We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of city, Convenient, Room quality just ok.”
Review of Cititel Penang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cititel Penang
Ranked #21 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“In the heart of city, Convenient, Room quality just ok.”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

- If you don't drive, this hotel is ok. Convenient to most attractions.
- Lots of dinning places, pubs, bars etc... around.
- Slightly expensive for its quality, but I was ok with it

Convenience. A place to crash. Simple. No surprise.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EltonMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Penang and for sharing your review on Trip Advisor.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you and your friends back again soon and until then, my best wishes to all.

Kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    575
    236
    46
    25
See reviews for
205
244
92
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed three nights in this hotel from 26th Aug to 29th Aug 2014.Early Check-in was given with out any hassles and smooth. I got my room on18th floor with nice beach view. Room was very good and very comfortable. bathroom was very neat but they need to put a curtain or glass door in shower area to avoid water spreading all over the bathroom. Friendly staff. Good spread of buffet breakfast,good wifi.location is very good as we get everything near the hotel like street food,free shuttle bus,many sightseeing places are close by as well.i just felt one problem with the travel desk there , a old lady at the counter was bit rude but okay.overall my stay was very comfortable and do remember that Hotel collects 3RM per night as Heritage fee to Government but it's not Hotel charge.Excellent stay and I recommend It.!!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Balajisma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

I am very glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for giving us the full score on Trip Advisor.

Very delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and am glad to note that you have done quite a bit of exploring whilst here.

Thank you for your recommendation. My team members and I certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Cititel Penang on your next visit and our sincere thanks once again for sharing your experience with us.

With kind regards,
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

In this price range this is a reasonable hotel. Friendly staff and helpful. Hotel itself is aged and likely needs renovating. I did not have any serious issues with the hotel. A few smaller items: water in the sink/bath was occasionally brown, however I found this true at the airport lounge as well. I have 3 wireless devices (PC, phone, tablet), but WiFi only allowed 2. There is no safe in the room, thus I carried my PC/tablet everywhere.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars_of_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Penang and for sharing your review on Trip Advisor.

I regret that there was some maintenance work which resulted in the water being not at its usual best quality when you were here. However, I am glad that all has been resolved.

I apologise for the inconvenience of you having to carry your PC and tablet around during your stay. You may wish to book into our Superior Room on your next visit as they will be equipped with in-room safe soon.

My team members and I certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Cititel Penang on your next visit and our sincere thanks once again for sharing your feedback with us.

With kind regards,
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

The workers were nice and polite.the area was nice too. but however in the room; the pillowcase was smelly, the water from the tab was brownish. the available car parks for the guests was in small number. My experience there was not so good as I hope it would be.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank a g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

Thank you for the review of our hotel during your recent stay with us. I regret to note that we were not up to your expectations and would like to assure you that this is not our usual standard of operations. I have taken up the issues you raised with the relevant department heads and will ensure that this does not recur,

Thank you for writing as it is through these feedback that we can continuously strive to improve and ensure that our guests enjoy their stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon and allow us to make amends to ensure that you enjoy a more memorable stay the next time.

Please do not hesitate to contact me at gm@cititelpenang.com if I may be of further assistance.

Kind regards,

Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We choose the hotel as we had meetings to attend in the city center. The staff were courteous and very helpful. Everyone we met were smiling and friendly. We were allocated a room which had just been renovated (apparently we were first guest after the renovation work). The room was clean. There is a ceiling fan set at high speed and we couldn't find the remote control to reduce the fan speed so we switched it of. Access to the car park was a little cumbersome and drivers have to be very patient. Cars were parked along the two lane ramp leading to the car park, reducing it into a single lane. Because of that, driving into and getting out of the car park can be tricky and dangerous especially when you have cars going up and down the ramp at the same time. The hotel should not allow patrons to park along the ramp. Also there is no space in front of the hotel to stop the car and unload the luggage (and re-load the luggage after check-out) as even that little space in front of the hotel was used to park cars.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ka638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

Thank you for your review of our hotel during your recent stay in Penang and am glad that you found our team members courteous and helpful.

Regret to learn that you were not informed of the fan speed control (presently located under the bedside table). I am pleased to share that we are in the midst of relocating the speed control to a more visible spot and hope that this will no longer be an issue.

I am sorry to note that we did not have sufficient car park space during your stay due to high occupancy and full function events here. I have personally cautioned our car park operator to refrain from allowing guests to park along the car park ram during such times and will ensure that it is followed through.

Thank you very much for your observations and feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The Cititel Hotel, Georgetown is a great hotel, it's nice and clean,you will find the staff courteous and helpful. If you are looking for a Hotel that is right in the middle of all, this Hotel will fit the bill. You can walk right outside the Hotel and find some really good restaurants within walking distance. British Pubs, Chinese, Indian, even hawker stalls selling a great burger, it's all here. If you're into shopping, just a few blocks away are several large markets selling just about anything. Once the night falls, just turn left outside the Hotel and walk 2 blocks to Upper Penang Road. Here you will find all the clubs and nightlife Georgetown is famous for. But don't discount the Hotels "Citi Bar" here you can get some great Martinis, a variety of flavors for a great price. I stayed several days here and it was a great experience and a perfect spot to explore Georgetown.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

I am indeed delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and am glad to note that you have done quite a bit of exploring whilst here.

My team members and I certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Cititel Penang on your next visit and our sincere thanks once again for sharing your experience with us.

With kind regards,
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paro, Bhutan
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The room itself is clean and the staff is polite.An average hotel in great location. It is just a walking distance to a few popular attraction like the famous Penang Road cendol, Chowrasta Market., where you can buy and eat a cheap yet original taste of Penang Foods, Penang Bazaar sell mostly Muslims attires and local Kebaya and if you walk further more there's a mall in the other opposite side of road.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaWangdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

I am very glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for giving us the full score on Trip Advisor.

Yes, our location is indeed one of our plus points and many of our guests are pleasantly surprised at how convenient it is to move around from here for shopping, dining and even sight-seeing, be it on foot, by trishaw, car or public transport.

I sincerely hope you headed for home with pleasant memories of Penang and my team and I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Cititel Penang on your next visit.

With kind regards and best wishes,
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.8 mi away
Royale Chulan Penang
Royale Chulan Penang
#17 of 84 in George Town
682 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#24 of 84 in George Town
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.6 mi away
Cititel Express Penang
Cititel Express Penang
#29 of 84 in George Town
249 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Wembley – A St Giles Hotel, Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cititel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cititel Penang

Property: Cititel Penang
Address: 66 Jalan Penang, George Town, Penang Island 10000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in George Town
#8 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cititel Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 451
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along bustling Upper Penang Road, in the heart of George Town. Easy access to commercial and government offices, 30 minutes by car from Penang International Airport, 5 minutes drive to Penang Ferry terminal, 5-10 minutes walk to nearby tourist attractions such as street arts and UNESCO heritage trails, 15-minutes walk to Chowrasta market and Mydin Hypermarket, 20-minutes walk to Komtar/Prangin Mall/1st Avenue Mall, 20-minutes walk to Esplanade/Beach Street and the Red Garden Hawker Centre is located just opposite the hotel. 451 comfortably furnished rooms inclusive of executive rooms, broadband internet, LCD TV, long bath, bidet, electronic safe in selected categories, coffee/tea making facilities, mini fridge, satellite TV and in-house movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cititel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cititel Penang Georgetown
Cititel Penang Hotel Georgetown
Cititel Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing