We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel away from the crowd” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Northam All Suite Penang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Northam All Suite Penang
Ranked #37 of 82 Hotels in George Town
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
152 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good hotel away from the crowd”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

This hotel is great for people who want to get away from the crowd. It is not too far from Gurney Drive hawker food, you can get a cab or enjoy a slow walk along the shady coastal road. There are nice eateries along the way if you choose to try them. There is a foot reflexology place midway along the way if you need to relax your tired legs after a whole day of sightseeing. The hotel is clean and quiet, the infinity pool on the 9th floor is a perfect place to relax and enjoy the sea view. For supper, just head across the road to the Northam Beach cafe to enjoy a wide range of local food at a good price. You can arrange for a cab at the front desk, the rate is fair so there is no fear of a ripoff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view if you want to catch the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnWong56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthamMIS, General Manager at The Northam All Suite Penang, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear John Wong,

We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and Gurney Drive is just Next Road to us.

We look forward to Welcoming You again.

From,
Anthony Ang
General Manager
The Northam All Suite Penang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    193
    122
    36
    35
See reviews for
161
115
29
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
110 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

First impression - the hotel room was HUGE. This is the largest hotel room I've stayed in for only 100usd... so worth it! Frankly, we were worried after reading some negative reviews about service/it being run-down, but still decided to try it out and loving it now!

Soooo many things we liked about it other than the size:
1. DECO - some say it's dated, I'd say it's charming. We love the rattan furniture and peranakan-style ceiling fan. The bathroom was grand with the marble tiles, double sinks and jacuzzi. By the way, the jacuzzi worked well and is rather spacious for two... EXCEPT for some tiny black particles from the water vent. Time to clean the pipes!

2. BED - Huge too. Well we didn't realize it was made up of two super singles until the 2nd day when we flipped the sheets. I guessed the thick and comfy sheets did their job.

3. VIEW - everyday's sunrises were so beautiful through the full-glass windows. We could see the full stretch of the sea. There was a traditional but locked house between the hotel and the sea. We checked it out, and discovered that it was the "Penang house" of the Sultan of Kedah! WOW.

4. POOL - this was one of the few hotel pools I wanted to visit every morning. Infinity pool to a gorgeous view from the 9th floor with constant sea breezes that made me feel like I was swimming in the sea. Love it.

5. LOCATION - walkable to Gurney, Ivy's Peranakan Kitchen, Northam Beach Cafe. Did anyone mention it yet? Northam Beach Cafe's just 100 metres opposite the hotel. It's an open-air coffee shop place size of a football field, and it was cooler than the famous Long Beach Cafe at Batu Ferringhi - with more variety of food and directly along the sea... you can't enter the sea though, it's a few metres down!

6. SERVICE - had to wait to get the room I wanted (highest floor for non-smoking, king bed, corner). Waited an hour at the lounge (1 to 2pm), and the staff, Masrini, was nice to offer me other rooms during the hour, but I insisted. In the end she got me the room I wanted. Think their problem was that their housekeeping can't cope (clean fast enough) with their full capacity. Full capacity - that kinda means they are pretty popular?


Didn't try the breakfast though... Penang has too many nice foods to waste a meal eating hotel food. Head out for the real good Penang food, people!

Room Tip: Anything above 30th floor. Non-smoking. And get that Junior Suite for just 10usd more per night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryyeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthamMIS, General Manager at The Northam All Suite Penang, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear maryyeo,

I am so happy to read about many things you liked and enjoyed during your stay in our Northam All Suite Hotel.

Our Huge Bedroom, our Rattan Furniture, Peranakan-style Ceiling Fan, Double Sink and Jacuzzi, Bathroom, Huge bed, Beautiful Sunrise from the room through our full glass window and opposite our hotel, the Penang House of the Sultan of Kedah.

You enjoyed our swimming pool at the 9th floor and the convenient location of our hotel.

Now, the GM would like to meet you and Thank You during your next stay with us.

From,
Anthony Ang
General Manager
The Northam All Suite Penang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

I stayed here from 13 July - 15 July 2013. During check in, the staff took a while thought i gave her my printout. Then she said only smoking room avail though i reserved non-smoking rm but no prob for me. Then, during my booking request, i did mensioned that its my sister's bday and will be good if the hotel would hv sth to surprise her, like a cake. But nothing was done and i even mentioned to the staff but she just smiled at me. Guess she did nt understand what i said. A bit disappointing. The room was good n we had 36th floor. Good view facing the sea. Comfortable bed. Breakfast was was good. Swimming pool at 9th floor overseeing the sea was great. Walkable to Gurney drive, 20-25min & can take bus from hotel area to little india or penang rd. Also can buy Biscuit Tambun from Tean Ean shop which is 5 min walk from hotel. Good Price. Must try Nasi Kandar from Line Clear located at Penang Road. Went to Batu Ferringi.(Can take bus from komtar or taxi RM30) The sea sports are fixed rates controlled by gvernt. Good.Can eat in 'I love you' or ' long beach'. The nite market there is a long stretch of shops selling almost the same things. Price abit high.. Need to bargin.. Can rather buy from penang road or little india. Many historical place as well as food places in Little India. A good trip.

Room Tip: Sea view is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dev_2126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthamMIS, General Manager at The Northam All Suite Penang, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Dev,

We sincerely apologies for the birthday cake issue.

However, it's very nice to hear that your overall stay in Penang has been a very enjoyable one.

From,
Anthony Ang
General Manager
The Northam All Suite Penang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

- Stayed in Junior Suite for a night.
- Room is spacious and big.
- Equipped with Jacuzzi. But the jacuzzi is seemed like not working well.
- "Big" sized bed. But is combination of two single bed.
- Seaview room. Enjoyed it especially early morning.
- Parking design is very weird. But lot of space available.
- Breakfast is standard. Western and Asian foods is available.
- Service is so so. Slow check in but fast check out.

Room Tip: Ask for a Sea View Room. Nice view from Top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken Sheng W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthamMIS, General Manager at The Northam All Suite Penang, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear Ken Sheng W,

We thank you for your comments and glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to Welcoming You again to The Northam All Suite Penang.


From,
Anthony Ang
General Manager
The Northam All Suite Penang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

By reading your review and respond from you ,tat why I have already booked
3 night stay hope I will receive the good stay with your hotel,Thanks

The Northam All Suite Penang

55, Jalan Sultan Ahmad Shah, Georgetown, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia

Rdgs

Lam W K (Singapore)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
Thank Doggy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthamMIS, General Manager at The Northam All Suite Penang, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Mr Lam,

I look forward to Welcome You on 25/8/13 and hope we have a chance to say "Hello" to each other.

From,
Anthony Ang
General Manager
The Northam All Suite Penang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

There were a few missing items in the room (toothbrushes, hand towels) when we checked in. Had to call the housekeeping a few times when we discovered this.
Safe in the room was low in battery which we did not use it in the end.
TV remote control was spoilt, asked for a replacement which did not happened.
During 1 of the days, the room was not made up from 11am to 5pm despite putting the "Make up room" sign at the door.
Shower head had a cracked that leaked water.
Breakfast variety is so so.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank x_rev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthamMIS, General Manager at The Northam All Suite Penang, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear x_rev,

We have taken note of your comments during your stay with us and I am looking into it seriously.

I can be contacted at 012-4816556 and would like to find out more from you.

From,
Anthony Ang
General Manager
The Northam All Suite Penang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Location
Good location, close to seaside, about 15 - 20 minutes walk from Gurney drive (5 minutes to the road, another 15 minutes to the are full with food stalls). There's a food court (seaside) opposite of the hotel, although is has a lot of food stalls and choices, but they're just average.

Room & hotel
The Deluxe Suite is very spacious, a living area with sofa and coffee table, a dining area with dining table, a study/work area with study/work table. In addition to the toilet attached to the bedroom, there's another toilet (guest toilet) at the main entrance as well, so your guest can use it and not entering your bedroom. It is clean and tidy, but looks a bit old. No smell. The bed is a bit hard, but still in acceptable level. The aircond is very cold, even though we try to turn up the temperature, but it seems not helping.

The access to the carpark is by staircase only, no lift, if you park at the highest floor (Eg. 5th floor), you'll need to walk all the way up and down. If you have heavy or lots of luggage, it is best to drop off at the main entrance, then proceed to park the car. The parking is free for hotel guest, but need to bring the parking ticket to reception for stamping.

Service
The service is OK, check-in and check-out is quick. Due to a specific personal condition, we need a carpark without much walk, the reception has kindly reserved a parking lot for us infront of the main entrance.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthamMIS, General Manager at The Northam All Suite Penang, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Peter C,

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Looking forward to Welcoming You again to the Northam All Suite Penang.


From,
Anthony Ang
General Manager
The Northam All Suite Penang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
#26 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences
1.7 mi away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#17 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
1.0 mi away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#16 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Northam All Suite Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Northam All Suite Penang

Property: The Northam All Suite Penang
Address: 55 Jalan Sultan Ahmad Shah, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in George Town
#13 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Northam All Suite Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northam All Suite, Penang is strategically located in the heart of Penang's commercial and leisure district. The hotel offers easy access to the city's historical and cultural landmarks. The spacious suites, refined with homely earth tone finishings, Jacuzzi and modern amenities will pamper your every whim.The 142 splendidly furnished and cozy suites are replete with opulent accommodations complete with panoramic views of the iridescent sea. Watch the sky light up in a glorious sunrise or end the evening with the sunset as day turns to dusk. This is a stay in ultimate indulgence. The Hotel is located in the heart of the new business and commercial district and less than five minutes away from all major shopping complexes and Gurney Drive. It is 20 km away from the Penang International Airport, approximately 20 minutes by road or 4 hours drive via the North-South Expressway from Malaysia's capital city, Kuala Lumpur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Northam All Suite Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northam All Hotel Georgetown
Northam All Suite Georgetown
Northam All Suite Hotel Georgetown
The Northam All Suite Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing