We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many selections of cakes, average tastes”
Review of China House

China House
Ranked #7 of 42 Dessert in George Town
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Busy cafe in a small house. Great many selections of cakes but average tastes imo. Tried 3 cakes. It has two entrances and seems busy all the time. Price are on the expensive side compared to other penang prices.

Thank irwan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acg1960, Manager at China House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Thank you for your comment and review as for our cakes we have the best ingredients on them which makes the prices slightly on the higher side and we will constantly try to keep our prices to be reasonable at all times and hope that you will come back again to try our rest of varieties of food / cakes which might suit your taste bud.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,890)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 132 of 1,890 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

China House has a strong following but as a consequence it's often difficult to get a table. Cakes are good but over-rated. Staff can appear arrogant. I would still go back there but at quieter times but there are just so many great places to eat in Penang that visitors and locals are spoilt for variety.

Thank pen_trotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acg1960, Manager at China House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Thank you for your comment and to avoid long waiting in future please call us for reservation at 04-2637299 and we will be glad to reserve you a table as we do have waiting policy when its comes to busy hours.Hope that you would come back and visit us again with a much better experience and glad that you enjoy your stay at Penang where its Heaven of food vs Chinahouse Heaven of cakes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Went here for coffee and cake. The staff were nice. A zillion choices for cake. Coffee and cakes were nice; but definitely on the pricier side for Georgetown.

Thank Wanderlust_Tarrants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acg1960, Owner at China House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thanks for your valuable comments- we're glad you had a good experience in ChinaHouse and liked the staff. Noted on your point re our prices,interestingly we havent put our prices up last year even though the cost of food items everywhere have increased. Our cakes for instance only have the best ingredients in them which shoots the price up a bit......we will constantly try to keep our prices reasonable all the time.

Do come and see us again sometime!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Absolutely loved it! So many choices and pricing isn't too bad. Perhaps some of it is a little overpriced but other than that it was spectacular. The price for the cakes with more technique in it however is very reasonable. Had three slices of cake with my family and I loved every mouthful of it!! Definitely recommending this to all my friends!

Thank RobynP1061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acg1960, Owner at China House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Many thanks for your wonderful comments- we are glad you enjoyed your experience especially our cakes!! Come and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

what a lifesaving of senses! just arrived in penang. was having difficulty finding my guesthouse in georgetown - lots of alleys and narrow streets. long morning / afternoon with budget flight (which is never comfortable!), getting into town (long transport) and walking the the hot hot sun btwn alleys. after a hiccup on guesthouses, then off to find the Chinahouse which was JUST what needed for a really bad pick me up! it was beautiful relaxing, lots of old shophouse with beautiful inspiring art pieces all around and just very nice atmosphere. service staff are friendly, chilled (though it was busy busy) and accommodating. very very much needed, very lovely place! definitely recommended! for intro into penang, into georgetown, into artsy talents local penang pple! wonderful concept of all in 1 house - art, chill, relax, music, peace, lots of GOOD food and nice people. definitely recommended!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cherylyeo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acg1960, Manager at China House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018

Thank you for your good review and glad that you enjoy your experience with us and we will keep improving to serve you better and looking forward to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed China House also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to China House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing