We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Ranked #26 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Townsville, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fair Hotel”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Stayed April 2013 for four night twelfth floor, room ok toilet seat too low for westerners, side of bath too high thus one had to climb into the bath, safety rail broken, little use for getting into bath for shower; breakfast difficult for westerners no pork products, therefore does not really cater for westerners. Of a night the Hotel has little security over the drunks who roam about slamming doors, ringing door bells repeatedly, throwing their boots on the floor and then stomping about, kept awake regularly. Difficult to reconcile the drunken noise at night with the outward support of for the rules of Islam.

Room Tip: Backpackers go elsewhere and if you have money go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gallus08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear gallus08

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post your feedbacks on TripAdvisor. We have taken note of your comment over the broken safety rail in the room and we apologize for the inconvenience caused. We would appreciate if you could kindly advise us on the room number in order for us to look into it.

Regretfully, we are unable to serve pork in the hotel and we regret that you were disturbed by other guests returning back during one of the nights.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    611
    331
    95
    38
See reviews for
286
394
111
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Stayed for two nights at the hotel. Reception was gracious enough to upgrade our room to a sea facing one.The room was large and had a great view of the sea. The amenities were par for a hotel of its class.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunitasubra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Dear Sunitasubra

We would like to extend our sincere thanks for the positive comments on your recent stay at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang. We are delighted to hear that our hotel facilities met your satisfactions as well as the services from our staff.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We hope to welcome you back here again in the near future.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Bayview and were very happy with our choice. We had a large, comfortable room with TV, air conditioning and tea/coffee making facilities with a good-sized attached bathroom. The interior of the hotel is quite smart and is clean and well looked after. The included breakfast was reasonable, with a decent choice and good coffee, and was a welcome start to the day.
The hotel scores particularly highly with its location, providing easy access to shops, food and drink, with the Red Garden food court just a couple of minutes away. Transport is easy with a taxi rank across the road and a stop for the free tourist bus just a couple of minutes walk away, although it is worth grabbing a tourist map from the lobby and going for a walk as there are many places to visit within the locality. The staff at the hotel were very helpful and friendly without exception and made us feel very welcome.
If I return to Georgetown I would definitely stay at the Bayview again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Busbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Dear Busbar

Thank you very much for posting an excellent review about your recent stay at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang on TripAdvisor. Your positive ratings of the hotel especially its location is very much appreciated. Thank you also for your endorsement of our large & comfortable room, the interior of the hotel, our staff and services.

We are delighted to hear that we are able to provide you with an enjoyable stay here and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang in the not too distance future.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Sarawak, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Located in the Middle of Georgetown..... It will be the ideal place for a gastronomic experience, all the pub & lounge in walking distance. Very easy to find taxi's. Room rate was fair. Room was OK, the bed was abit hard. Few TV channel, but who watched TV anyway... LOL. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Other than that, it was all good.

Room Tip: Higher floor to get best view. Get the room which is far from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don_Carlitto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Don_Carlitto

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. Your positive ratings of the hotel, our staff and services are very much appreciated. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown on your next visit to Penang.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Great location, sandwiched between E&O Hotel and the Blue Mansion & within walking distance of the Clan Jetties and Penang Road eating places.
Friendly staff who obliged with a spacious room with a very nice view of the old historic part of town though next time I must remember to ask for a view of the sea ( for a change).
Knowledgeable concierge with useful tips about best ways to get around town on foot.
Great pecan and walnut tarts served in the coffee house.
In my haste to check out, I had left behind some belongings. Called reception the day after I had checked out and was relieved to learn that housekeeping staff have put aside the things I had overlooked with the Lost and Found Department. Thanks and I look forward to collecting them in my next visit to Penang!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Selene71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear Selene71

Thank you for posting your great review of the hotel on TripAdvisor. We are glad to note that you had an enjoyable stay here and that our pecan & walnut tart was to your liking. Your positive ratings of the hotel, our staff and services especially from the Housekeeping Department in keeping your personal items are very much appreciated.

It was a pleasure to have been of service to you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown on your next visit to Penang.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Stayed in this hotel for three days. Overall it was a pleasant experience. front staff were friendly and helpful. cleaning service was spotless. all electric devices function properly. maybe in future the management can put lobby seats. and the food at the secret alley cafe was superb!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aznara z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear aznara z

We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay here and that our services lived up to your expectations. We appreciate your superb rating of the food at secret alley. We wish to inform you that we do provide seating area at lobby lounge for our guests.

Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dwight, Canada
Level Contributor
255 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed at the Bayview Hotel for 2 nights in February. This centrally located hotel is close to most of the main sites. When we checked in, they upgraded our room to an upper floor. It was spacious and quiet. This hotel is close to many good restaurants.The breakfast was ok. Some of the food sitting under the heaters was cold. Staff was helpful. They suggested taking the free tourist bus, which you can get at the museum. It goes around the city and stops at the main tourist attractions. You can get off any time and jump back on. Ring the bell on the bus to let the driver know you want off. You can walk to the hawker stalls on Gurney Drive which you can't miss. It is good 20 minute walk along the waterfront. Take the taxi to and from the airport to the hotel.Convenient and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Upper rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Retired_teacher_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear Retired_teacher_56

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience on TripAdvisor and for your endorsement of our hotel location, spacious room and our services. We have taken note of your comment over some cold food served during breakfast. Our Executive Chef has been informed on this matter and will look into improving it.

We appreciate your feedback and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang soon.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.9 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.2 mi away
Cititel Penang
Cititel Penang
#21 of 84 in George Town
1,049 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royale Chulan Penang
Royale Chulan Penang
#17 of 84 in George Town
668 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#24 of 84 in George Town
1,041 reviews
1.0 mi away
GLOW Penang
GLOW Penang
#22 of 84 in George Town
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang

Property: Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Address: Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang 25A Lebuh Farquhar, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in George Town
#10 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning hotel for business or leisure. Hotel accommodation, food & beverage services, meeting facilities, banquet function. BAYVIEW HOTEL GEORGETOWN PENANG actively pursues opportunities to provide customer with creative, flexible and value-added promotions which meet your evolving needs in today's travel budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing