We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice View, Nice Location, Nice Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Northam All Suite Penang
Ranked #46 of 87 Hotels in George Town
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Booking this hotel using ebookers.com and get special discount price. Stayed for 1 night and this Hotel is very good. Easy parking and spacious space for parking if you drive your car.

A room also very nice with jacuzzi inside your room. Please take a sea-view room and if you luck you can see Star Cruise ship on Sunday and Friday if not mistaken.

The only problem is breakfast where not so much varieties at all.

Overall experience here was good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mielong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (533)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

252 - 258 of 534 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

We booked the Family suite for 4 days for my family and my mother in-law.
The hotel itself is getting old, it's certainly time to start with some touch-ups. The suite was huge, massive King size bed in the master, Spa, sauna and shower, toilet with bidet, you couldn't ask for more space. You also have a sitting area, a desk and fantastic views. Very large dining room. 2nd bedroom was just as large with 2 double beds, spa, shower and bathtub. Very nice, and totally on the opposite side so it's very quiet and private. The TV lounge area is comfortable and has a huge Day bed for reading. On the downside the little kitchen /sink is very small and has no utensils eg: spoons, forks, knives so eating is a challenge. There is a microwave to warm up food.

On the updating of the hotel room i would recommend, new carpets as they are getting old and frayed, a paint job would be ideal to give it that fresh feel. Basically just maintenance and it will be fantastic.
The hotel is ideally situated for walks to Gurney drive Hawker, my wife and i walked back after dinner and it took around 30mins of a casual stroll. The porters of the hotel are great as are all the staff. A cab ride into the main town is around 7mins drive by cab and at cost of $15 ringhitt you cant go wrong.
The pool is a lap pool (great views ) too deep and plain for the kids, but the staff arranged for us to go to their sister hotel next door (10 min walk) and spend our swimming time there, great pool for children and adults.
Overall this hotel is getting old and a little tired, needs some loving but fantastic value and with great service you simply cant go wrong. I will certainly be going back, the kids loved it and so did we.

Room Tip: We had a Corner suite and it hd brilliant views overlooking the ocean, city and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarzAttack69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

The location is great, 5-10 minutes drive to popular coffee shops and Komtar.
One of the most, if not the most affordable hotel having sea view. However the room looks very rundown, paint was peeling off and it seems to be really noisy. My partner describe it as "train passing by the whole night!" 'cause he woke up several times at night. Otherwise I slept like a log because we had so much fun during the day! Bathtub looks dirty, we didn't use it at all. Design of the shower room is bad. Water was leaking out every single time we showered. Otherwise the bed was okay, nothing to rave or rant about.
I experienced no service at all. Check in was slow, check out was slow. Okay, maybe slow check out was understandable as it was 12 noon but check in took about 10-15 minutes. Front office staff discussed in front of you what room to give. I dunno what is the norm for hotels in Penang but this was definitely my first such experience. Overall experience was okay but I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank pink_akachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Good service from the staff.. wonderful people. Breakfast.. not much variety. Manage to get 2 connecting rooms. Rooms are spacious but the flooring is peeling. If you walk barefoot, becareful not to hurt your toes! Otherwise, the rooms are great. One thing though... took them hours to send me a towel because after they cleaned the room, there was one towel short

Room Tip: Get rooms facing the sea. Nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Choy9w2pck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The room is very spacious attached a living room. There is also a spa bath tube inside the spacious bathroom. Our room has partial sea view which is nice. The bed is huge, however, it is very obvious is combined of 2 queen size bed. It will be not so comfort when we wanted to roll on the bed. Overall say, the room is great. The breakfast provided has lighten up our day by given wide range of varieties, really awesome. Very close to Gurney Drive with 10 minutes walking distance.

Room Tip: Room face the sea have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tung S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Pleasant stay. I'm staying at a junior suite. The suite is nice just that the wooden flooring is a bit off. But that's just fine as the sea view compliment everything. The sea view was awesome. It is near to famous Him Heung (Tambun Biscuit) too. Near to town too. Comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Choose higher floor with seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I stayed two nights here and thoroughly enjoyed my second time staying in this hotel. All the staff i met were friendly and polite and i particularly enjoyed the use of the chilled swimming pool to cool off from the hot sunny days.There are some good seafood restaurants just around the corner on Gurney promenade and its a 20 minute walk to Chulia st should you need to go that way

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevesaregreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Northam All... P, General Manager at The Northam All Suite Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Mr Steve,

We are indeed delighted to know that you had a very pleasant stay with us and that our staff are our asset, being friendly and polite.

We look forward to Welcome You Back to The Northam All Suite Hotel, Penang.

Regards,
Anthony Ang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences
0 mi away
VOUK Hotel Suite Penang
VOUK Hotel Suite Penang
#36 of 87 in George Town
74 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
#28 of 87 in George Town
806 reviews
1 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.7 mi away
GLOW Penang
GLOW Penang
#23 of 87 in George Town
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Northam All Suite Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Northam All Suite Penang

Address: 55 Jalan Sultan Ahmad Shah, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in George Town
#13 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range: £37 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Northam All Suite Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northam All Suite, Penang is strategically located in the heart of Penang's commercial and leisure district. The hotel offers easy access to the city's historical and cultural landmarks. The spacious suites, refined with homely earth tone finishings, Jacuzzi and modern amenities will pamper your every whim.The 142 splendidly furnished and cozy suites are replete with opulent accommodations complete with panoramic views of the iridescent sea. Watch the sky light up in a glorious sunrise or end the evening with the sunset as day turns to dusk. This is a stay in ultimate indulgence. The Hotel is located in the heart of the new business and commercial district and less than five minutes away from all major shopping complexes and Gurney Drive. It is 20 km away from the Penang International Airport, approximately 20 minutes by road or 4 hours drive via the North-South Expressway from Malaysia's capital city, Kuala Lumpur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Northam All Suite Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northam All Hotel Georgetown
Northam All Suite Georgetown
Northam All Suite Hotel Georgetown
The Northam All Suite Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing