We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Ranked #23 of 82 Hotels in George Town
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Close to shopping and great food out let's..very good staff at hotel..not far to the Jetty and old historic town.. bus terminal and 1st avenue shopping complex..good value hotel with excellent breakfast

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank glenn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    691
    264
    93
    43
See reviews for
348
311
73
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Darwin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We had a nice stay at Sunway Hotel in Georgetown.

The hotel is clean, the rooms are comfortable, and the pool and gym are good. However the thing we enjoyed most about this hotel was the location.

We went to Penang for the food, and we can definitely say that the Sunway Hotel offers great access to first class street food, with a fabulous Hawkers Market literally next door.

We ended up eating very enjoyable breakfasts away from the hotel, because the included hotel breakfast was not enjoyable (and rarely topped up, leaving us scraping empty pots/plates, especially fruit) and the service was fairly poor (having to clean our own table, and retrieve our own cutlery the three times we ate there, while staff just watched) We gave up on that, but thoroughly enjoyed the street food close by.

Besides check-in and check-out we had nothing to do with the reception staff, neither experience was friendly, but staff were efficient enough which was fine.

Housekeeping did a great job of maintaining rooms.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Sunway Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlexinKal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

the lobby is simple but it looks nice, however the reception is not very friendly
the room is quite big and have nice design,and bed is comfortable
however we felt the air con is too cold, so that we have to turn it off and on.
there are many food stalls or hawker center in the hotel surrounding.
especially at night and we can say the foods were good as a comparison to the other hawker food in other area.
there is one ba kut teh restaurant nearby and was good as well.
getting a taxi is also easy in front of the hotel.
overall it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luwie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I am the member of Sunway International Vacation Club. it is at the strategic location & convenient to move about. The Check in & Check out staffs are friendy but the management did a very funny act. They made the car park exit counter attendents to record & guests to sign on the check list every time the guests driving out. that inconvenient Guests & unneccessary. a new renoveted rooms are very much better to stay now.....

Room Tip: Higher & non smoking floor. There is room for inconvenience people which you may not want to che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotelGP, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown, Penang!

We are delighted to acknowledge that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel during your recent trip to Penang.

Nonetheless, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused as the measures taken were part of our safety and security initiatives. We appreciate your constructive comments and we shall review the process for further improvement.

Thank you for your kind understanding and support despite the shortcomings and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to Penang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We reached the hotel on 15 jul at 10 plus in the morning. Checked in at 11am as we were told room was not ready. Though they indicated check in time was 3pm, as long as they hv the room they do allow early check in. Great customer service. Clean room. Location was accessible to good food. Should try the wan tan mee and the tau sah piah on the right of the hotel. Thumbs up!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Vannique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotelGP, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown, Penang!

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience during your recent stay with us in Penang.

We are delighted to learn that all arrangements and services extended during your stay with us met your expectations.

Meanwhile, we thank you for your past patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to Penang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

One of the reason we chose to stay in Sunway Hotel Georgetown was the strategic location. The hotel is nearby to most shopping malls, eateries places, and murals. For instance, within 3 minutes walking distance, you can reach Penang Times Square shopping mall, a McDonald with very nice exterior design, craving for food at New Lane Hawker Stalls. While shopping malls like KOMTAR, Prangin Mall, and 1st Avenue are just within 10 to 15 minutes walking distance.

Within 10 minutes driving distance, you can reach Georgetown heritage zone, including hunting to take photos with most famous murals (popular activity even within the locals).

New Lane Hawker Street are just downstairs. Nevertheless, most food are just so-so only. You can easily find cheaper but more delicious food in other places of Georgetown. For example, there is a har mee (prawn noodles) stall called Ah Soon Kor Har Mee in Sim Kim San Coffee Shop along Macalister Road, which is just within 5 minutes walking distance, and they sell very delicious har mee. Price starts from RM5 per bowl.

Back to review on this hotel. I believe the hotel has just renovated not long ago. It may look nothing special from outside, but it gave us a good impression when we first step into the hotel lobby. It looked new with modern interior design, very clean, staffs at front desk looked professional, always smiles, polite, and very friendly. We were welcomed by complimentary drinks, although not really tasty, but we appreciated this service. Initially we were given a room at 5th floor. But we came down to lobby in 5 minutes to request for higher floor just for a better view and to avoid potential noisy environment at night (note: New Lane Hawker Street gets lively at night). Without showing any poker face nor asking any question, the front desk staff quickly allowed our request and arranged a room at 9th floor to us. After we entered our new room, in 5 minutes, the phone rang, a hotel staff called us to ask if the room is fine for us and offer to press for 0 to dial to operator whenever required. We were really surprised by this type of service level shown by this hotel. We often travels but I bet not many hotels in Malaysia will react the same if the same situation happen. The hotel is rated 3-star if not mistaken, but their staffs are showing 5-star service to their guests. Good job, really.

We stayed in Deluxe Room. Our room was very spacious and clean. Just that the bed was a bit too hard. There was a table and a mirror available in room but it was far apart. We feel that the mirror should be placed in front of the table though. For bathroom, water pressure was a bit too low. Other than that, we found our room comfortable, good sound proofing, and we slept well throughout our 3D2N stays.

We booked our hotel through Agoda.com without breakfast option, so can't provide comment on the food offered by Sunway Hotel. The cafe is just besides check-in front desk.

We feel secured too as you need to insert your room card for you to proceed to the floor you stay, otherwise you can only access to lobby, car park and level 3. There are a small but nice swimming pool, outdoor jacuzzi, and a gym available at level 3.

Car park is located within the hotel at level 1 and 2. No issue for us. Every time we go out and come back, we can easily find empty lot to park our car. It's free of charge for hotel guests. You just need to show your parking voucher (get it from front desk staff during check-in) during exits. Nevertheless, I suggest hotel management to renovate the car park too to make it looks newer and cleaner.

Not to forget a small incident that happened on us. We once forgot to take both of our room cards while leaving our room. We went down to lobby to tell problem that we were facing. The front desk staff smiles and calmed us not to worry. She asked my name for verification and then gave us another card. I quickly went up and took out our original room cards from our room and then returned the 3rd card to the same front desk staff. It was funny when we heard her asking if there's any problem on the spare card. We just told her no issue, we have took back our original room cards, and thanked her a lot. This small incident shown that hotel staffs are helpful and take initiative to care for their guests (i.e. asked if there is any problem on the spare card).

One comment on the housekeeping. On day 2, when we backed to our hotel room at around 2:30pm, we were shocked that our room has not been housekeep. We saw a housekeeping staff were just besides our room doing his job so we just asked him to clean our room next and we have to go somewhere else until our room has been housekeep. We believe this area can be improved. Need more efficiency in housekeeping.

Room Tip: Since there is a hawker street downstairs, request a room at higher floor to avoid potential noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank padawan0223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotelGP, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown, Penang!

Thank you for your kind words on our hotel facilities, services and sharing your experience of the hotel's interesting surrounding as well. It is indeed heartening to know that you had an enjoyable time in Penang. I have also shared your encouraging comments with my team here and they are equally delighted to acknowledge of your wonderful experience with us.

I regret to note that our Housekeeping service fell short and rather disappointing. I apologize and emphasized that it was not at all intentional. Nonetheless, you have my assurance that I will personally address this issue with my team for immediate improvement.

Thank you for your kind understanding. We unreservedly value your support and we look forward to be of service to you again in the near future.


Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

I stayed in this hotel last year October (I know it's too late). I stayed at many 4-star hotels but this is the best hotel I ever stayed at. It was super neat, cozy and brand new. I didn't feel like going out of my hotel room. I will definitely stay at this hotel on my next trip.

Complaint: Attitude of the front desk people was really bad. I was very much annoyed at the staff's "you already paid, stay or get out" attitide at 11PM at the time of check-in. I think this is where those traditional 4-star hotel are good at.

Room Tip: any room is fine but don't miss the breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n3n_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotelGP, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang!

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback, as it is precisely through such comments that we are able to improve and remain true to our committed effort of serving guests in our utmost capacity.

Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you had experienced in terms of the service level or otherwise we believe that you'd have really enjoy your stay with us.

Nevertheless, you have our assurance that we will constantly strive to further improve and heightened the level of our customer service.

We would like to thank you again for your kind understanding and support despite the shortcomings and for taking time to write to us.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#24 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.3 mi away
GLOW Penang
GLOW Penang
#22 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#16 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
0.7 mi away
Cititel Penang
Cititel Penang
#20 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang

Property: Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Address: 33 New Lane (Off Macalister | (Off Macalister Road), George Town, Penang Island 10400, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in George Town
#10 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the vibrant city life and heritage charms of GeorgeTown, Penang, Sunway Hotel Georgetown Is the preferred 4-star hotel for business and leisure travelers to the Pearl of the Orient. It is easily accessible to major commercial and business hubs as well as the numerous tourist attractions and farmed hawkers centres. The iconic Penang Bridge, Ferry Terminal and the Penang Internation Airport are just a short drive from the hotel. Sunway Hotel Georgetown has the honour of being location in a UNESCO World Heritage site as well as within walking distance from the renowned KOMTAR Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing