We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love Mr Yeoh and his wife”
Review of Malabar Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malabar Inn
Ranked #21 of 170 George Town B&B and Inns
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We love Mr Yeoh and his wife”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed at Malabar in June, Yeoh and his wife are the friendliest most wonderful hosts you could ask for.
The day we arrived from the perhentians on the night bus, we arrived at 5 in the morning and where pretty dishevelled and sleep deprived called Yeoh around 5:30 and he came straight to the guesthouse and let us in. Yeoh let us check in early and let us use all the facilities even though we were not supposed to check in till 12. We were so grateful as we felt like we were about to die from lack of sleep.

He later took us out and showed us different restaurants we would have never of found on our own. (As we had been to Penang before and had not really enjoyed our stay) but yeoh showed us a whole different side to Penang now we cant wait to go back and eat all the yummy food all over again.

The guest house is very clean and well looked after.
Aircon is amazing.
service is great.
wonderful location.

We also stayed 8days longer as we enjoyed it so much.
can not express enough how much we loved our stay.

Thank you Mr Yeoh and pavinder.

All the luck in the future.

Tash and ed

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luckyfrank123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    76
    25
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
91
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights. The owner is a really nice friendly guy... when he's there. There's only one guy running the whole place, when we turned up at 7:30pm he wasn't there, he was off having his dinner, you need to know when you'll be arriving which can be difficult. The shop owner across the road saw us and called him for us when we were outside, confused. The smoke alarm went off at 2 in the morning and no one was there to solve it because he doesn't stay at the hostel. Other guests went downstairs and I assume called him so he could come and turn it off. He was apologetic about it the next morning though.

Rooms are small and basic but you get what you pay for. Really well located, near Chinatown and little India, beside the bus stop which can take you to the airport/jetty/around Penang but also the free shuttle bus which goes into the old town.

Hw showed us what we should do in the time that we had, where to go and how to get there cheaply. Honestly the best hostel owner we've met, he's really helpful, he just seems to appear and disappear without a trace though.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna211092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

The place caters mainly to younger backpackers, I had a very clean room with attached bathroom. There was just a mattress in the room, but it was o.k., it was comfortable and I had a very good sleep there. The room had no window. Rooms are separated by very this walls, so there may be some risk if somebody in the attached room is noisy.
Reception closes at evening, but this easy no problem, the owner called me before, to check at what time I arrive and waited for me. The very friendly owner gave me a tip for a popular breakfast stall, this was really worth to try.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ansrichter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Malabar Inn was perfect for our stay Georgetown, it's in a great location and decently priced for this area which seems to be really expensive. The owner is fantastic - such a helpful guy, very friendly and welcoming and nothing we needed was a problem for him. As some other reviews have mentioned, the reception isn't open all the time but this wasn't an issue for us, the owner left his number and he can come back whenever you call him.
Our room was small without a window but really clean, good air con, comfortable bed and private bathroom (Room no.9) !
There' a small garden area for smoking / socializing although we never bumped into anyone there... Malabar Inn seems to be more of a place to relax and do your own thing than socialize with other travellers.
The cafe was being refurbed when we stayed so can't comment on that.
We borrowed towels for 3 ringets which was very handy!
All in all, well worth the money to stay here and definately recommended if you're wanting to stay somewhere fairly chilled.
Btw, alcohol is really expensive in Penang, cheapest we found locally was the Mona Liza bar round the corner from Malabar - 75 ringets for a small beer.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amber78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We were looking for a low cost place to stay and we found this one which is not only cheap but is also very clean, with comfortable bed. The only thing is shared bath room - but at this price, Georgetown will not have anything with attached bathroom (not that we know of), and the toilets and bathrooms were very clean, with hot water too, with shampoo and shower gel provided - what else can you ask for? - ok, towels are not provided, and our room has no window. The rooms are nicely decorated, though more on the minimalist side - there's no wardrobe, side table, etc, but there are enough sockets to charge up your phones and lappies. Another minus is there's not much communal areas, no cafe attached, so not much interaction between travellers - well that makes this place quiet. And we don't really feel there's any need for cafe, as we are in the heart of the best street food capital in the world! Lastly, the owner is very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view if that's important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Casey_KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Malabar Inn is in an awesome location! The room that we booked was the cheapest double, and so by all accounts, what you get is what you pay for. The room was windowless and small, probably about 10m2, BUT it was clean (as was the bathroom) and the bed was comfy. Mr Yeoh was very helpful and while he was not on site all the time, he gave us his mobile number to call if we needed him. We rented bicycles from a nice chap across the street from Malabar at Cintra Heritage House, and noticed they also had a bike rental on Chulia Street, just round the corner. I would definitely recommend getting some bikes to explore Georgetown!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jess R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We thought it was pretty expensive in comparison to the other accommodations we had in Malaysia, but after looking around it seems that Georgetown is just a bit more expensive.
Bathroom is shared but clean. Rooms are pretty small and boxy and there are no windows. Wifi is ok, not really fast but it worked most of the time. The walls are pretty thin and you can hear people walking around because of the wooden floor. But all in all we enjoyed our stay here the location is great. Didn't eat at their restaurant because it was a bit expensive for our taste and Georgetown has some really good and cheap restaurants.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank pabloeskimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#33 of 84 in George Town
355 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chulia Mansion
Chulia Mansion
#13 of 84 in George Town
792 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#34 of 84 in George Town
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 84 in George Town
551 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nam Keng Hotel
Nam Keng Hotel
#10 of 84 in George Town
250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apollo Inn
Apollo Inn
#13 of 170 in George Town
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malabar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malabar Inn

Property: Malabar Inn
Address: 26 & 28, Jalan Cintra, George Town, Penang Island 10100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Malabar Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family room with Bathroom. ( One Queen size bed and One Single bed. 3 Adults and one child no charge ) at myr135.00 Room allocation ONE Double room with Bathroom. ( One Queen bed for two adults) at myr90.00 Room per day TWO Twin-bed room with Bathroom. ( Two Single bed for two adults ) at myr90.00 Room per day ONE Single room with bathroom. ( One Single bed for one adult ) at myr70.00 Room per day TWO Double room with SHARED Bathroom. ( One Double bed for two adults ) at myr70.00 Room per day ONE Twin-bed room with SHARED Bathroom. ( Two Single bed for two adults ) at myr70.00 Room per day ONE Single room with SHARED Bathroom. ( One Single bed for one adult ) at myr58.00 Room per day ONE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Malabar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malabar Inn Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing