We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it was lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SIOK Hostel, Penang
Certificate of Excellence
Tangerang, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“it was lovely stay”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed 3 nights in 8 female bed dorm with a friend and it was lovely.
the room was spacious with huge locker and fluffy bed, not to mention its very clean.
since we're staying in female dorm, we're eligible to use female bathroom and toilet and i can say the bathroom was spotless...super clean for hostel standart. the shower is better than some 3 star hotels i went into. The breakfast was decent too, they served you various cereal, milk, toast & jam, good enough to start your day.
The best thing is the staff. they're super friendly.. always greet you with smile, recomend local food or attraction and willing help you 24/7. two thumbs up for the staff!

For light sleeper like me, the room was quite noisy because i can hear everything outside the building, and in my first night there was like street music from 12-2am.
plus, no solid door in every room only curtain provided. it makes noise from outside getting louder.
I think if they can provide solid door in everyroom, things would be greater. :)

I will definitly recommend it to my friends :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hestihesti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    76
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
31
122
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Foshan, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is the first time I stay in hostel oversea, I stay in mixed room. Most traveller stay here is quiet and polite, I also make new fds here. The bed is very comfortable, shower is very perfect, every part in the hostel is wonderful! I will recommend my fd to stay here!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Frankie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We chose syok for 2 nights in May 2014 and we were awestruck with their level of service for a hostel.

The staff at syok are warm and friendly. They even provided us with a phone with a local sim card so we may contact them at anytime if we ever needed anything. Great location, clean and comfortable.

Thank you syok for making our stay memorable and comfortable. You guys rocks!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank slurplovepray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenSLT, Owner at SIOK Hostel, Penang, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear slurplovepray,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We constantly try to improve and ensure our guests have the best experience here at Syok. We look forward to have you with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Syok@chulia is really awesome, a really comfortable place to stay in and it felt homely because it was extremely clean and the staff were super friendly and informative, they gave me lots of recommendations for good food (especially the chendol!). And Syok is situated at a great location, every place of interest in Georgetown is within walking distance. I would really recommend anyone visiting Penang to stay here!! :D

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ngohiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I stayed at Syok @ Chulia for 2 nights in early May. I only had two full days on the island. I found the hostel to be in a great location. Tim is fantastic! He was able to give me maps and recommended what I should best spend my time doing - and he knows the bus numbers and where the stops are for everything. Also - ask him where you should eat. He recommended some great stalls for me to try the local cuisine. If you take the bus to the temple, ask him where to try the laksa - amazing!! This isn't a party hostel - the rooms are fairly quiet, which was great for me because I needed a few good nights sleep! Be sure to check out the reggae bar further down chulia street - ladies hour until 9, and a great place to meet other travellers and soak up the atmosphere!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irish-Canadian-Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenSLT, Owner at SIOK Hostel, Penang, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Irish-Canadian-Jen

Thank you for taking the time to write us. We are glad that all our efforts are paying off and that our guests appreciates it.

Hope to see you with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2014

However it's also one of the most expensive hostel in Penang. I paid RM55 one night in 8 beds mixed dorm room. Hostel will provide a towel, blanket and a closet without pad lock for everyone stay in the hostel.

The Victoria Street dorm room is where I stayed for 3 nights and it's because the locations of the hostel is right in the busy street where day time a lot of vehicles and motorbike passing by and night time where all the pubs and café open till late night so you can imagine the noise outside. Although windows are closed but it's not sound proof. So if you are a light sleeper you may need to wear earplugs.

The Lounge on the rooftop is a highlight of this hostel. Breakfast provided every morning here for its guests. Internet is good. The Air conditions is cool and cosy in every corner.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DINGSINYEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

good location, very clean & comfy, very helpful & friendly staffs. easy to find. lounge very good and confesion board was awesome! verry recommend for anyone who want to stay in the center of George Town because is easy to go anywhere

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Fanny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#34 of 84 in George Town
641 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
#2 of 113 in George Town
263 reviews
0.3 mi away
The 80's Guesthouse
The 80's Guesthouse
#6 of 113 in George Town
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tipsy Tiger Party Hostel
Tipsy Tiger Party Hostel
#1 of 113 in George Town
227 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Frame Guesthouse
The Frame Guesthouse
#3 of 113 in George Town
196 reviews
0.3 mi away
House of Journey
House of Journey
#7 of 113 in George Town
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SIOK Hostel, Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIOK Hostel, Penang

Property: SIOK Hostel, Penang
Address: 458 Chulia Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia (Formerly Syok at Chulia)
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 113 Speciality Lodging in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — SIOK Hostel, Penang 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SIOK HOSTEL has a capacity of 64 persons including separate dorm for females. Rates are inclusive of tax and breakfast, free wifi. They are air-conditioned, come with personal secured lockers,personal sockets and personal reading lights, super single size bunk beds with spring mattresses and bathrooms with rain head hot showers and all bathroom amenities. SIOK HOSTEL provides a Lounge area where guests can enjoy complimentary coffee/tea all day, watch TV, enjoy the collection of DVD's, magazines, dart board, foosball table, board games, free WiFi. Located at the heart of the city Georgetown, UNESCO heritage area, 458 Chulia Street, 10200 Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia. SIOK HOSTEL is located at the junction of Leith street and Chulia Street. There are a number of restaurants nearby. Right on Penang street, which is just across SIOK HOSTEL, there are many shops selling cloths, souvenirs. trishaws, taxis and busses are easy available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your SIOK Hostel, Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SIOK Hostel, Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing