We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient location and great staff”
Review of Macalister Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Macalister Mansion
Ranked #35 of 87 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

very helpful staff from reception to F&B outlets.
hotel guests get priority parking spaces which is great!!
retained its old charm and yet feels trendy.
durian stalls just down the street and very near many good hwaker food!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank meimei7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MM_Penang, General Manager at Macalister Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

It gives us great pleasure to hear such positive comments about our establishment and staff. We’re very happy that you enjoyed yourselves so much and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 116 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

Had to come down Penang, first weekend after our wedding, but my wife had to work. When about to look for a place to stay , first thing that came to mind of course this great hotel in Penang.
First time when i discovered this hotel is when me and my crew did some feature TV program about Penang. Theres only good thing i can say about Macalister Mansion.
Will definitely stay here again if i ever come down to Penang

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MM_Penang, General Manager at Macalister Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

It gives us great pleasure to hear such positive comments about our establishment and staff. We’re very happy that you enjoyed yourselves so much and we hope to see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights as part of out Singapore/Malaysia trip. We have stayed in 3 other design hotels previously so had high expectations but this hotel was simply amazing. From the bar, breakfast room, pool, dining rooms to bedrooms all well designed and maintained.

Check in was great, very relaxed with a lovely welcome drink.

We didn't eat in the restaurant as it was western food and we had come to Penang to experience the street food. We did eat in the bar one evening and have drinks on two evening which were both lovely. Wide selection of wine and attentive but not overbearing staff. As it's a very small hotel we were worried about being the only people in the bar but many locals come for drinks and dinner giving a good atmosphere.

A little bit out of town, which we knew on booking but taxis into town we're very cheap (by British standards)

Positive:
1.being able to pick our exact room on booking - we had room 6
2. Staff particularly the breakfast team
3. Spacious room - biggest we staying in without an upgrade
4.Comfy beds
5. Clean bathrooms with lovely toiletries
6.. Nespresso machine
7. Excellent aircon
8 lovely little cakes you get in the evening
9. I could go on....

Negatives
1. Noisy around the pool due to construction work
2. Breakfast was cooked to order all the choices were very rich for us but the staff are happy to amend dishes to suit


Can't speak highly enough of this hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank love_holidays2140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MM_Penang, General Manager at Macalister Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

It gives us great pleasure to hear such positive comments about our establishment and staff. We’re very happy that you enjoyed yourselves so much and we hope to see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This hotel is perfect in every way, from the decor to the design of the rooms, to the very very attentive service, everything is just divine! We also had dinner in their dining room and brunch in the living room, we bought set meals that represented a great deal of value for money; classy food in a beautiful atmosphere at a fraction of the price you would pay anywhere else.

This place is a perfect 10/10

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful, but room 4 especially so :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TYMAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MM_Penang, General Manager at Macalister Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

It gives us great pleasure to hear such positive comments about our establishment and staff. We’re very happy that you enjoyed yourselves so much and we hope to see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This hotel is excellent in every concept. Great design, services and friendly staff.
I love their breakfast! It was tasty with excellent layout.
Location is good as well as it is just 10min drive to city and 20min drives to the beach.
Dining room is impressive and very good fine dining provided.
My wife, daughter and myself enjoyed it very much and none of us willing leave on the last day when we need to go home.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChonYoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MM_Penang, General Manager at Macalister Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

It gives us great pleasure to hear such positive comments about our establishment and staff. We’re very happy that you enjoyed yourselves so much and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We had a small gathering of friends at MM restaurant. The fine dining & wine in private room were fabulous. The food presentation was creative & chic. While we loved the almost-White Deco! A very very fine example of a heritage building conservation which provides an excellent place to indulge.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MM_Penang, General Manager at Macalister Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. A lot of effort was put into the design of our establishment; and it all pays off when we hear such positive comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The hotel has a great ambience, vibrant and yet relaxing. The room was comfortable, spacious and well laid out. The toiletries were of a high quality. Service was courteous and efficient. I would say that the location is a little far away from the main attractions but not an issue if you are driving with GPS.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peridotwinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MM_Penang, General Manager at Macalister Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Our hotel is situated around 1.5km from the center of Georgetown, unfortunately Penang roads can be a little difficult when driving a car as there are a lot of one-way streets and things can seem a bit further than they are. We appreciate you taking the time write this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
1.3 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 87 in George Town
918 reviews
1.2 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 87 in George Town
3,875 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Edison George Town, Penang
1.3 mi away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#10 of 87 in George Town
531 reviews
1.2 mi away
Spices Hotel
Spices Hotel
#25 of 87 in George Town
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macalister Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macalister Mansion

Address: 228 Macalister, George Town, Penang Island 10400, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in George Town
#12 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range: £162 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macalister Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eight Rooms at Macalister Mansion promises a quirky and sophisticated new destination to relax and unwind… Set amidst a lovingly restored colonial mansion that was built in the early 1900s, we invite you to embark with us on a luxuriously new boutique hotel adventure within each of our individually designed 8 suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Macalister Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macalister Mansion Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing