We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Look out for the tour guides”
Review of Sun Yat Sen Museum

Sun Yat Sen Museum
Ranked #18 of 125 things to do in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: A historic gem in the heart of the George Town world heritage site. The Sun Yat Sen Museum is a beautifully-preserved house museum in the multicultural George Town world heritage site. This historical house has a permanent exhibition on Sun Yat Sen's early revolutionary period in Penang when he planned a historic uprising on the cusp of the Chinese Revolution of 1911.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Look out for the tour guides”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I had the pleasure of meeting 2 of the guides/curators who happened to be brothers. Their passion to share historical facts about what you are seeing in the museum is infectious. I am not a big fan of history before I stepped into the museum, but I was so drawn into what my guide as he explained the significance of the museum site. I thing the best time I had in Penang was to have a chat with the both of them to find out more about anything and everything else. Very glad to have met the brothers!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jasonwuzlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunyatsenmuseum, Front Office Manager at Sun Yat Sen Museum, responded to this review, 26 February 2016
Dear Jasonwuzlon ,
Thank you for your nice feedback.We are happy that you gave us such a good score!
We are glad to hear that you enjoy visiting in Sun Yat Sen Museum.Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you when visiting us next time.
Have a nice time : D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    129
    52
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Just because this is a museum, don't be obliged to come.”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

They are open daily from 9:00-17:00, admission is RM5. Visitors are offered tea.

Basically this is an old house which was turned into a museum by exhibiting articles associated to Sun Yat Sen and old everyday things like pots, jars, hats, woodworks (the usual antics you see in museums). The second floor is off limit.

The building is well maintained but clattered. Lot's of eyesores like the broom and dustpan left beside the tea table in the dining area and the mountain of paper works and the computer set beside the staircase.

The curator tried his best to tell me about the house and Sun Yat Sen but I couldn't really understand his accent, what I appreciate most about him is that he knew where it's best to post for pictures.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank berjimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunyatsenmuseum, Front Office Manager at Sun Yat Sen Museum, responded to this review, 1 March 2016
Dear berjimo ,
We thank you for your feedback and please let us know how we could improve.
Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you when visiting us next time.Please welcome to visit Sun Yat Sen museum again with your friends or family members ya.Thank you very much.
Have a nice time : D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
112 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Moderate private museum”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

A house that Dr. Sun Yat Sen used to stay. A good break from a hot walking day, but there is not much things to see.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Saksatien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunyatsenmuseum, Front Office Manager at Sun Yat Sen Museum, responded to this review, 29 February 2016
Dear Saksatien ,
The Sun Yat Sen Museum is a hybrid of a history museum and a house museum, with its original shophouse architecture. I hope our in-house guide explained this to you. We thank you for your feedback and please let us know how we could improve.Please welcome to visit Sun Yat Sen museum again with your friends or family members ya.Thank you very much.
Have a nice time : D


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Eye opener to Penang's influence on China”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

What takes this finely restored building as an attraction from very good to excellent are the staff. The enthusiasm for the museum and for the person of Sun Yat Sen, and the friendliness of the people there is terrific. The sense of great history is palpable but balanced by the matter of fact aspects of daily life for example; the children sleeping in the corridors and there were plenty. The wall mounted information is thorough.There are some excellent cook books we did not see anywhere else.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunyatsenmuseum, Front Office Manager at Sun Yat Sen Museum, responded to this review, 26 February 2016
Dear Bruce B ,
Thank you for your nice feedback.We are happy that you gave us such a good score!
We are glad to hear that you enjoy visiting in Sun Yat Sen Museum.Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you when visiting us next time.
Have a nice time : D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Friendly staffs”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Like this place very much. Very staffs and good information about the Chinese Penang and China revolution history. We go back to visit again. Love their pandan leaf tea which good for hot weather.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Buddymate77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunyatsenmuseum, Front Office Manager at Sun Yat Sen Museum, responded to this review, 26 February 2016
Dear Buddymate77 ,
Thank you for your nice feedback.We are happy that you gave us such a good score!
We are glad to hear that you enjoy visiting in Sun Yat Sen Museum.Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you when visiting us next time.
Have a nice time : D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sun Yat Sen Museum also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Sun Yat Sen Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing