We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel needs updating but good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Ranked #26 of 88 Hotels in George Town
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I stayed there for a weekend the end of August as a part of an Air Asia package. The room was big but very outdated and smelled of cigarettes (as did most of the hotel). The pillows were really dirty and the towels were very thin and needed to be replaced.

On a positive note - the staff was friendly and helped us with planning sight seeing tours. The location was good - right in the center of the city.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tris214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Tris214,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you for your comments during your stay with us in August. I apologize for the cigarette smell and the towels that you had mentioned.

I am glad that my staff was friendly and their tips of where to visit in Penang was great.

I hope that the slight oversight will not hinder you from staying with us again. This time we will make sure that your room is "smoke free" and the towels are checked properly.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

613 - 619 of 1,317 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed at family room, clean, bright, big and comfortable with a great view for sunrise on the high floor. Good security and friendly house keeping is very hard working on the 12th floor, which we had stayed. Hotel is near to the Red Garden food place, great food at reasonable price with live band too. Very interesting.

Room Tip: Family room is very comfortable and big space, 2 toilets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BVicSin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear BVicSin,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you for the great review on our Family Room and for giving us a 5/5 score in all the benchmarks.

I have also taken note on the good security and friendly and hardworking room attendants on the 12th floor and I will convey your message to them.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed here many times but they don't remember you except for 1 or 2 senior staff if they are on duty. Keep asking for your IDs to register even though details are in the computer system.
Liked the rooms, spacious bathrooms, clean & comfortable bed.
Parking is inconvenient, you need to take another lift to get to the main hotel. Breakfast is average so I skip it most of the time.

Room Tip: Get higher floors and ask for near the lifts otherwise you have to walk a long way
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nayong18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Nayong18,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Please allow me to apologize for the poor guest recognition from my staff. I will look into this and ensure that we improve in this guest service area.

I am glad that your overall stay was pleasant.

I thank you for your support and hope that you will continue to stay with us.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed only 1 nite for biking around Penang. Pleasant 3~4 star hotel, Clean, pleasant & convenient location (about 1.5 km to Gurney Drive & less than 500m walk to GeorgeTown World Heritage site). Hotel is just next to the Cheong Fatt Tze Mansion. Plenty of parking lots for hotel guest. Good value for money and I got a free upgrade to a bigger room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeKwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear JoeKwan,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you for this nice review and I am glad that you had a pleasant experience and a nice stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We only stayed at the Bayview for a night however it was an excellent stay. The room was spacious, nicely decorated and tidy, the staff were friendly and helpful, and the breakfast buffet had a huge selection.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnGrahamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear JohnGrahamUK,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you for this excellent review and for giving us a 5/5 score.

I am happy that you had a wonderful experience staying with us from the nice & spacious room to the friendly & helpful staff and finally to the huge selection at the buffet breakfast.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope that you will stay longer with us the next time.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in March and had a very good stay. Room was spacious and very comfortable. It is an older hotel but the location is good for exploring Georgetown and rest of the island. Would stay again as value for money is very good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreedaMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear FreedaMagic,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you for the nice and lovely review of your stay with us in March 2013.

I am glad that you found our rooms nice, comfortable & spacious with our fantastic location to explore Georgetown.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed recently in Bayview Georgetown, together with my 2 colleague for 2 nights (21/10 n 22/10, check in 6.00pm) in room 605,606 and 607. Since we are walk in customer, we don't expect something special from the check in counters. Many thanks to the front desk oficer for upgrading our room with a goverment rate.
The rooms were spacious, clean and had a great view. The other service team members had also been pleasant and helpful.
But the management to need to replace the matress. It was very hard and flat. Uncomfortable and pain to guest especially with back pain.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faredalias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear faredalias,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you for your nice and lovely review and I am glad that you received a pleasant experience at the Front Desk with a nice spacious, clean and fantastic view from your room.

I have taken note of your comments on the mattress and I would like to inform you that the mattresses are all pretty new...just changed in early 2012. Also the mattress that we bought are from King Koil Chiro-Tech Coil Series which is a recommended mattress for back problems. We do have a top lay that we can add in should guest want a softer bed. This is subject to request and my housekeeping team will make the necessary adjustments.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.9 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.7 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
0.2 mi away
Cititel Penang
Cititel Penang
#20 of 88 in George Town
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royale Chulan Penang
Royale Chulan Penang
#16 of 88 in George Town
724 reviews
1.4 mi away
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
#28 of 88 in George Town
790 reviews
7.2 mi away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang

Address: Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang 25A Lebuh Farquhar, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in George Town
#10 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range: £38 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning hotel for business or leisure. Hotel accommodation, food & beverage services, meeting facilities, banquet function. BAYVIEW HOTEL GEORGETOWN PENANG actively pursues opportunities to provide customer with creative, flexible and value-added promotions which meet your evolving needs in today's travel budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing