We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mini Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Ranked #11 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Mini Break”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights whilst in Georgetown. It was lovely. Very welcoming and pool was stunning. Used the location to our advantage to explore Georgetown - eateries, shopping, and local attractions.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,205
    797
    243
    96
    44
See reviews for
705
1,698
168
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (965)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Traralgon, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We spent 5 nights in the E&O in the heritage wing and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Staff were helpful and friendly and the bar staff soon got the drift as to what our orders would be after a day walking the streets of George Town. If you are interested in the history of the city, the hotel is well located and whilst we walked to most places taxis are cheap. Meals are good with a wide selection available for both breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAVID M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indonesia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Everything is perfect, love the service, room and nice balcony. I was staying at studio suites with sea view balcony at the new wing of this hotel.

Thats correct if i read someone complain according the bed, i have the same problem too.. its too hard..

But i was dissapointed with the service of Sarkie (i came twice for dinner and breakfast). I found the lack of service arrangement there.. no greetings, the plate founds dirty and the cup is broken, on the stall noone assist you except yoy asked, noone explain the buffet condition when we had dinner there.. its totally screw up service i ever had in a such big hotel..

We decided to had breakfast at 6th floor at the planters but the ambience and service is great except the various of the breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uthinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Pole
Level Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The E&O is a very good 4-star historic property located in the centre of George Town. The hotel is split into the original Heritage Wing and the new 153-room “Victory Annexe”. Each wing is largely self-contained and comes with its own restaurants, reception area and pool, though guests are entitled to use facilities throughout the hotel. Note that you will only be able to check-in at your respective wing, so if you are dropped off at the wrong wing, you will need to walk over to the other front desk to check in.

After reading the TripAdvisor reviews, we opted for the new wing and were not disappointed. While the historic architecture of the heritage wing was nice, the designers of the Victory Annexe respected the tradition of the old hotel resulting in an aesthetic that was both contemporary and charming. Further, the Victory Annexe pool is one of the best features of the E&O with a stunning view from its 6th floor perch looking over the ocean (we liked it much better than the heritage wing pool and agreed that it was one of the nicest pools we ever experienced!). The infinity pool, combined with the contemporary Islamic architecture of the pool deck and seamless ocean views was a wonderful surprise to our stay!

The Victory Annexe room is described as a ‘suite’ but this is misleading. It is a standard sized room and includes the usual desk area, comfortable chair and small balcony. One major problem was the comfort of the king-size bed, which was extremely hard and not of the usual standard of high-end international hotels. I have been told that this may have been a cultural thing in that Asians can prefer harder beds, but this didn't make it any more comfortable and it did affect our sleep!

Another great feature of the Victory Annexe is that all the rooms are ocean facing and since the rooms begin on the 7th floor, the views (unlike in the heritage wing) are completely unobstructed. The oversized bathroom, with his and hers vanities, large claw-footed tub and walk-in shower was also a great feature.

Service was generally good, though not flawless. It was a nice touch that pool attendants brought ice waters to everyone who set up in the loungers by the pool and everyone was generally friendly. The hotel guide and telephones refer to ‘butlers’, but I never saw one or anyone who remotely offered true ‘butler’ service. We once tried calling the butler line and no one picked up and the line just went to the front desk. Further, we were dropped off at the Heritage Wing and were simply pointed in the direction of the Victory Annexe. When we have stayed at other higher end properties with multiple wings, bell porters would offer to take our luggage over to the other wing if we showed up at the wrong one...

A buffet breakfast is included in all Victory Annexe room rates, and a full spread with local specialities and the standard international fare was offered. This included several make-to-order stations including fried noodle bar, dim sum, fresh made rotis, egg station and freshly squeezed fruit juice station. We ordered room service and from the pool restaurant and were quite pleased with the quality of dining offered here as well. You can also have a continental breakfast option if you choose to dine in the lounge instead of the main restaurant.
If you’re looking for a beach holiday, then you’ll probably want to opt for one of the larger resorts in Ferringhi. The E&O is located near the historic heart of George Town and is much better if you’re more into sightseeing. However, despite its central location, its prominence on the sea and design makes it a very quiet and tranquil hotel. Despite our being there on a long weekend when the hotel was full, the pool decks were never full (or even half full) and it rarely felt crowded or busy.

One other miscellaneous point, the hotel’s wifi was easy to connect to, free and very strong throughout the property including in the lobby, room, hallways and pool- always a good sign!

While we very much enjoyed our stay, I will stress that if you are expecting a 5-star hotel on the calibre of the Raffles, Peninsula, Four Seasons or Mandarin Oriental you may be disappointed. The attention to detail within the service, room amenities, housekeeping, dining and maintenance were good, but not 5-star good. Personally, I view the E&O as a very good 4-star, but it would not compete well with the other prominent 5-star properties in the region. However, since the pricing of the E&O is much more in line with 4-star properties, I think their quality of service is very fair.

Room Tip: Victory Annexe rooms are new and offer unobstructed ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tanagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

From the room (#1207), you can hear the sound coming from the waves of the ocean crash against the rocky wall, smell the fresh air (despite the haze) of the sea breeze, infinity sea sights...

Location is prefect where it's walking distance to famous eatery stall (i.e. Lebuh Chulia, Lebuh Burmah, Lebuh Kimberly) and near to attraction area i.e little India, Lebuh Armenian, heritage trails etc...

But the unexpected concierge arrangement was a total failure from the hotel. Requested to arrange an orchard-durian-experience but turn-up being charged RM90++ by metered taxi arranged by the hotel to Balik Pulau road-side durian stall?? Where you can actually get it from GeorgeTown roadside! What is the different? And it only takes RM40++ to get back hotel after we shown our un-satisfaction! Suspected the taxi took us for a ride! Fail to promote their hotel with butler's service as they are not up to the level even at the concierge. Complained to Front Office Manager who handle the situation calmly. Hope we will not be disappointed, if we were to choose to stay there again!

Some little details improvement suggestion:-
1) Please do consider to have stool for the lazy chair near the full glass sliding door as without this little stool, it's just not relax enough... or consider a couple chair would be good too. Oh, with a slightly bigger side table to handle reading books while enjoy the se view. As the existing side table is fully occupied with just the complimentary fruits plate.
2) Buffet breakfast selection is good for the first time or second but start to get bore as the menu seem does not change at all. Further, no Prawn Mee which is the signature of Penang? Or Curry Mee?
3) Swimming pool is a great area to enjoy the sea view and relax but the opening hour is just too weird. Closed already as early as 7pm?
4) Complimentary lounge area is only serving cocktail from 6pm-7pm. And only serve coffee and tea throughout the time? Where I can do it from room. Should consider some snacks to go with the coffee if the hotel really want to make it exclusive lounge.

Despite the unpleasant concierge arrangement, I would highly recommended this hotel for those who like to enjoy the food at Penang and enjoy the sea view without the bustling roads or traffic jam like Tanjung Bungah.

Room Tip: Noise level from others room can be quite clearly heard. Request a quiet room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TV6363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this beautiful hotel for 3 nights. We stayed in the Victory Annexe which is the newer and more contemporary wing. It is a seperate building to the heritage wing with seperate entrance and lobby. Having visited both we preferred the newer building and the room was just lovely. Very relaxing. We stayed in room 909 and could not fault it. If we're being really picky, the bed was a little hard but this didn't bother us really. The pool is a lovely L shaped infinity pool with very comfortable sun loungers and good poolside service. The food was very good. Breakfast in Sarkies is very busy although there is a huge range of choice. Our personal preference was to have breakfast in Planters Lounge, less selection of local dishes but it suited us better and was far more calm and relaxing. The daily hour of complimentary canapés and alcoholic drinks was a nice touch (I'm not sure they saw us coming with the offer of complimentary Gin & Tonic!!). There was plenty to explore from the hotel and it was no trouble to arrange for us a private driver to take us wherever we wanted to go across the island for half a day which was great. The service in the hotel was very good. It was a small shame that some families do not know how to control their noisy children when others are trying to relax whether it be in the hotel lobby or by the pool, but this is not a fault of the hotel. Of course, if it were possible to create a seperate children's pool away from the adults pool, this would help. Overall,we loved this hotel, we'd recommend it to couples and families with older children. With a 80min flight from Singapore, we hope to return very soon.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoGarethB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I having my honeymoon stay here, they give a lot of surprises and also put lot of roses pedal to decorate our room & bathroom. They give us a cake of surprise too, I thought it's arrange by my husband but no, it's all did by E&O hotel, what a lovely hotel. =)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tristatoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.4 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 84 in George Town
784 reviews
1.9 mi away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#12 of 84 in George Town
384 reviews
2.0 mi away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#17 of 84 in George Town
1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#2 of 84 in George Town
508 reviews
6.9 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
7.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
3,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastern & Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Property: Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Address: 10 Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in George Town
#2 Family Hotel in George Town
#2 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#3 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Eastern & Oriental Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eastern & Oriental Hotel is the embodiment of both a special time and a special place. For well over a century, this remarkable hotel - known simply as 'The E&O' to generations of travellers - has stood as a testament to the grand elegance of the British colonial era. In many ways, it has also come to represent Penang itself; its story inextricably woven into the island's history, its traditions an indelible part of many a traveller's treasured memory, its name synonymous with the magical island once known as The Pearl Of the Orient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eastern & Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastern And Oriental Hotel
Eastern Oriental Georgetown
Eastern & Oriental Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing