We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If it's not in the SOP, it's not on!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Ranked #23 of 82 Hotels in George Town
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“If it's not in the SOP, it's not on!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

If there was ever a hotel that put Standard Operating Procedures (SOP) ahead of customer service based on common sense, this is it! Nothing happens unless it's in management's guidelines. For example, you can be on the Club Floor, but unless you 'register', you are not entitled to the privileges. Why? Because that's what it says in the SOP.

Your company can do a group booking and pay up front, but each guest must pay the recently introduced Statre Government Tax ($1), indivudually, for which the hotel issues a handwritten receipt! The SOP doesn't say the hotel can charge the new tax to the company.

To add to all this, nothing seems to work. The lifts don't work, so be prepared to climb 10 floors (if the lift operator is not on duty). The trainee waiters hit your ears with their trays as they serve coffee. Breakfast is barely palatable. The list goes on...

With such a choice of hotels in Penang, give this one a big miss!

Room Tip: Don't bother looking for good rooms. Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay552013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotelGP, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang!

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback, as it is precisely through such comments that we are able to improve and remain true to our committed effort of serving guests in our utmost capacity.

Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you had experienced in terms of the service level and other shortcomings, which failed to meet your expectations. In many instances, if only our associates were more tactful, perhaps you'll be more delighted. However, we assure you that we shall strive to further improve and heightened the level of our customer service.

We would like to thank you again for your kind understanding and support despite the shortcomings and for taking time to write to us.

We sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to redeem ourselves in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    692
    264
    94
    43
See reviews for
348
314
73
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Booked three rooms and stayed in this hotel for 4D3N, Asked for arranged three rooms on the same floor at five months ago by E-mail, but not available to get. At check in night, we went to the front desk for request again, reception staff impolitely and firmly rejected without our requirements, after several debates, they promised to arrange for us after day.
Unfortunately, there were still not to change on the next day , and the rooms were not cleaning.
So we are looking for Duty Manager complaints, although he can get arrangements to ensure that after day, but we have lost confidence in this hotel,so we did not accept him any guarantee.
Receptionist poor work attitude.
If we visit to Penang again ,we will not chooes your hotel.

Room Tip: Lower floors are better. Because the passenger lifts often non stop and have to wait 5-10 minutes,t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ken6082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotelGP, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown, Penang!

In response to your comments of your recent stay at our Hotel, it is with my deepest regret and profuse concern over the issue highlighted that had caused so much inconvenience to you and your family.

Please accept our sincere apologies in view of your unpleasant experience with us that fail short of your expectations. We have reviewed the issue and our team have taken necessary action to ensure that said issues were addressed and rectified immediately.

Again, please accept my sincere apologies and we would like to emphasize and reassure that what you had experienced is certainly not the reflection of our standards of service. I sincerely hope that you will not allow this incident to mar your impression of us.

Thank you again for your kind understanding and we value your support. We look forward to be of service to you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Sunway hotel have newly renovation , I happily planed my business trip at Penang , but end up COMPLETELY DISAPPOINTMENT .
I booked a suite room , they assigned room 1602 to me and it cost me RM 850.00 before tax . First I walk in the room. Room look nice but too too hot , I switch on the living area air cond. but the sleeping room air cond is not working. They sent tech team to fix , unfortunately wasted my time and couldn't fix so they change my room to 1601 . It happen the same. I couldn't sleep the whole night cause nomatter how is adjust , room temp is 24c for sleeping room consider warm . the living room temp is 20c normal but the sofa is too small to bed . Sigh.... Suffering whole night in that HOT BEDROOM , worse meeting next day due to not enough sleep.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank nelsonnyew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
136 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Booked two rooms and stayed in this hotel for 4D3N starting on a Monday. Asked for adjoining room but not available because the hotel was fully booked. If you drive, pls be aware that you cannot reach the hotel via New Lane from Jalan MacAlister in the evening because the road will be converted into one-way street to facilitate street hawker activities.

Was really unlucky because the last two days of our trip in a row, the lift was having some technical issues - unable to control using the key-card and need for their security personnel to manually control the lift movement - definitely a let down!

Be aware that the Penang local government imposed a tax of RM$3 per night per room. WIFI connectivity was relatively poor - might be because we were given the last room at the corner of Level 6.

Breakfast had the usual stuffs (nasi lemak, noodles, porridge, egg/bread station, etc) with acceptable varieties. The street food (New Lane Hawker Center) is just a min walk from the hotel and they closed on every Wed. In case you need to buy some drinks/milks /tidbits, there is a 7-11 store just a short walk towards left as you exit the hotel front door.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KM_SGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I wasn't expecting much from the hotel as I booked it for its location but what a fantastic surprise it was! I booked 3 rooms for my family and all 3 rooms were spotlessly clean, carpets soft and impeccably clean, beds were comfortable and firm, towels and sheets always fresh and white. The room amenities were great as well - they gave each person extra pillows, and a full set of toiletries like a comb, shower cap, sewing kit etc. They were even showing live world cup matches in every room! The view we had was of the majestic Penang Hill looming over the quaint little Georgetown.

The hotel is also in the best location possible. Just 2 minutes from the lobby were delectable hawker coffee shops that transform from selling piping hot breakfasts in the morning to a bustling street with fantastic hawker food in the evenings. There was also a local dessert shop just across the street with homemade local Chinese desserts, and within 10 minutes you could walk to a glorious dim sum eating house that has the most colourful and freshly made spread of dim sum I have ever seen in my life. At night that place morphs into a steamboat restaurant. The internationally hailed Lorong Selamat char kway teow is also just a 10 minute walk away.

Besides being situated near the best eating spots in Georgetown, the hotel was also surrounded by places of interest within 5 minutes of walking time such as the Penang State Museum, Sun Yat Sen Centre and Our Lady of Sorrows Church. Shopping was also just 10 minutes away with First Avenue Mall, Prangin Mall, Times Square nearby. I honestly couldn't ask for more and will definitely be back again to stay.

Thanks for the splendid experience!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alittelostalien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Ideal for family. Centrally located. Proximity to food and shopping.
Skip the breakfast (from hotel) and go downstairs for some delicious street food.

Macalister Road is just 5min walk, offering tons of supper option.
We felt safe in this Hotel and surrounding.

Within 15min walk, we can cover nearby shopping malls. Gama, Parkson Pragnin, 1st Avenue and even Komtar.

Bedroom was comfortable, choose the city facing room.
The only complain is the small pool.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing Georgetown city skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andylee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Despited our Deluxe Club Room is a mere 28 sq meter .. we found it was just perfect. The room are clean & well equipped. Wifi was free. Breakfast at the Club Lounge was good but the choice was just average. Elevator & Hotel CCTV security were top notch. However, car parking area .... security was extremely bad with poor lighting. Since it was a family holiday, we booked two rooms with earlier reservation for adjoining ( One King & One Twin ) was requested. However, upon check in ... we weren't given the rooms what was requested. Reservation blamed Front Office for the oversight. We didnt get our choice of rooms during our stay ... ending up getting two rooms with twin beds for our family!! Elevator operational for all the 3 elevators were downed during our 3 days there, we have to wait quite a while to go to the lobby. I sincerely hope, someone in the upper management take their work seriously and dont spoilt this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Fauzi I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#24 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
GLOW Penang
GLOW Penang
#21 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#17 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cititel Penang
Cititel Penang
#20 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang

Property: Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Address: 33 New Lane (Off Macalister | (Off Macalister Road), George Town, Penang Island 10400, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in George Town
#10 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the vibrant city life and heritage charms of GeorgeTown, Penang, Sunway Hotel Georgetown Is the preferred 4-star hotel for business and leisure travelers to the Pearl of the Orient. It is easily accessible to major commercial and business hubs as well as the numerous tourist attractions and farmed hawkers centres. The iconic Penang Bridge, Ferry Terminal and the Penang Internation Airport are just a short drive from the hotel. Sunway Hotel Georgetown has the honour of being location in a UNESCO World Heritage site as well as within walking distance from the renowned KOMTAR Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing