We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay at Room 6”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Macalister Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Macalister Mansion
Ranked #31 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at Room 6”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

amazing stay!! out of our expectation!! My boyfriend and I love everything of this hotel!
The room was great, especially the bathroom!! Had dinner at the dining room with lovely ambience and delicious food! Staffs are friendly as well. However, the breakfast food portion is quite small :(

overall is a great vacation staying in MM. will be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patriciagann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MM_Penang, General Manager at Macalister Mansion, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Macalister Mansion and your dinner at our fine dining restaurant, The Dining Room.

We will look into your comment on the small portion of the breakfast served.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Macalister Mansion and the beautiful island of Penang!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    42
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
21
71
9
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Melaka State, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is a beautiful hotel tastefully decorated while maintaning and respecting the overall history of the premise. You can easily tell the owner puts in a lot of effort in transforming an old building into what it is today.

However, please stay away from this hotel if you want to organise any event as the person in charge shows no respect to customer at all. Few months ago, my company was planning to organise an event over there and subsequently I managed to discuss it with a lady name Coreen. It took her almost 1 week to respond to my email and after first discussion, she promised to reply me with the information I have asked for but despite numerous reminders and false promises for weeks , she failed to get back to me. SHe would in between the reminders gave lame excuses like I am away in XXX, not feeling well and just came back from leave to delay her action which eventually didn't happen as well.

it's a pity that such a nice hotel comes with such cold, arrogant and disrespectful service to customer. The owner should seriously talk to people on the ground and find out what's really happening and take necessary actions on the people who continue to tarnish the overall customer experience and the brand name.

From a customer who just want some basic respect,

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MM_Penang, Owner at Macalister Mansion, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We read with regret that you had an unpleasant incident as you have stipulated. In order for us to understand what actually happened as we can't recall such incident and more importantly for the matter of helping us to improve our customer service, we would greatly appreciate if you could kindly state your name and contact email and mobile number in order for us to get in touch with you to understand clearly the details. Thank your for your patronage and we remain at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed 3 nights as part of our honeymoon. Good to pick exact room when booking. Was our first stay in a design hotel and it certainly met expectations if you're into contemporary design and cool features. Excellent, chic facilities in-room. Great extras like toiletries, stationary, nespresso, evening turndown sweet treats!
Other areas of hotel are sleek and quirky. Smell of tobacco smoke in cellar, den and 'living room' is unpleasant, but otherwise hotel is really clean and slick.
Smooth check-in, pleasant staff. We didn't eat in the restaurant or room service, because it was western food, and we came to Penang for the local cuisine and see the sights of georgetown anyway. Breakfast nice but again trying too much to be contemporary western cuisine so misses the mark a bit. A few malay fusion options would have been nice. Had drinks by the pool but limited selection -no cocktails at the time we were there as new menu underway. Expensive wine (but we're Aussie, thus spoilt & high expectations).
Staff all very friendly and helpful. They were really helpful one night when we decided to stay in with a movie and our TV wasn't working - they found a solution which was great.
Overall the atmosphere is quiet throughout, sometimes stark if you're used to some action - with only 8 rooms that's to be expected, and we really enjoyed the peace. Except at pool - not very private and was noisy due to construction next door at the time we were there.
Location just outside the buffer zone so need taxi into town but it's very cheap and drivers like to tell you about georgetown which is good.
We had a great stay and they helped us organise reliable taxi transport onwards to our next location (Ipoh).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tahna_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MM_Penang, General Manager at Macalister Mansion, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
It gives us great pleasure to hear such positive comments about our establishment and staff. We’re very happy that you enjoyed yourselves so much and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meimei
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

very helpful staff from reception to F&B outlets.
hotel guests get priority parking spaces which is great!!
retained its old charm and yet feels trendy.
durian stalls just down the street and very near many good hwaker food!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meimei7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MM_Penang, General Manager at Macalister Mansion, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
It gives us great pleasure to hear such positive comments about our establishment and staff. We’re very happy that you enjoyed yourselves so much and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Had to come down Penang, first weekend after our wedding, but my wife had to work. When about to look for a place to stay , first thing that came to mind of course this great hotel in Penang.
First time when i discovered this hotel is when me and my crew did some feature TV program about Penang. Theres only good thing i can say about Macalister Mansion.
Will definitely stay here again if i ever come down to Penang

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MM_Penang, General Manager at Macalister Mansion, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
It gives us great pleasure to hear such positive comments about our establishment and staff. We’re very happy that you enjoyed yourselves so much and we hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights as part of out Singapore/Malaysia trip. We have stayed in 3 other design hotels previously so had high expectations but this hotel was simply amazing. From the bar, breakfast room, pool, dining rooms to bedrooms all well designed and maintained.

Check in was great, very relaxed with a lovely welcome drink.

We didn't eat in the restaurant as it was western food and we had come to Penang to experience the street food. We did eat in the bar one evening and have drinks on two evening which were both lovely. Wide selection of wine and attentive but not overbearing staff. As it's a very small hotel we were worried about being the only people in the bar but many locals come for drinks and dinner giving a good atmosphere.

A little bit out of town, which we knew on booking but taxis into town we're very cheap (by British standards)

Positive:
1.being able to pick our exact room on booking - we had room 6
2. Staff particularly the breakfast team
3. Spacious room - biggest we staying in without an upgrade
4.Comfy beds
5. Clean bathrooms with lovely toiletries
6.. Nespresso machine
7. Excellent aircon
8 lovely little cakes you get in the evening
9. I could go on....

Negatives
1. Noisy around the pool due to construction work
2. Breakfast was cooked to order all the choices were very rich for us but the staff are happy to amend dishes to suit


Can't speak highly enough of this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank love_holidays2140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MM_Penang, General Manager at Macalister Mansion, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
It gives us great pleasure to hear such positive comments about our establishment and staff. We’re very happy that you enjoyed yourselves so much and we hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This hotel is perfect in every way, from the decor to the design of the rooms, to the very very attentive service, everything is just divine! We also had dinner in their dining room and brunch in the living room, we bought set meals that represented a great deal of value for money; classy food in a beautiful atmosphere at a fraction of the price you would pay anywhere else.

This place is a perfect 10/10

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful, but room 4 especially so :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TYMAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MM_Penang, General Manager at Macalister Mansion, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
It gives us great pleasure to hear such positive comments about our establishment and staff. We’re very happy that you enjoyed yourselves so much and we hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
1.3 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 84 in George Town
784 reviews
1.2 mi away
Spices Hotel
Spices Hotel
#22 of 84 in George Town
153 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Edison George Town, Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#9 of 84 in George Town
445 reviews
1.3 mi away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#12 of 84 in George Town
384 reviews
1.2 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
3,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macalister Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macalister Mansion

Property: Macalister Mansion
Address: 228 Macalister, George Town, Penang Island 10400, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in George Town
#12 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macalister Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eight Rooms at Macalister Mansion promises a quirky and sophisticated new destination to relax and unwind… Set amidst a lovingly restored colonial mansion that was built in the early 1900s, we invite you to embark with us on a luxuriously new boutique hotel adventure within each of our individually designed 8 suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macalister Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macalister Mansion Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing