We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Business Hotel”
Review of Cititel Penang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cititel Penang
Ranked #21 of 87 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

On my regular visits to Penang, I always stay at the Cititel. This hotel is very centrally located, offers good service, very friendly staff and a number of good F&B outlets for every need. The guestrooms and bathrooms are well appointed and offer a good space configuration. I can highly recommend the Cititel in Goergetown!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rudi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Rudi

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

It is good to have you back and thank you for your continued support.

Thank you for your positive comments about our services and facilities during your recent stay with us.

It is always a delight to know that we have exceeded your expectations each time you stay with us and your appreciation is great motivation to all of us here.

My sincere thanks, once again, for taking the time to share your experience at Cititel Penang and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Penang.

With kind regards
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,091)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

333 - 339 of 1,091 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

My recent stay was awesome. Room was ready upon arrival and was check in before the check in time. Pleasant employees smooth check in.
Best location easy access to the mall and eatery places around. Visiting from United States Florida and definitely be back here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pritam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang and I trust that you had a good trip home to Florida.

THANK YOU for giving us the full score on the TripAdvisor rating and I am very glad to note that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us at Cititel Penang - it is most rewarding to know that we have exceeded your expectations.

Your comments are our best recommendation and my team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon for yet another fulfilling stay.


With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Good breakfast large hotel ,rooms smallish ,a high security hotel you need your room card to access the lifts . Adequate hotel not a lot of character .high rise ,there are other choices and better values , we ended up here because most of the hotels were booked .it was ok

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Penang and for sharing your review on Trip Advisor.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon and until then, my best wishes for the month ahead.

Kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel because we knew it would be near the main attractions of Penang. Getting around was easy and cheap especially on the bus which stopped just down the road. The room was a suitable size although the bathroom does need updating. Staff were helpful although we didn't need them apart from when checking in and when we booked a taxi to the airport. We were only in Penang for 2 nights but this hotel served our purposes very well.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments and I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. hope you had a great time too, exploring our heritage city and visiting the sights of Penang.

I am pleased to share that we are in the midst of upgrading our bathrooms and I do hope that you will like the updated version when you next stay with us.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Great location within walking distance to interesting places in the old quarters. Rooms are small but clean and comfortable. There's a local food joint just across the road. We had our first frogs porridge!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannahmrsjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

I am very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and am glad to note that you have done quite a bit of exploring whilst here. I am certain you have discovered that Penang is a culinary haven and I trust that your taste of our local selections was a delightful experience too.

My team members and I look forward to welcoming you back to Cititel Penang on your next visit. Thank you once again for sharing your experience with us.

See you again soon.

With kind regards,
Tony Goh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed twice, once in delux and once standard. Both very similar, just the delux has a fresh coat of paint and has been modernized slightly. Staff are very friendly and happy to help, taxis cost more for tourists, like most other places so always worth trying getting them down on prices quoted, or go further down the street and pick up a meter taxi. Location is good, lots of temples within walking distant and a hawkers market with entertainment most nights just across the road, and shopping mall is a short trip away and a friendly place if traveling with children

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

It was good to have you back to stay with us - thank you for your gracious comments about our team members, services and facilities and for the full score.

I am very pleased to know that we have exceeded your expectations during your stays with us and your appreciation is great motivation to all of us.

My sincere thanks once again, for taking the time to share your experience at Cititel Penang and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit.

With warmest wishes and kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Location is great, pricing varies according to period. Be prepare as they are always fully book.
Rooms will be slightly smaller in size compare with others hotels eventhough price is higher because they are in prime area but it compensate with great location with easy accessiblity.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KenYap55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

I am delighted to read your review and sincere thanks your kind words of our hotel facilities and location.

My team and I are truly glad to know that you have had an enjoyable time here and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.7 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.6 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
0.2 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chulia Mansion
Chulia Mansion
#12 of 87 in George Town
863 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#24 of 87 in George Town
1,124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#13 of 87 in George Town
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cititel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cititel Penang

Address: 66 Jalan Penang, George Town, Penang Island 10000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in George Town
#8 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range: £41 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cititel Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 451
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along bustling Upper Penang Road, in the heart of George Town. Easy access to commercial and government offices, 30 minutes by car from Penang International Airport, 5 minutes drive to Penang Ferry terminal, 5-10 minutes walk to nearby tourist attractions such as street arts and UNESCO heritage trails, 15-minutes walk to Chowrasta market and Mydin Hypermarket, 20-minutes walk to Komtar/Prangin Mall/1st Avenue Mall, 20-minutes walk to Esplanade/Beach Street and the Red Garden Hawker Centre is located just opposite the hotel. 451 comfortably furnished rooms inclusive of executive rooms, broadband internet, LCD TV, long bath, bidet, electronic safe in selected categories, coffee/tea making facilities, mini fridge, satellite TV and in-house movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cititel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cititel Penang Georgetown
Cititel Penang Hotel Georgetown
Cititel Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing