We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loation Great”
Review of Cititel Penang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cititel Penang
Ranked #21 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Loation Great”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Location is great, pricing varies according to period. Be prepare as they are always fully book.
Rooms will be slightly smaller in size compare with others hotels eventhough price is higher because they are in prime area but it compensate with great location with easy accessiblity.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KenYap55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

I am delighted to read your review and sincere thanks your kind words of our hotel facilities and location.

My team and I are truly glad to know that you have had an enjoyable time here and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    561
    234
    45
    24
See reviews for
198
243
90
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Found this hotel last minute when all other choices booked out. Ended up staying three nights because the price and location was good, the room was clean and cool. A little dated but I was pleased for the price we paid and also it is opposite a convenient bus stop,which connected us to visit Kek Lok Si Temple, Penang Hill and also the free CAT bus which took you around town. The only negative is a slow Internet connection, it only allows a certain download per room before it gets very slow. We never ate here so cannot comment on the food. But having done a little travel through Asia I would definitely stay here again for value. Across the road is Red Corner, an outdoor food venue which has live entertainment nightly by locals so a good fun night out, we ate here twice and never got sick from the food, the toilets are a little dodgy so byo toilet paper girls!

Room Tip: We asked for a room higher floors with sea view, a bonus for the price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvie0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

Thank you for taking the time to share the review of our hotel and I am glad to note that you have had a wonderful stay with us in Penang.

Your positive comments of our hotel services, facilities and location are greatly appreciated – thank you.

Trust that you had a grand time exploring our heritage city too.

Wishing you happy travels and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best wishes and kind regards,
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were travelling around Asia and stayed at the Cititel in Penang, we had a great time here. Rooms were nice and big. Facilities were great, loved to pool, sauna and steam room. This was our spoil at the end of a great trip. Great location close to everything.
I would definitely recommend this hotel

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank saffainadelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang and I trust that you had a good trip back home.

Reading your review was indeed a great way to start the new month! THANK YOU for giving us full marks on our hotel location, facilities and services!

I am very glad to note that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and it is most gratifying to know that we have exceeded your expectations.

Thank you for recommending Cititel Penang and we look forward to welcoming you back soon for yet another fulfilling stay.

With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Me and the girlfriend stayed here a few days and it was very pleasant. Very friendly staff the rooms were nice with safe,flat-screen TV, tea making stuff,clean bathroom with bath or shower.
The hotel also had a indoor swimming pool, gym, spa and sauna and the food was great also, bit of a mix between Asain and western NICE.
And fairly central in the city which was handy as its very hot there.
Would recommend this hotel :)

Room Tip: Sea veiw smoking 1712
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeglover26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Mike

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

Thank you for your positive comments on your stay experience here and am truly appreciative of your kind words about our services, location and facilities. I have shared them with my team here with much pride.

It is always a delight to know that we have exceeded our guests' expectations during their stay with us and your appreciation is great motivation to all of us here.

Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you and your girlfriend back the next time you are in Penang.

With best wishes and kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Lobby is nice and spacious, and provided welcome drink (mineral water with Sunkist flavor or Lemon flavor or Cucumber flavor). The staff is very helpful and warm.

Wifi is provided in the room and lobby and speed is super high. Room is ok, however the shower handle has been broken (but stil can be used), house keeping have to take initiative to repair before guest check in. Overall is Good and recommended to stay in next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suriaty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang,

It is a delight to know that you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us recently.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the broken shower handle in your room and the inconvenience this has caused – I have cautioned our Housekeeping Team to ensure that this incident does not recur in the future.

Thank you very much for your kind comments and my team and I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Cititel Penang on your next visit.

With kind regards and best wishes,
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Unexpected good hotel with very friendly and attentive staff, clean and comfortable rooms and a very good breakfast. I would rate this hotel with 4 stars. The location of the hotel is good as you can just walk into town.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HansvandeBunte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang,

I am very happy to read your positive review of our hotel location, services and facilities. My team and I thank you for taking the time to write and your kind comments are greatly appreciated.

Thank you for your support and we look forward to your continued patronage.

With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Booked my last minute holiday through Zuji. Read the good reviews about this hotel.

Experience was good. The hotel is nicely located near food centre and there are shops nearby. Reception staff was warm and friendly. Breakfast spread was good and a huge variety. Room was clean however we could have a better stay if there was extra bed. The king size bed they claim look more like a queen size.

In summary good service and I will recommend this hotel to my friends.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank mshoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

I am very happy to note that you had enjoyed your stay with us and I have shared your kind comments with my team.

Your words of appreciation mean a lot to us and it is always a delight to know that we have exceeded our guests’ expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to Cititel Penang on your next visit - do try booking with us directly via our hotel website for lowest room rates available.

Sincere thanks once again for sharing your experience with us.

With kind regards,
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.7 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.8 mi away
Royale Chulan Penang
Royale Chulan Penang
#17 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
0.4 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 84 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#23 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cititel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cititel Penang

Property: Cititel Penang
Address: 66 Jalan Penang, George Town, Penang Island 10000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in George Town
#8 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cititel Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 451
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along bustling Upper Penang Road, in the heart of George Town. Easy access to commercial and government offices, 30 minutes by car from Penang International Airport, 5 minutes drive to Penang Ferry terminal, 5-10 minutes walk to nearby tourist attractions such as street arts and UNESCO heritage trails, 15-minutes walk to Chowrasta market and Mydin Hypermarket, 20-minutes walk to Komtar/Prangin Mall/1st Avenue Mall, 20-minutes walk to Esplanade/Beach Street and the Red Garden Hawker Centre is located just opposite the hotel. 451 comfortably furnished rooms inclusive of executive rooms, broadband internet, LCD TV, long bath, bidet, electronic safe in selected categories, coffee/tea making facilities, mini fridge, satellite TV and in-house movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cititel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cititel Penang Georgetown
Cititel Penang Hotel Georgetown
Cititel Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing