We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love It Here!! Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Ranked #26 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love It Here!! Great Service”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I am never around for Checking in as I always arrive later on, but suffice to say?I love it here. From the food, the staffs especially the F&B Side. They make me feel at home. And I always get the rooms that are on the 11th floor and above. One time I got the room and the view was Spectacular. In short? LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS PLACE. :)..
I speak from my own wonderful experience :)

Room Tip: If possible, request for Higher floor:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Sarah J,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you very much for your lovely review and for giving us a 5/5 score in all the benchmarks.

I am glad that you love Bayview Georgetown and the hotel makes you feel at home at all times.

We also love you and we hope that you will continue to have many wonderful experiences staying with us.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    622
    337
    96
    38
See reviews for
295
398
113
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I stayed there for a weekend the end of August as a part of an Air Asia package. The room was big but very outdated and smelled of cigarettes (as did most of the hotel). The pillows were really dirty and the towels were very thin and needed to be replaced.

On a positive note - the staff was friendly and helped us with planning sight seeing tours. The location was good - right in the center of the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tris214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Tris214,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you for your comments during your stay with us in August. I apologize for the cigarette smell and the towels that you had mentioned.

I am glad that my staff was friendly and their tips of where to visit in Penang was great.

I hope that the slight oversight will not hinder you from staying with us again. This time we will make sure that your room is "smoke free" and the towels are checked properly.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these George Town hotels

Sin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed at family room, clean, bright, big and comfortable with a great view for sunrise on the high floor. Good security and friendly house keeping is very hard working on the 12th floor, which we had stayed. Hotel is near to the Red Garden food place, great food at reasonable price with live band too. Very interesting.

Room Tip: Family room is very comfortable and big space, 2 toilets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BVicSin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear BVicSin,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you for the great review on our Family Room and for giving us a 5/5 score in all the benchmarks.

I have also taken note on the good security and friendly and hardworking room attendants on the 12th floor and I will convey your message to them.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed here many times but they don't remember you except for 1 or 2 senior staff if they are on duty. Keep asking for your IDs to register even though details are in the computer system.
Liked the rooms, spacious bathrooms, clean & comfortable bed.
Parking is inconvenient, you need to take another lift to get to the main hotel. Breakfast is average so I skip it most of the time.

Room Tip: Get higher floors and ask for near the lifts otherwise you have to walk a long way
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nayong18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Nayong18,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Please allow me to apologize for the poor guest recognition from my staff. I will look into this and ensure that we improve in this guest service area.

I am glad that your overall stay was pleasant.

I thank you for your support and hope that you will continue to stay with us.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed only 1 nite for biking around Penang. Pleasant 3~4 star hotel, Clean, pleasant & convenient location (about 1.5 km to Gurney Drive & less than 500m walk to GeorgeTown World Heritage site). Hotel is just next to the Cheong Fatt Tze Mansion. Plenty of parking lots for hotel guest. Good value for money and I got a free upgrade to a bigger room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeKwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear JoeKwan,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you for this nice review and I am glad that you had a pleasant experience and a nice stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We only stayed at the Bayview for a night however it was an excellent stay. The room was spacious, nicely decorated and tidy, the staff were friendly and helpful, and the breakfast buffet had a huge selection.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnGrahamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear JohnGrahamUK,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you for this excellent review and for giving us a 5/5 score.

I am happy that you had a wonderful experience staying with us from the nice & spacious room to the friendly & helpful staff and finally to the huge selection at the buffet breakfast.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope that you will stay longer with us the next time.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in March and had a very good stay. Room was spacious and very comfortable. It is an older hotel but the location is good for exploring Georgetown and rest of the island. Would stay again as value for money is very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreedaMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear FreedaMagic,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you for the nice and lovely review of your stay with us in March 2013.

I am glad that you found our rooms nice, comfortable & spacious with our fantastic location to explore Georgetown.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.9 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.7 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
0.2 mi away
Cititel Penang
Cititel Penang
#21 of 84 in George Town
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royale Chulan Penang
Royale Chulan Penang
#17 of 84 in George Town
693 reviews
1.0 mi away
GLOW Penang
GLOW Penang
#24 of 84 in George Town
898 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#22 of 84 in George Town
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang

Property: Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Address: Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang 25A Lebuh Farquhar, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in George Town
#10 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning hotel for business or leisure. Hotel accommodation, food & beverage services, meeting facilities, banquet function. BAYVIEW HOTEL GEORGETOWN PENANG actively pursues opportunities to provide customer with creative, flexible and value-added promotions which meet your evolving needs in today's travel budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing