We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 Night Stay with great sea view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Evergreen Laurel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Ranked #26 of 82 Hotels in George Town
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“3 Night Stay with great sea view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

We stay 3 nights in this hotel after reviewing some of the hotels in Penang.
We were very happy that we were able to get a room on the 10th floor with great sea view.
The location was good with short walking distance to Gurney Plaza and Gurney Paragon.
The famous Gurney food stalls were just a short distance away from Gurney Plaza.
The breakfast was great with many choices to choose.
Some of the TV channels reception were really poor !
Last but not least, we found that the hotel was not professional enough in that they put the newspaper on the floor outside the room instead of putting in a plastics bag and hang at the door handle.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lucky_scorpion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    356
    180
    33
    21
See reviews for
204
179
62
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
101 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Rooms are spacious if you book yourself into a Deluxe room. You need to ensure if you want a King sized bed to notify the hotel earlier. The rooms are clean and spacious. Best if you get a sea facing room.

Location wise, it is along Gurney. You will need 10 to 30 minutes (depending if you brisk walk or stroll) to where the shopping and hawker centre is which is along the same road. Lots of food nearby so you won't have to worry about getting hungry.

There is no beach front where you are go for a swim. That you will find along Batu Ferringhi. Only thing about the security, whilst you have a key card it is not necessary when you get into the lifts, so that means access to the rooms is open to anyone. So exercise a bit of caution.

Otherwise, it is a good place to stay where service is also very pleasant and fast.

Room Tip: Sea facing deluxe. Ensure you ask for a King Size bed ahead of time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purple_dots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Served by May at front counter, nice and friendly lady. Room is clean and spacious. Free apples and soft drinks in the refrigerator. Nearby shopping mall and lots of food around(price maybe more expensive as it is a tourist area. Unfortunately there was a blackout for abt half and hour and May call me to check on me and apologized. Breakfast is just standard and nothing special. Overall great stay!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Room are nice, front desk great but the room service and house keeping....terrible terrible!!!!! Room are served without towels, when call them, phone not working and need to connect yourself, then it took 4 calls and 1 hour and counting for them to bring me fresh towels.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Luxurious hotel, comfortable & clean with good facilities. Not very quiet - doors allowed to close by themselves are always audible, as is the sound of heavy feet & furniture being moved in the apartment directly above.
Service was professional but short of friendly (except for one of the doormen!). Wide selection of foods for breakfast.
Hotel is opposite the beach but some distance from the city & other attractions so either need to know the bus routes or take taxis. We found bus drivers (2) we met were unhelpful.

Room Tip: we stayed in s Superior room facing the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is ok for short stay (not more than 2 days). It has strategic location (close to Gurney Drive), big and clean room and affordable price for 4th star hotel. However, the decors are outdated and need urgent renovation. We would only consider another visit after renovation

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Sigarfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

stayed for a night at Evergreen Laurel Hotel for our family trip, friendly staff, excellent service, big room with comfy beds, nice seaview from our room, welcome drink and apples for us in our room, convenient location, 20min walking distance to Gurney Paragon and Gurney plaza, 30min walk to Gurney Hawker centre / night market, famous bah-kut-teh just next to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaMok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.7 mi away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#16 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Northam All Suite Penang
The Northam All Suite Penang
#38 of 82 in George Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.6 mi away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#12 of 82 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences
2.0 mi away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#17 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Laurel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Laurel Hotel

Property: Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Address: Evergreen Laurel Hotel 53 Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in George Town
#10 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Evergreen Laurel Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotelopia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia and TravelUp so you can book your Evergreen Laurel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Laurel Georgetown
Hotel Evergreen Laurel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing