We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice! ”
Review of Queen's Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Queen's Hostel
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice! ”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We, my girlfriend and i, stayed for 3 nights in a private room without a window. The bed was good, the shower was clean and the airconditioning worked perfectly. The hostell is in the middle of the old town, close to the sea, the bus, the ferry or a parking.
We loved it!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jekkie1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    28
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
21
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

I think there is no worse thing -when you are traveling- than arriving to your hotel/hostel and they say to you that you DONT have a room.. Now, add to this that before reaching your hostel, you had the longest journey of your life crossing the south of Thailand by tuk tuks, ferrys, train and walking in 30C. Well if you like to have such a situation and then just have a "sorry" as a apologize... You really have to come to this place!
I can say that this place really sucks but not because of how it looks (has too nice pictures to be true), I think so because after their "sorry" the girl from the reception didn't even offer us the wifi password to find another place, she just went to keep eating and her friend offered to us (my girlfriend and me) a bad place for the same price... Someone from the hotel sent me an email in the morning of our day of arrival (12 hours after our booking) that they were overbooked but they could do an "upgrade" to a dorm room (although we had booked a private room!!) if we were two girls traveling... ¿? Of course we didn't have internet at the time they sent the email because we where traveling from Thailand to Malaysia and in the end, just to be very kind with us, they reported to booking.com that we didn't show to the hotel!! Im really sorry but QUEEN'S hostel you really SUCK !!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Luis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rachelkoay, Owner at Queen's Hostel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
I am sorry for your unpleasant journey to from Thailand to Penang and I cannot deny that it is our bad for overbooking but there are a few things I must clarify;

1. We received your booking in a night before your arrival and I have sent you an email at 7am in the morning as soon as I check our booking and realized that it was an overbooked.

2. We did find you two alternatives which are nearby and at the same range but you did not like them.

3. We let you use the WiFi and pointed at the wall and said "here's the WiFi password" so that you can find an accommodation of your choice.

4. I continue to have my lunch because I saw you have taken your tablet out and you and your girlfriend have started talking in language or dialect which I don't understand so I thought I should let you both to have alone time to discuss and such.

5. "No Show" is the only button we can press for guests who did not stay with us, there are no button says "We Were Overbooked". If we didn't mark it, booking.com will assume that you've stayed and we have received your money, and so we will have to pay an amount of commission.

However, we are deeply sorry for letting you and your girlfriend down.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My friend and I booked a private room for two nights in this hostel. Room was clean and the beds were comfortable. Free wifi and bike rentals are also available. There is also a shared washroom with shampoo, soap, toothpaste and other toiletries provided. Location is also great. It's a walking distance from several sights.

While the room was cozy, it's the staff that helped made this place stand out! We met Zoe, one of the owners, and she was very helpful. She provided us with directions, called us cabs and even gave me medicine when I needed painkillers! I definitely recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imlikethewind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

A nice hostel a bit further from all the happening tourist areas without compromising convenience. It's still easily accessible yet you enjoy the quiet environment if you're not into partying in hostels. Staff were friendly and very helpful. (Zoe was very helpful and attentive. She even called to check if I reached the airport after calling a taxi for me.) A place with lots of privacy and would definitely recommend it to those who usually have cold feet about staying in a hostel.

Be prepared that it would be a little quiet in that area when you go back to the hostel in the evening. But it is quite safe from my own experience. I went back late most of the nights there and I walked back all the time.

And a recommendation for food would be to go to Little India and find some nice South Indian food! That's an advantage of location this hostel has!

The only thing I'd like to mention is that if you head to the hostel from Airport on bus, don't wait til the very last station at the Jetty. It would be nice if you got down on the other side of the road. Because the traffic is quite heavy along the road right outside Jetty and it's not easy to cross for those with heavy luggage and those who are used to very organized traffic condition. And when you find a point to cross, you may not find the way according to the instructions given by the hostel easily, especially when you reach in the evening.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Extremely clean, cozy & colourful hostel. Super comfortable mattress. Canopy provides privacy needed.

Free wifi, free bicycle rental, rain shower with hot water, free towel, bathroom amenities, hair dryer, hair straightener & nail polish are provided. You won't be able to find all these in other hostel.

Convenient location. Walking distance to many attractions & eateries. Easy to find parking space.

Rachel is very friendly & helpful.

Queen's is way above common hostel standard. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chloesim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed on the 8th of May and checked in rather late. But the person who greeted us; Rachel was all smiles and welcomed us warmly. We actually wanted to try out the tent beds but opted instead for the room as it was available. Appreciated the little details and colourful utensils and very chick minimalist style of deco. Will definitely recommend this place to anyone. Clean showers and toilets. Had a good night sleep on a comfortable, clean bed and sheets and was all ready and pumped up for our journey again. I give 5 stars all the way !

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kavitha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is the perfect place for a female traveler! Colourful, clean, peaceful and cool. The dorm beds felt like a glamorous grown up version of your childhood tent forts. Quiet but placed right in the middle of all the action, with nearly every major tourist point in walking distance. Full length mirror, generously spaced showers and hair straighteners! At this price it's a steal.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelindaG029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Chulia Mansion
Chulia Mansion
#13 of 84 in George Town
802 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
#2 of 113 in George Town
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tipsy Tiger Party Hostel
Tipsy Tiger Party Hostel
#1 of 113 in George Town
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The 80's Guesthouse
The 80's Guesthouse
#6 of 113 in George Town
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Frame Guesthouse
The Frame Guesthouse
#7 of 113 in George Town
196 reviews
0.2 mi away
House of Journey
House of Journey
#8 of 113 in George Town
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Hostel

Property: Queen's Hostel
Address: 20 & 22 Lebuh Queen, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 113 Speciality Lodging in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A protected retreat of tranquility just for girls, in the heart of Georgetown. This entire hostel is female only and it comes with lots of extra little luxuries, including fluffy duvets, OPI nail lacquers and those extra finishing touches that make any break away from home a bit more special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Queen's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen's Hostel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing