We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Ranked #26 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good location nice staff”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in March and had a very good stay. Room was spacious and very comfortable. It is an older hotel but the location is good for exploring Georgetown and rest of the island. Would stay again as value for money is very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreedaMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear FreedaMagic,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you for the nice and lovely review of your stay with us in March 2013.

I am glad that you found our rooms nice, comfortable & spacious with our fantastic location to explore Georgetown.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    605
    332
    95
    38
See reviews for
284
392
110
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed recently in Bayview Georgetown, together with my 2 colleague for 2 nights (21/10 n 22/10, check in 6.00pm) in room 605,606 and 607. Since we are walk in customer, we don't expect something special from the check in counters. Many thanks to the front desk oficer for upgrading our room with a goverment rate.
The rooms were spacious, clean and had a great view. The other service team members had also been pleasant and helpful.
But the management to need to replace the matress. It was very hard and flat. Uncomfortable and pain to guest especially with back pain.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faredalias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear faredalias,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you for your nice and lovely review and I am glad that you received a pleasant experience at the Front Desk with a nice spacious, clean and fantastic view from your room.

I have taken note of your comments on the mattress and I would like to inform you that the mattresses are all pretty new...just changed in early 2012. Also the mattress that we bought are from King Koil Chiro-Tech Coil Series which is a recommended mattress for back problems. We do have a top lay that we can add in should guest want a softer bed. This is subject to request and my housekeeping team will make the necessary adjustments.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Johor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I was there in December2012, I booked on mid September 2012 and was issued booking itinerary via email.

Arrived Penang and Bayview Hotel at 9.00 a.m and register with the front desk at that time. Told by the front person everthing has been reserved and I even secured the booking through credit card (that was what the hotel promised, guarantee booking only with credit card).

Doing some leisure activity and island touring the day with the family. Then, at the time of check-in at 10.30pm we were told that there was no room reserved. We were shocked!!

My wife got mad and asked the manager on duty to be presented to us, explain and provide us with room since we already secure the booking using credit card in the morning. I think may be the system or the front person need more training on booking system coz the manger was able to track our booking when he logged on using his account.

But our time was lost for over half an hour to 45 minutes because of the hitch in the booking system. Pity our two kids , they had to wait in exhaustion..

However the manager was quick to save the day/night, but left me wondering, what on earth is going on between the front clerk and manager booking IT system?that almost wrecked havoc if we didn't get our room that night?

Things goes smoothly after that, the manager even ask the security guard to bring our luggage upstairs-normally this is a bellboy job, maybe they try to compensate for mistake made earlier, and this also cool us down - afterall we did gave the security guard a bit of tips..

Breakfast was great, many variety of breakfast menu and the ID and cafe setting was very cozy.

Also we did get the bay view room where we could enjoy the early morning view, beautifully overlooking the Penang Bridge and Starits of Malacca, breathtaking view (that was the view we demanded and confirm by the itinerary booking)

Our kids were also woke up early from bed just to accompanied us to experience morning view of the Malacca Straits at 6.20a.m

Everything was good except the hitch at the front desk experience that night..

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank admeenjbdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear admeenjbdh,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

First and foremost, please allow me to sincerely apologize for the poor impression and service inefficiency that you had experience at the front desk on your previous stay with us in 2012. I am glad that the Duty Manager managed to resolve the situation fast and there after your stay with us was without any further hitches.

Thank you very much for your compliments on the view from your room as well as the buffet breakfast served which I will convey your comments to the Kitchen Department.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back again to Bayview Georgetown again this year. Do drop me a line and I will ensure you a nice room with a view and no more "hiccups" this time.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed from 16-20 October 2013. Pleasant welcome on check-in. Staff were well trained and polite. Hotel Manager, Mr. Lawrence Perera, exudes passion in well being of ensuring my stay was comfortable. This must have infectiously spread to all his staff who provided great service all the way. Good location. Good room. Great service. Thanks to ALL. Will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Teh L,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you for this excellent review and for giving us a 5/5 score. I am happy that everything went well with your stay and that all my staff had exceeded your expectations.

I thank you for your endorsement & support and we all look forward to welcoing you back to Bayview Georgetown Penang again soon.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SG
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I recently stayed in Bayview Georgetown, together with my extended family for 2 nights in room 1219 and 1220. The rooms were spacious, clean and had a great view of the bay. Thanks to Izham for offering me the upgrade.

This is my second visit to Bayview Georgetown and I would like to thank the hotel service team on their excellent services esp. Izham from the Front-desk and Anthony from the Concierge. They showed professionalism together with personal touches that were exemplary and made the guests feel welcomed. 2 thumbs up for them. The other service team members had also been pleasant and helpful.

All in all, my parents and my family had a great stay. I'll definitely come back to Bayview Georgetown the next time I visit Penang.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FredTKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear FredTKT,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you very much for this lovely review and for giving us a 5/5 score. I am happy that all my staff (especially Izham & Anthony) was proactive and had exceeded in their services which resulted in you and your family having a great time staying with us.

I thank you for your endorsement & support and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Bayview Georgetown Penang again.

Kind regards,
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This is my second time with Bayview Georgetown - the first was an above average experience. This time around, the GM of the hotel took note of my suggestions the last time around and went out of his way to improve my experience

And it was greatly improved.

I was given a renovated room on the 12th floor and it was a huge room with an excellent view. The bathroom had a shower and a bathtub which is great. Water pressure of good and hot and cold water could be easily adjusted and controlled. All amenities were there - towels were fresh and in good condition.

The King bed had a hard mattress which suited me find. The little improvement included soft and hard pillows so the guest can choose to use either or both (two extra pillows available in the wardrobe over the four on the bed).

Coffee and tea sachets available although there weren't any sweetners (minor quip).

The television was well positioned but channel selection was limited.

My only disappointment is the gym - it has a cross-trainer, two treadmills and a bike (not too bad) but only one bench and very few dumb-bells - I think this definitely has room for improvement. The pool is very nice - very family-friendly.

All in all - I think Bayview Georgetown has definitely done a good job.

Room Tip: Ask for the newly renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear R L,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you very much for this excellent review. I take feedback from all guests seriously and find ways to improve and I am glad that your stay with us was pleasant.

I have taken note of your comments over the gym equipment and hopefully and I will be able to further upgrade them.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us again and I hope that you will continue to support us all the way.

Till your next trip to Bayview Georgetown Penang.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Had a 1 night stay for a business trip recently. The 1st impression upon check-in wasn't very good because the staff lacked the professionalism and friendliness of a 3/4 star hotel. The front desk manager was not very helpful in addressing my concerns when I asked about booking connecting rooms for a future trip. The sales team however did respond promptly to request for corporate rate and secured the booking on last minute request. There were some language barriers with the housekeeping staff which could'n't comprehend English very well but were still generally friendly. The breakfast was good, staff in the coffeehouse were helpful with small requests. Tips - ask for deluxe rooms if you want non-smoking and do ask for morning paper if you want it (not given, otherwise). Rooms are newly refurbished and spacious (maybe a little empty looking due to the space).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sugarstic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Sugarstic,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

I would like to apologize for the poor impression you had experience from the Front Office team during check-in. I will certainly look into this and ensure that the team improves on the service.

I am glad that apart for the small hiccup, everything else with your stay was good.

It was a pleasure having you with us and I sincerely hope that you will continue to stay with us weather it is for business or leisure.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.9 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.2 mi away
Cititel Penang
Cititel Penang
#20 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royale Chulan Penang
Royale Chulan Penang
#17 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#24 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
0.5 mi away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#18 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang

Property: Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Address: Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang 25A Lebuh Farquhar, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in George Town
#10 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning hotel for business or leisure. Hotel accommodation, food & beverage services, meeting facilities, banquet function. BAYVIEW HOTEL GEORGETOWN PENANG actively pursues opportunities to provide customer with creative, flexible and value-added promotions which meet your evolving needs in today's travel budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing