We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst hostels I have ever been to!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Love Lane Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Love Lane Inn
Ranked #146 of 169 George Town B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worst hostels I have ever been to!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I have been traveling for 6 months and I have just found the worst place ever to stay.
- Dirty
-Bedbugs
-Smelly
-Beds very uncomfortable
-Bedding barely washed
and the worst is that Asian guy with a pony tail (he is either the owner or the son of the owner), he is the most inadequate person I have ever met, rude, unhelpful (woudl just ignore you when you have a request).........

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Guillaume L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    15
    18
    27
    79
See reviews for
Families
0
41
57
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hannover, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We weren't able to sleep the whole night through as the whole place is infected with bedbugs. Just avoid it! After escaping my room I tried to sleep downstairs in the TV corner on the sofas, but the pest was everywhere, visibly crawling over you and on the floor.... Staff wouldn't bother about giving a discount for the spoiled night, as "the owner is in Indonesia". Shabby, unfriendly place. Don't even think about spending a night there, honestly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Knud2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these George Town hotels

Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I've done my fair share of backpacking - long before smartphones, iTunes, tablets etc... but this place ranks as a real dive, hole, grimy shack even by standards from way back.

Basic mixed dorms which had a slight prison feel to it. Staff who don't give a hoot, ok - it's a hostel but at least provide some service!

Communal showers and toilets - one shower included a sink type area which included a turtle. Sums it up really!

Yes, it's a cheap stay. Don't get caught up in the 'too cool for school' type attitude of some by getting the cheapest room, pay a bit more and there are argains to be found.

Also - Love Lane is an apt description of the place's location. Give some of the locals a wide berth!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed here for one night and literally woke up with bedbugs crawling all over us. I have experienced begbugs before but never so many that they were visibly crawling all over us. There was no one up to help us out in the middle of the night so we stole a key to another room (it was so hot and the AC was broken in the other room) and slept there till morning. The next day the owner was like "Yeah, its a never-ending story of bedbugs in that room, I try to get rid of them and they come right back!" Room 2P, I believe.
Also, the owner and other guests smoke in the downstairs area of the guest house. Not our taste.
However, it was cheap and we met some great folks staying there. That being said I wouldn't go back. Check out the Old Penang Inn across the street instead. It looked nice.

Room Tip: Don't go to the "P" rooms! Bedbugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Love Lane Inn is a great backpacker hostel, its very cheap and very conveniently located.

I've stayed here a few times over the last 10 years and the hospitality has always been great.

This time however the main guy behind the desk was consistently lazy and rude to travellers staying at the hotel and to myself .

The main 'chill out' area is next to the reception and I witnessed him rudely turn away new business because they requested to see the room before they paid. I can understand it is not always possible to accommodate this and other requests but it is the manner in which he goes about it.

Unfortunately I will not be staying here in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Igerguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandung, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

very comfort with the owner, funny and very kind person. and that is the PLUS PLUS service that every body needs. i'll make sure that you'll get what your exactly need here. hospitality. :) :) :) :) :) :) see you again ko..!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiarasuher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
663 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

The good thing about the hostel is that it's the cheapest one I could find in the neighborhood. That's about the only positive thing. Oh, and if you catch the owner in the correct mood, he's really friendly and talkative; unfortunately, that was only one brief time during my stay. Other than that, he was rude to me and others.

The hostel seems to attract the type of guests that are, to put it bluntly, extremely boring. The hostel offers a TV room, and while I was coming and going through the hostel to go explore George Town there was always a crowd of the same people just sitting there watching TV. There was one other guy who was always on his laptop in the lobby. There was even one other guy who, over the course of three days, there was only one time that I went in the dorm room that he wasn't lying in bed.

The quality is what you'd expect for the cheapest place in town (not the cleanest or the most comfortable), but it isn't bad. If they could just fill it with people who wanted to do more than watch TV and an owner who was either pleasant or absent more of the time, this place would be significantly better!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlnAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#31 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Inn Heritage
Red Inn Heritage
#78 of 169 in George Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Inn Penang Guesthouse
Red Inn Penang Guesthouse
#46 of 169 in George Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The 80's Guesthouse
The 80's Guesthouse
#4 of 106 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.0 mi away
23 Love Lane
23 Love Lane
#17 of 169 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kim Sun Hotel
Kim Sun Hotel
#111 of 169 in George Town
3.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Love Lane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Love Lane Inn

Property: Love Lane Inn
Address: 54 Love Lane, George Town, Penang Island, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 169 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Love Lane Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Love Lane Hotel Georgetown
Love Lane Inn Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing