We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply perfect!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Ranked #12 of 87 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for four nights in the victory annex in May /June this year. The hotel is without a doubt a masterpiece. The staff provides an excellent service and has excellent staff special mention to Merlene in the gallery who gave us the story of the hotel and Edward who helped us at Lone Pine when we visited on the free shuttle. Merlene and Edward are both very passionate about the work they do and it shows in the way that they treat their customers. They should both receive a special commendation.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Tonysue12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,662)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,049 - 2,055 of 3,662 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

Looking forward to a memorable stay at E&O after checking review at trip advisor (my trusted website). Also done the booking thru otel.com under one of the tied up.
It was a last moment booking and I thought everything was settled when I received a second email from otel.com informing booking confirmed and payment charged on my credit card.
Arrived on 5 June at the hotel but was told by the hotel staff that there was no confirmation as they did not received payment from the agent hotelsbed in Penang. I was referred to contact them directly as hotel not responsible.
Out of desperation, I paid double the price to stay at hotel for 1 day, as they are fully booked for coming weekend.
Managed to check in under the old wing. Room is spacious and colonial feel theme. However construction on the exterior. Desperate man unable to complain.
Main line of hotel not working and thus need to call using my mobile.
Manage to contact the Penang agent but they claimed no responsible and refer me to contact otel.com directly.
Called the 24hrs customer service line of otel.com listed under the email but the service seems to be on 24 hrs on hold. Manage to get a contact number on Internet and contact otel.com and spoken to at least 3 customer officers round the world who promised to resolve the issues and revert, but none revert.
Spend my full day hunting for a next available decent hotel but most fully booked due to coming public holiday.
Thank god managed to find a hostel with shared bathroom, which is totally non appealing to my spouse. That will be another review.
Hopefully I will be able to get my refund as they did charged my credit card for 4 days stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Ck T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EasternandOriental1, The Management at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Eastern & Oriental Hotel, Penang and for taking
time to give us your feedback about your recent stay.

We regret to hear about your unfortunate experience with regards to your booking
made via Hotelbeds. We sympathise with you over your frustration of not being able
to get your preferred accommodation upon arrival as the agent had not made a
reservation with us for your stay. We do hope that you will be able to contact the agent
for a refund.

Referring to your comment on construction work, we believe you are referring to the
project by an independent developer nearby. The work being carried out is not on our
hotel premises and therefore, we are unable to control their activities. We would like
to apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

Though you only stayed with us for a night due to the hotel being fully booked, it was
a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back in the
near future.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback.

Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I went to this hotel in March with 2 very good friends because we wanted an all girls outing in a comfortable hotel in an Asian country. They did all the research since they both had experience in the travel industry. Penang, Malaysia was the choice and the E & O was the hotel they picked.. And what an excellent choice it was. You knew you were in a Sarkies' hotel the minute you got out of our airport transport. There was a muted elegance about everything and I instinctively knew it was going to be a great stay.

We were given a room in the new wing with a large balcony overlooking the Strait of Malacca. You could see Indonesia on a clear day across the water. Fresh sea breezes cooled our room as we sat around the balcony, bonded and caught up after so many years of not seeing each other. The beds were comfortable, the room tastefully furnished and the bathroom immense. Imagine 3 women wanting to use an intimate space and never getting in each other's way...a virtual impossibility but it was the case with us.

Breakfast and a tea/cocktail period was included in the room rate and we thought it was just fantastic. We had breakfast in the main dining area on the ground floor, sitting outside to enjoy the weather and food. The variety was astounding ranging from Asian, Western, vegetarian and other choices too many to name and enumerate. I would eat Japanese dimsum one day, Nyonya food the next and had fresh juice of my choice made to order right before my eyes daily to top everything off. Needless to say we had good, long satisfying meals to start off our days before exploring Penang.

In the afternoon/evenings, tea and cocktails were served on a separate floor. We always opted for the outside seating to enjoy the view with the food and beverages served during this most restful period. The staff was always attentive, the weather absolutely perfect and the setting so lovely that I can easily say wholeheartedly that my stay at the E&O was one of the best and most restful I have had in a very long time. I have never been to a Sarkies hotel that has disappointed or failed to maintain the highest of standards for its guests. Yes, they are expensive but sometimes it is just worth the splurge!

Room Tip: Pick a room overlooking the water. I don't know if there are rooms by the pool but if there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Footloose916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Amazing Hotel, We had a room in the new wing which had amazing facilities, the old (heritage) wing had the colonial style service with the bultlers in white gloves! Amazing service. I would suggest the heritage wing room next time as the style was just cooooool! But were in the new wing so had to do with a just an amazing room quality and stay without the cooooool service. The hotel is in the center of the city and walking distance from everything. Don't miss out the breakfast by the beach...it is a stoney beach but still the view and the service is amazing.

Room Tip: Pick a room in the heritage wing to get the cooool type service with the butlers in white gloves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiraazPeerbhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Definitely one of my best 2nights stay in Georgetown, Penang. Room is well maintained, very English and colonial style. Service is excellent and staffs are very helpful. Food is great too especially their weekend seafood buffet dinner! That is a plus and thumbs up! :)
Coming out from the hotel itself, most of the buildings nearby are all heritage buildings and the architectures were very detailed and interesting. Conveniently located near bars suitable for those scouting for some exciting night life and a couple of drinks.
Definitely value for money! Miss this place a lot..

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JKY209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed in the annex and this was our second visit in last year or so. We cannot fault this hotel. It is clean and efficient with no fuss. Great shower and bath in our room (Studio Suite), good quality fittings, loads of lights and loads of sockets for charging i pads and phones etc. decent balcony and good views. Comfortable bed and good quality linen with black out curtains for good sleep! There is a regular buffet in the evenings - the food is good and everything is fresh - lovely crab, oysters and the barbecue beef is great - all with free flow wine at reasonable cost. Good well maintained pool on 6th floor - soft sunbeds and attentive pool staff. I have no problem to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Woody56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We have been to the E&O a few years ago when they were renovating. We have just spent 5 nights there in the Victory Annexe. This is a very good hotel. It sits alongside the Penninsular HK, the Oriental Bangkok, Raffles Singapore, The Metrapole Hanoi and a few others with real history. The renovation to the old wing and the addition of the Victory annexe are very well done and are quite seamless. the Victory rooms are large by modern standards, well appointed with high quality bed linen, towels, bathrobes, toiletries etc. Free soft drinks from the mini bar, free cocktails and canapes each day in the Pavillion. Fabulous views of sunset and sunrise, a really beautiful infinity pool on the 6th floor as well as another in the Heritage Wing. Beautiful public areas all patrolled by friendly and professional staff. All this at a price which is a fraction of what it would be in Europe or elsewhere in Asia. Maybe the food or the service is not as good as Raffles or the Peninsular but this is a resort town. It's more relaxed and slower paced. Any negatives would be a bit pedantic. The E&O is a great place, well run and a wonderful place to unwind. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea. The 12th floor is accessible and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.3 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 87 in George Town
864 reviews
2.0 mi away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#13 of 87 in George Town
472 reviews
2.0 mi away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#16 of 87 in George Town
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.8 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
0.2 mi away
The Edison George Town, Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastern & Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Address: 10 Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in George Town
#2 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#2 Family Hotel in George Town
#3 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range: £107 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Eastern & Oriental Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eastern & Oriental Hotel is the embodiment of both a special time and a special place. For well over a century, this remarkable hotel - known simply as 'The E&O' to generations of travellers - has stood as a testament to the grand elegance of the British colonial era. In many ways, it has also come to represent Penang itself; its story inextricably woven into the island's history, its traditions an indelible part of many a traveller's treasured memory, its name synonymous with the magical island once known as The Pearl Of the Orient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Fastbooking, Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Eastern & Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastern And Oriental Hotel
Eastern Oriental Georgetown
Eastern & Oriental Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing