We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”
Review of Museum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Museum Hotel
Ranked #8 of 85 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

was a great experience to stay at the museum hotel. the staff was more than excellent. especially Jason did everything to make our stay comfortable.
room was beautiful in an old historical hotel. water pressure a little low.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank AnjaA13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuseuMhotelpenang, MuseuM Hotel Management at Museum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear AnjaA13,

Thank you for your time to write us a review. We are delighted to learn that you had a great experience at our Hotel and to receive a special mention on Jason.

On behalf of the Management, I would also like to apologise for the drop of water pressure in your room. We were experiencing ruptured water pipes outside our hotel but it has already being rectified on that particular night.

We hope that you will keep us in mind as your hotel of choice and look forward to welcoming you back at our Hotel once more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (479)
There are newer reviews for Museum Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

268 - 274 of 479 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

We loved the hotel! This was our last stop in a three city tour of Malaysia and our favorite. The hotel was beautifully decorated (exactly as the pictures looked). The reception had great service. They were very eager the help, had great English, and pointed us to wherever we wanted to go. The breakfast was delicious! And we enjoyed the snacks in our room. The location is a little bit off from Penang Road and Chulia but an easy walk. We had no problem walking and loved how quiet it was otherwise. We had a great stay and would recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuseuMhotelpenang, MuseuM Hotel Management at Museum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Jessi H,

Thank you very much for posting your feedback. We are delighted to receive your many compliments about our Hotel, breakfast, snacks and staff. It has been our pleasure serving you and we look forward to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

booked that hotel for just one night. It is a bit hidden behind Chulia street in Georgetown and pretty new. Nicely decorated in colonial style. I personally like that. Staff was very attentive and absolute friendly. Rooms are pretty small baut nicely decorated and fully equipped. WiFi free and included.
Breakfast was a la carte and limited choices but finally pretty good
The neighborhood is still not that nice. Would come back here..

Room Tip: my room was facing the road, but there is basically no traffic there
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BK_Shanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuseuMhotelpenang, MuseuM Hotel Management at Museum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear BK_Shanghai,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to know that you personally like the colonial style décor of the Hotel and glad to know that you enjoyed the attentive service from our staff. The Management will look into your suggestion that you had kindly raised. All the staffs in MuseuM Hotel look forward to your return visit the next time you are in Penang.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Very attentive and helpful staff, great service! We had a spaceous quadruple room (on two floors). The bathroom included two showers, two toilets and a double-sink. There is no breakfast buffet but the set menue offers a great choice of international bfst options.
Cosy hotel in a historical building which is well situated in the center of Georgetown. I definitively recommend to stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antonia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuseuMhotelpenang, MuseuM Hotel Management at Museum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Antonia C,

Thank you for your tome to write us a review. We are thrilled to know that you would recommend our Hotel and rated us a Hotel with great value for money. All the staff in MuseuM Hotel look forward to your return visit the next time you are in Penang.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I was really excited about staying at the Museum Hotel, but its been a nightmare experience.

I arrived to find a used sanitary napkin in the laundry basket. The experience was followed by no working shower in my room. Rather than moving me to a different room, I was forced to use a shower in a dirty, recently used room, which also had no shower pressure.

Stay at your own risk!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TCSanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuseuMhotelpenang, MuseuM Hotel Management at Museum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear TCSanderson,

Thank you for your feedback. We would like to apologize for any discomfort you may have experienced from the circumstances of the ruptured water pipes outside our hotel that caused water pressure to drop for a few hours in some of our hotel rooms – yours being one of them – which we had quickly rectify by temporarily letting you shower in our Art Décor Suite.

Our standard housekeeping operating procedures require all room inspections to be done by Housekeeping Supervisor after they have been cleaned and a subsequent inspection by Room Attendants just before our guests arrive; and your room was no exception. This incident is not likely to happen, and if this indeed happened, none of our staff were being informed by you.

Please do not hesitate to e-mail us at info@museumhotel.com.my if you would like to discuss this further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Being completely honest our impression of Museum hotel is that it values style over substance. While we have no major criticisms there were a number of factors that meant the hotel did not quite meet our expectations.

For the price the rooms were on the small side and while at first glance were furnished with character (we especially liked the solid wood shutters) the rooms still felt lacking in individuality. The plumbing wasn't great as we struggled to get hot water in the hand basin and in a hotel of that size you wouldn't expect to turn on an individual water heater and the wait 5 minutes to have a hot shower.

The service was also not top notch. The reception often seemed quite chaotic and it was frustrating to have to wait until someone was free to give our key in whenever we left the hotel. For a couple of days there was very loud repair work going on in the corridor of our room and the hotel staff didn't quite understand why this may be an issue. Lastly, we were leaving at 8am on the last day (the time the breakfast service starts) and we found the staff very inflexible, they weren't able to offer us a freshly prepared breakfast even 10 minutes earlier than this time. We found it very strange for a hotel this size and given that it wasn't even that early.

On the positive, the breakfast we did have was nice and had a good choice including eggs Benedict and dim sum. Although I referred to style over substance the positive perspective is that the style, i.e. the ambience and decoration of the communal areas was very good.

Overall we had a comfortable enough stay it didn't necessarily provide the best service or value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikunaWoodhna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

stayed for one night at museum hotel. It was a nice experience and all the staffs are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very nice and I really like the welcome drink with lemon grass. The location is just perfect to be away from the busy and polluted George town :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yi Fen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuseuMhotelpenang, MuseuM Hotel Management at Museum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Yi Fen L,

Thank you for your time to write us a review. We are pleased to know that you had a positive experience with the staff, breakfast and prefer our Hotel location. All the staffs in MuseuM Hotel look forward to your return visit the next time you are in Penang.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 85 in George Town
619 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chulia Mansion
Chulia Mansion
#14 of 85 in George Town
828 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Edison George Town, Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Spices Hotel
Spices Hotel
#22 of 85 in George Town
184 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
0.5 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 85 in George Town
3,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Museum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum Hotel

Address: No. 74 Jalan A.S Mansoor, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in George Town
#5 Family Hotel in George Town
Price Range: £37 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Museum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time and savour the opulence of a bygone era at the Museum Hotel. Located in a restored historic building in the heart of George Town, this gem of a boutique hotel offers a unique glimpse into the golden past of this world heritage listed city. Each spacious, luxuriously appointed themed suite is one-of-a-kind, and a guests-only museum within the hotel features a remarkable private antique collection. Immerse yourself in the rich history and culture of Penang while you indulge your senses in luxury at the Museum Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Museum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing