked and in dire need of repair.

Room Tip: Avoid due to dominant smell of smoke and shabby rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CentralVoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

Thank you for your review of our hotel during your recent stay and the positive note on our team members. I regret to note your discomfort in our rooms; my apologies- as we do not have a totally smoke-free environment in our hotel, our Housekeeping and Maintenance teams are constantly looking into improving the air quality within the hotel, especially that of our public areas and our guestrooms.

I am pleased to share that the bathroom in our guestrooms are presently being upgraded and I hope will be to your liking when you next stay with us.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write as it is through your feedback that we can continuously strive to improve our facilities and services and ensure that our guests enjoy their stay with us.

I do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you and family back again for another stay – do contact me at gm@cititelpenang.com if I may be of further assistance.

With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I book this hotel based on the good location, hotel is located along jalan penang road. Hotel staff were very friendly and nice. Got a free upgrade from superior to deluxe and i got a high floor room with a sea view, the view was awesome but you can see the western cemetery. I personally find that the room seems small for a deluxe room, cant imagine if it is superior and standard. But the size of room didn't really bother me with that, as the location is just too good. There is a bus stop opposite that has free CAT shuttle services within georgetown. There are also many eateries near the hotel, there is a "Kheng Pin Cafe" located just right side of the hotel that serve very good lor bak. and also the hotel is within walking distance to Lebuh Keng Kwee and Cintra Street, where they serve chedol and chinese food.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lenice Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

I am very glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Yes, our location is indeed one of our plus points and many of our guests are always surprised at how convenient it is to move around from here for shopping, dining and even sight-seeing, be it on foot, by trishaw, car or public transport.

I sincerely hope you headed for home with pleasant memories of Penang and my team and I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Cititel Penang on your next visit.

With kind regards and best wishes,
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The hotel is located smack in the middle of the city with facilities and amenities within walking distance. Reasonably priced with friendly and efficient service. Room is clean and spacious but needs refurbishment. The air-conditioning is getting too old to function efficiently. Luckily there's a fan but it is not speed adjustable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RicDeBigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

It is most heartening to read the review of your recent stay with us – thank you for your gracious comments of our team’s services and hotel location.

Regret to note that you were not informed of the speed dial for our fan, it is located at the underside of the bedside table. I sincerely hope that this did not detract you from the overall enjoyment of your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes and kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.7 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#23 of 84 in George Town
1,050 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royale Chulan Penang
Royale Chulan Penang
#17 of 84 in George Town
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.6 mi away
Cititel Express Penang
Cititel Express Penang
#29 of 84 in George Town
249 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cititel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cititel Penang

Property: Cititel Penang
Address: 66 Jalan Penang, George Town, Penang Island 10000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in George Town
#8 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cititel Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 451
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along bustling Upper Penang Road, in the heart of George Town. Easy access to commercial and government offices, 30 minutes by car from Penang International Airport, 5 minutes drive to Penang Ferry terminal, 5-10 minutes walk to nearby tourist attractions such as street arts and UNESCO heritage trails, 15-minutes walk to Chowrasta market and Mydin Hypermarket, 20-minutes walk to Komtar/Prangin Mall/1st Avenue Mall, 20-minutes walk to Esplanade/Beach Street and the Red Garden Hawker Centre is located just opposite the hotel. 451 comfortably furnished rooms inclusive of executive rooms, broadband internet, LCD TV, long bath, bidet, electronic safe in selected categories, coffee/tea making facilities, mini fridge, satellite TV and in-house movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cititel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cititel Penang Georgetown
Cititel Penang Hotel Georgetown
Cititel Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing