We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Northam All Suite Penang
Ranked #44 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Bad customer service”
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my family as we thought is convenient to go around in penang. We checked in without any issues. But once we are in the room we found out there was no electricity. Called front desk who got a technician to fix the dodgy electrics works fine for a few hours only to stop working again. The cycle continue events the electricity stopped working in the middle of the night so we were without air conditioning and lights all night. Needless to say in the morning I requested another room. This process was no easy as I was hanged up on all the time by the rude front desk. Bottom line is avoid this hotel, breakfast is nothing special, dodgy electrics will leave u without ac and lights, rude staff treats you like a non paying guest!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FarrahErwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    204
    127
    42
    39
See reviews for
175
126
30
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The night duty manager was kind enough to give us a room at 7:30am as we arrived at the hotel at 6:30am on Saturday, 9th November. We had a junior suite located on the 26th floor and it had a living area with rattan chairs, a writing table and of course a tv.

We had 2 single beds and another tv in the room. Overall, the staff were friendly and the service was good.

The hotel is located a good 20-minute walk from the famed Gurney Drive (open air food area).

Room Tip: Request for room at a high floor and a view of the city or the sea. Its just superb as the windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GCF11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
621 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 479 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

As I usually come here for work, I don't really have huge expectations. Its just a place for me to crash after a long & tiring day of back to back meetings. Northam All Suite is under the same management as Gurney Hotel. Both hotels are equally old and in dire need of a serious refurbishment. The floor boards in the room is usually tainted with water stains & the Jacuzzi usually do not work as it should. The rooms are huge though but a lot of the fittings needs to be replaced. I do personally find the cleanliness of the room a slight issue & hopefully the housekeeping can be improved in future.

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank D_Jekyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel is okay if you are not after a five star hotel. The location is pretty good however we usually took a cab into Georgetown. You can walk it and it but it takes around 30min. There are great food spots around the hotel. Some hotel staff were really helpful, but some were just pushing the taxi service. We were little bit disappointed when we asked how to get to the National Park and the manager on duty said there is no bus stop close by, to find out 5min later by googling, that a bus stop is located just behind the hotel... Not impressed. The pool area is shaded and the spa centre .. well for the price we paid I've had much better massage!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dusica_sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I come to Penang quite often for work. Most of the time, i just want a nice room to stay in while having to travel away from home. Northam has been just that. For an affordable price, you are presented with a suite which has 2 bathrooms, 2 televisions, a jacuzzi in the main spacious bathroom, a living area. a sea view that is pretty nice and a comfy king size bed. This hotel is also very near to all the attractions of the city and it can easily access the highway too. Location is good.

True, Northam is quite an old hotel but it doesn't feel like it. The rooms will make you forget all about it. I only have one complain though - The parking lot does not have a lift. You will need to use the staircase to go up and down to the lobby and the carpark which can be a bit tiring. Especially if you go out quite often while you're staying there.

Nevertheless, i've stayed in Northam for quite a few times in the past and i will probably be coming back to this hotel soon in the future. If you want a room that will give you value for your money, this is the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MdAzamMdFuat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Northam All... P, General Manager at The Northam All Suite Penang, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear En Md Azam Md Fuat,

We are indeed very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us, all these time.

We can arrange for your car to be parked in our Front Porch area during your next trip so that it will be convenient for you to go in-and-out of the hotel.

We look forward to Welcoming you Back to the Northam All Suite, in the near future.

Thank you for your nice comments.

Anthony Ang
General Manager
The Northam All Suite, Penang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I do my research in tripadvisor for my overseas trip, then it hit me to check on places I frequent locally. To see what foreigners have to say about places that I know at the back of my hand. After reading the numerous reviews on the Northam All Suite, I have to say this. All the good reviews are true. And all the lousy ones are not accurate. I have stayed at the Northam on countless occasions in the last ten years and they are the best in term of value for your money. The Northam is not a resort hotel or a place to spent your honeymoon. It is an excellent business/family hotel sited on one of the best locations in Penang that charges you a small fee for a great room with all the modern amenities. There is a hotel further down the road in Gurney Drive that charges you 3 times more for a room of equal standard.....Singapore prices .....there you go. For people that complaint about this hotel, there is a saying in Penang - "bullock cart wheel" or "Gu Chia Lian" in Hokkian. It means their 5 cents is about the same size of a bullock cart wheel. I wish the Northam success for years to come.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uncle888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Northam All... P, General Manager at The Northam All Suite Penang, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Uncle 888,

We are indeed very honoured and pleased to read all the good comments on our
Northam All Suite Hotel, and the fact that you have been staying with us for the last 10 years.

We are also amused on your comment that compared 5 cents to “Bullock Cart Wheel” or
“Gu Chia Lian” in Hokkien.

My staffs and I would like to Thank You from the bottom of our heart.

Uncle 888, we hope we have a chance to meet you in person.

From,
Anthony Ang
General Manager
The Northam All Suite Penang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed in the Northam All Suite Penang for one night at the end of a tour of Malaysia,
The hotel was lovely, with stylish rooms and furniture.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
We ordered room service , which ame promptly and was tasty and well presented.
The only downside was the sparse menu .
The view from our room was spectacular.
We would certainly return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mari461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Northam All... P, General Manager at The Northam All Suite Penang, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Mari461

We thank you for your comments and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward of Welcoming You Back to The Northam All Suite Hotel, Penang

From,
Anthony Ang
General Manager
The Northam All Suite Hotel, Penang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
#27 of 84 in George Town
767 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences Penang
1.7 mi away
Royale Chulan Penang
Royale Chulan Penang
#17 of 84 in George Town
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.0 mi away
VOUK Hotel Suite Penang
VOUK Hotel Suite Penang
#38 of 84 in George Town
56 reviews
1.0 mi away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#15 of 84 in George Town
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Northam All Suite Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Northam All Suite Penang

Property: The Northam All Suite Penang
Address: 55 Jalan Sultan Ahmad Shah, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in George Town
#14 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Northam All Suite Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northam All Suite, Penang is strategically located in the heart of Penang's commercial and leisure district. The hotel offers easy access to the city's historical and cultural landmarks. The spacious suites, refined with homely earth tone finishings, Jacuzzi and modern amenities will pamper your every whim.The 142 splendidly furnished and cozy suites are replete with opulent accommodations complete with panoramic views of the iridescent sea. Watch the sky light up in a glorious sunrise or end the evening with the sunset as day turns to dusk. This is a stay in ultimate indulgence. The Hotel is located in the heart of the new business and commercial district and less than five minutes away from all major shopping complexes and Gurney Drive. It is 20 km away from the Penang International Airport, approximately 20 minutes by road or 4 hours drive via the North-South Expressway from Malaysia's capital city, Kuala Lumpur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Northam All Suite Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northam All Hotel Georgetown
Northam All Suite Georgetown
Northam All Suite Hotel Georgetown
The Northam All Suite Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing