We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy stay in a historic setting with superb service”
Review of Noordin Mews

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Noordin Mews
Ranked #3 of 177 George Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I love Noordin Mews! Well- appointed rooms, good breakfast, cool old street. Fabulous little pool, too. But the best thing was the great help we received from the staff. They gave us advice on a million things, and when our room sprung a leak, they whisked us away to a very nice hotel for the night. Couldn't have handled it better. Thank you, you made our stay in Penang even better!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

767 - 773 of 1,321 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

Very good hospitality, cozy, clean, wonderful deco and pleasant environment. The nearest mall is within walking distance.

Relaxing and a good place to stay for a quite retreat.


P/S: Delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ija G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed on the 9th of May, a rather short 1 day stay and immediately regret that we couldn't stay longer. A hidden gem in the midst of bustling Penang, beautifully decorated with regalia s from the past. Will definitely recommend this place to anyone. And truly the highlight of the place is the ever helpful and friendly staff; a special thank you to the handsome Chinese chap, CJ and the always smiling and chirpy Satiya at the reception. You guys are doing a really good job ! Loved the lighting s by the pool in the evening and the pool itself; was relaxing to just dip after a long hot day out. Our shop house 1 unit s highlight was the spacious bathroom with old kampung style windows. Hope to be back soon for a longer stay ♡

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Kavitha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

In agreement with everyone else here, this place is clearly well recommended; this is a really, really nice place. Friendly, welcoming., they try to make your stay as special as they can. It's a little pool of calm in bustling Georgetown. Nearby are shops and restaurants and the bus terminus too (which is below a nice air con mall) so you can get out and explore. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DollyBirdScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I spent a really great moment at this clean, calm, warm and charming place. A special mention to Fidy, a member of the staff, who was as friendly as professional and helpful. One of the best place to stay in Penang.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Noordin Mews exceeded our expectations. Nice pool, friendly staff, great breakfast, spacious clean room,within walking distance of shopping Centre and main attractions.
We had a wonderfull stay, everybody was very helpfull and friendly. The street doesn't look very nice, but it is safe dat and night.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vooren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Once i entered the hotel, i was captivated by its rustic charms. Everything was just like i had seen from the hotel website. The staff on duty, CJ was helpful and friendly. Check in and out was a breeze.

I must compliment the hotel for going the extra mile. Upon arrival at the hotel, CJ must have overheard my daughter complainting that she was hungry. Around 10 minutes whist we were resting in our room, there was a knock on the door and surprise, CJ had brought some snacks and our welcome drinks to the room. He had even change the drink for my daughter to orange juice. I am deeply impressed with this little gesture.

The swimming pool was small but clean. The breakfast served daily was nice except the fried noodle as it was a little soggy for my taste. I particularly like the eggs florentine.

The location of this hotel was convenient as it is only less than 5 minutes walk to First Avenue shopping mall. There is lots of coffeeshop near the hotel serving lovely Penang food. There is even local roadside food stalls at night on the street behind the hotel.

Overall, i had an enjoyable stay at Noordin Mews as it exceeded my expectation. I must compliment staff both CJ and Belinda for the good service and friendliness they had displayed to us during our stay. I being a frequent visitor to Penang is extremely impressed with the hotel and YES I will consider this hotel again for my next trip back to Penang.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dominic_Ho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.7 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 87 in George Town
918 reviews
0.6 mi away
Muntri Grove Hotel
Muntri Grove Hotel
#6 of 87 in George Town
373 reviews
0.6 mi away
Muntri Mews
Muntri Mews
#7 of 87 in George Town
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
0.7 mi away
The Edison George Town, Penang
0.8 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 87 in George Town
3,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Noordin Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noordin Mews

Address: 53 Lebuh Noordin, George Town, Penang Island 10300, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range: £68 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Noordin Mews 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Noordin Mews is a private boutique hotel in the historical Georgetown Penang with the added advantage of a lovely swimming pool. The hotel located just one street away from good shopping (Komtar, Prangin Mall and 1st Avenue) and Penang Bus Terminal (Komtar). We are just minutes walk away to all the heritage attractions of historical Georgetown and the various eclectic dining options that Penang is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Noordin Mews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noordin Mews Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing