We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old World Charm - Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Ranked #26 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Brisbane
Level Contributor
140 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Old World Charm - Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

I had booked this hotel as we were late in after a long day travelling. We took an Executive room which gave us fantastic views and access to the Premier Lounge near the top of the building. We had a great breakfast and excellent evening snacks in the lounge which was very much "colonial" in style; outstanding service, excellent fare with another fantastic view across the bay.

What a great surprise this was as I had booked the Executive room for the sea view more than access to the Premier Lounge which really was wonderful!

Our stay was only a couple of nights but we totally enjoyed ourselves. The staff were friendly and spoke to us at every opportunity. We also had a drink in the lounge bar and a light lunch in the restaurant beside it. Both were great value for money with attentive staff. We will be back!

Room Tip: Book an Executive Room from their own web site & have an incredible view, large bathroom with ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanW-QLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear IanW-QLD

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. Your positive ratings of the hotel, our Premier Lounge, the staff and services are very much appreciated. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Once again, thank you and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang in the not too distance future.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    601
    330
    95
    37
See reviews for
280
388
110
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

I visited Penang last October and stayed in a deluxe room in this hotel. The location is pretty good and the price is reasonable. The breakfast is pretty good. Rooms not very well appointed and furniture is old.

Considering the price, about one third of what u will pay to stay at Eastern and Oriental Hotel opposite this hotel, it is a decent hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InvestorTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear InvestorTiger

Thank you very much for posting your review about your recent stay at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang on TripAdvisor. Your positive ratings of the hotel especially its location is very much appreciated.

We wish to inform you that the hotel offers few categories of rooms ranging from Standard Room with basic amenities to Premier Room that features a different look with a complete host of room amenities.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang in the not too distance future.


Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

We live in this hotel for 3 nights, everything is good, atmosphere rooftop lounge, nice spa & massage therapist, helpful concierge~
'Nazri' help us carry our luggage under raining day, and he is very helpful for every question that we ask and solved it properly~ thanks you!
Friendly massage therapist 'Jun' and helpful & hardworking concierge 'Nazri'!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessieThien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear Jessie Thien

Thank you for your nice review on TripAdvisor. Your positive ratings of the hotel, our staff and services are very much appreciated.

I am happy to note that the little gestures extended to you by the staff touches your heart. I will definitely convey your message to the staff concerned and I am sure that they too will be very happy to receive such good compliments from you.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown on your next visit to Penang.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

The hotel was choosen by my bussiness associate in Penang and it was a great place to stay. Even though the hotel look quite old in the outside, the room is very nice and services are good.

(+) points :

- big room (i stayed in a twin bed room)
- food is great
- breakfast variety is very nice
- hotel staff are very nice
- many restaurants in the area
- close to 24 hrs convenience store
- free laundry

(-) points :

- no waiting area except in the bar area
- wifi speed drops regularly

did not get the chance to try the rotating restaurant in the hotel, maybe the next time...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dme3ha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear dme3ha

We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay here and that our services lived up to your expectations. Your positive ratings of the hotel, especially the location and the room size are very much appreciated.

We have taken note of your comment over the wifi speed and will look into the matter.

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meekatharra
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Bayview was an absolute find and in some way I don't want to share it. Check-in was efficient but also friendly and all the staff we met from the doorman to the housekeeping were all good. The room was amazing overlooking the water and exceptionally clean and well appointed, We SHALL stay here again next year. Breakfast was not provided in the tariff and cost $13.00 each - so we opted eating local food at around $2.00 each. Swimming pool was good as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear Ellen O

Thank you for posting your great review of the hotel on TripAdvisor. We are glad to note that you had an enjoyable stay here. Your positive ratings of the hotel, our staff and services are very much appreciated.

It was a pleasure to have been of service to you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown on your next visit to Penang.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

We took the superior room and the rooms were HUGE! Friendly and helpful staff.
There is a taxi stand right at the entrance, can always get a taxi in seconds.
Walking distance to the Red Garden eating place and stretch of eateries at night and in the morning.

Room Tip: For a good view, ask for rooms facing the sea and on high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coded_pixel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear coded_pixel

Thank you for your positive ratings of the hotel especially on our location and the room size. We are glad to note that our services met your satisfactions.

Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Bayview Hotel Georgetown, is in an excellent location for looking around the city. The check-in was quick and problem free, the lobby huge and clean. A short walk to all the tourist sights of Fort Cornwallis, Museum, Cheong Fatt Tze Mansion, Red Garden eatery, the Sunday markets, and all the old areas.
We stayed on the 15th floor, the view was excellent, the room huge, the staff very helpful and friendly, and the new Skybar a fun way to end the day.
Waka Japanese restaurant on the first floor, excellent.

Room Tip: Our room faced the lovely little park opposite the hotel entrance, but the view out of the window to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHGPenang, Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Dear Barbara850

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience on TripAdvisor and for your endorsement of our hotel location, lobby and our services.

Your compliments on the Waka Japanese Restaurant and Skybar are very much appreciated.

We appreciate your feedback and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang soon.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.9 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.2 mi away
Cititel Penang
Cititel Penang
#20 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#17 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#23 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
0.5 mi away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#18 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang

Property: Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Address: Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang 25A Lebuh Farquhar, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in George Town
#10 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning hotel for business or leisure. Hotel accommodation, food & beverage services, meeting facilities, banquet function. BAYVIEW HOTEL GEORGETOWN PENANG actively pursues opportunities to provide customer with creative, flexible and value-added promotions which meet your evolving needs in today's travel budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing