We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Suitable more of a business trip” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Northam All Suite Penang

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Northam All Suite Penang
Ranked #37 of 82 Hotels in George Town
Puchong, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Suitable more of a business trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Its a nice hotel.. With of course good rooms (all are suite). If you're on a business trip, then it will be a good place to stay. Food wise, in the afternoon, you get to enjoy some local foods at the back of the hotel. Food are cheap and great there. However, there's nothing much to do at night. Most probably you have to get a cab or drive out to go other places. Its near Gurney Drive, but you can't walk there.. Services are just normal. It really is only suitable more for a business trip stay there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marymkhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    193
    122
    36
    35
See reviews for
161
115
29
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mataram, Indonesia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We checked in on 2 Aug and checked out on 5th Aug 2014. it was such a big an old hotel I believe as we can see from the type and color of the building. we took a suite deluxe room 72 sqm. Nice wide room but unfortunately not welly maintaned. Dust everywhere particularly on the table, chairs, sofa and the windows gourdein vitrage. Also we cannot use the hairdryer as it was full of dust inside of the noozle. So by the time we got in it was evening already. we cannot wait any longer than we have to clean up all the dust with the small towels.we wiped all those dusty furnitures. Fo travellers who want to stay in this hotel please ensure you have a clean room.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aryanto R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Second visit to the same hotel. The location is perfect for Malaysian or even foreigners because it's near to town. Delicous local foods are accessible within walking distance. The room is spacious and comfortable for sleeping. However, due to some age it is good to see some renovation for the floor and also toilet. The toilet bowl is very noisy after a flush.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachelken20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Upon checking in, staff was a bit slow and they were chatting in Tamil (her name is Shoba) and laughing at other guests which I find quite rude. The bell boy was very selective in entertaining guests as they enter the premise of the lobby. He could not be bothered to even open the door or offer to help with luggage. I clearly saw that he was just looking at my direction and walked away. He only entertained foreigners. Service was very disappointing. However, the room was a total different story. At least it made up for the lousy service. I booked studio suite room only. So obviously I didn't get a chance to dine at the hotel. The room was really huge with amazing view! I was surprised to find another small bathroom attached. The furniture look slightly old and could be upgraded but it was still in good condition. So it didn't bother me so much. The best part of this room is the Jacuzzi. I'm pretty sure all suites are equipped with Jacuzzi. It was huge and clean. The rooftop pool was not that huge but it was clean and not many people were there in the morning. You could swim and enjoy the amazing view which overlook the city and the beach. Overall, I'm happy with my entire stay at Northam. I was just disappointed with the front desk and selective treatment towards guests.

Room Tip: Higher floors have amazing view of Gurney Drive
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ShafinazMink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Friends from China requested more than average lodgings so I booked this place. They were amazed and love the place very much for the price compared to tourist spots in China.

We stayed from 14 July to 15 July. This place is near to Gurney Drive and quite a distance from Penang road famous ice cendol. However it's heaven for those who like quiet vacation. There's a Segi College nearby and clubs in walking distance (not too close to stay awake from all the noise).

We didn't book for breakfast. Staying at Northam is really fantastic with the super large bed and jacuzzi bath tub. Makes you feel so hard to drag yourself out of the room. The bed was so mmh... comfy when all 5 girls could share the place. The bathroom was equipped with 2 wardrobes, ironing facilities, a shower room and toilet besides the bath tub in the middle.

We didn't check out the pool but went to the small gym at 9th floor. An average place to work out after all the supper. Staff were friendly when we required extra bed.

Room Tip: we stayed at deluxe room the bed was super comfy. the best is the jacuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melody812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Badung, Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Having 6 nights stay there and found that i really enjoy. This first time experience in Penang is so much wonderful because of the foods and the durian, fantastic! The staff is so helpful and breakfast items need to be improved. Overall is fantastic!

Room Tip: Choose the sea view room, fabs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angga A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Northam All... P, General Manager at The Northam All Suite Penang, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Mr Angga,

We Thank You for your pleasant comment and glad to know that you have enjoyed your 6 nights stay with us. We have taken note on the breakfast comment for further action.

Yours Faithfully,

Anthony Ang
General Manager of The Northam All Suite Hotel, Penang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed here with big family about 2 weeks ago. We stayed in 4 suites (2 which was joined to make one large room). The first thing you will notice when you enter the room is the HUGE bed, enough for 3 - 4 adults to sleep comfortably. The view of the sea is amazing too.

The staff must be mentioned...they were always ready to serve when called, for new towels, extra pilows, etc.

On the day we checked out, we accidentally left a jewelry case on the desk. We only realized this a few hours later when we were about to leave the island. Rushed back to the hotel with very little hope of finding anything, but right there at the counter the staff was waiting for us with the case. They were trying to contact us, but only had the number of the person who booked the hotel and his phone was not reachable as he had left earlier to go overseas.

They were extremely professional, kept the case and made a list of the items in it and were holding on to it till we came to claim it. We are extremely grateful for such a professional bunch of hotel staff, and highly recommend this great hotel to others as well. Thanks!!

Room Tip: Pick the one with the sea view - excellent sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArulP10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Northam All... P, General Manager at The Northam All Suite Penang, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Mr Arul,

We are indeed very honoured and very pleased to hear that you and your big family enjoyed your stay with us two weeks ago and that our staff have provided you with excellent and trustworthy service.

We look forward to Welcoming You, and your family and friends to Our Northam All Suite Hotel again.

Yours faithfully,
Anthony Ang
General Manager of The Northam All Suite Hotel, Penang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
#26 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences
1.7 mi away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#17 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
1.0 mi away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#16 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Northam All Suite Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Northam All Suite Penang

Property: The Northam All Suite Penang
Address: 55 Jalan Sultan Ahmad Shah, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in George Town
#13 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Northam All Suite Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northam All Suite, Penang is strategically located in the heart of Penang's commercial and leisure district. The hotel offers easy access to the city's historical and cultural landmarks. The spacious suites, refined with homely earth tone finishings, Jacuzzi and modern amenities will pamper your every whim.The 142 splendidly furnished and cozy suites are replete with opulent accommodations complete with panoramic views of the iridescent sea. Watch the sky light up in a glorious sunrise or end the evening with the sunset as day turns to dusk. This is a stay in ultimate indulgence. The Hotel is located in the heart of the new business and commercial district and less than five minutes away from all major shopping complexes and Gurney Drive. It is 20 km away from the Penang International Airport, approximately 20 minutes by road or 4 hours drive via the North-South Expressway from Malaysia's capital city, Kuala Lumpur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotelopia so you can book your The Northam All Suite Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northam All Hotel Georgetown
Northam All Suite Georgetown
Northam All Suite Hotel Georgetown
The Northam All Suite Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing