We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A true 5 star experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Ranked #26 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A true 5 star experience”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I stayed for 2 days at Bayview Hotel and I had a lovely stay as the rooms are really luxurious and clean .Its location is amazing and you can catch the free hop on hop off CAT bus just in walking distance also the mesmerizing wall-art is also 2 km away.There are taxis just outside the hotel which have a fixed rate for kehloksi temple and Penang hill .Breakfast had variety of things to choose from.Very Friendly staff and ready to guide you for any of your queries.We had amazing view of the sea from our room window.I highly recommend this hotel to everyone going to Penang

Room Tip: You can choose the sea facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soumyakhurana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Soumyakhurana,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you very much for this lovely review and for giving us a 5/5 score. I am happy that you had thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you also for recommending Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang as a preferred hotel to stay in Penang.

We hope to welcome you back again to the very best of Bayview.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    605
    332
    95
    38
See reviews for
284
392
110
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Was only staying at this hotel for one night while attending business meetings in Penang. It is in a good location which is easily accessible to the airport and most businesses nearby.
The staff in the hotel are helpful and friendly.
The hotel on the whole is clean and in a good state though could be better in places.
There is ample car parking which is attached to the hotel should you be driving to Penang.
The room - well its neither great or poor. Not the most modern room but it was clean and tidy but could do with a refurb soon. Quite noisy as the room was facing the road and could hear lorries etc - even on the 10th floor.
The bathroom in the room was ok but showed its age.
Breakfast was nice, good choices of local and western.
Not a bad hotel for a short business trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ismail77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear Ismail77,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you very much for your review of the hotel and for your endorsements on the good location, friendly & helpful staff, the overall cleanliness of the hotel as well as the good buffet breakfast.

I am glad that you had a pleasant experience during your stay with us.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The hotel's centrally located: getting to attractions was easy.The famous Cheong Fatt Tze Mansion's just across the road. You could also walk to Chowrastra Market, Prangin Mall, Komtar and 1st Avenue Mall. Penang has a free bus service that plies the city centre -- from Bayview you could walk to a bus stop on Penang Road, opposite Citidel Hotel.

The staff at the Concierge were great: helpful and gave good tips on what to see and do.

However, the hotel doesn't feel like a 4-star establishment. It looked aged. We had a room on a non-smoking floor but the corridor reeked of smoke occasionally. We booked a family room: On Day 1, I requested for a rubber mat for the bath tub as it was too slippery and dangerous to shower without one (There was no shower room per se). Housekeeping came back to say they didn't have one for me. I insisted on one, as I had a senior and young children. The nice man returned with a floor mat instead. Again, I insisted on a rubber mat, citing safety concerns. After about 30 mins, he came back with one.

On Day 2, the toilet malfunctioned, causing a mess in the bathroom. This happened after we returned for the night after 9 pm. Someone came to fix it, but missed out on getting the bathroom disinfected and cleaned. There was some back and forth before someone came with a mop. All this time, all four of us were exhausted while waiting to shower to turn in. To add to the problem, the air con in one of the bedrooms was faulty.

On the morning of Day 3, the toilet malfunctioned -- again. The staff were apologetic and offered to move us to a new room. I said please get the toilet repaired as it was a hassle to move, given we were going to check out the next day.

No surprises but on Day 4, the toilet was faulty yet again. The duty manager said yes to my request for a late checkout, to make up for the inconvenience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheesetomato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Cheesetomato,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

First and foremost, please allow me to sincerely apologize for the poor impression and the inconveniences that you had endured with the faulty toilet in the room during your stay with us.

Just to let you know that the room that you had occupied has already been blocked off for rectification works.

I thank you for bringing this matter up to me.

Once again, my sincere apologies.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these George Town hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Pros:
Really big room, beach facing, on 14th floor
Location wise, close to the street shopping area and restaurants.
Live band every evening singing classics was good.
Hot water swimming pool was one of the things my daughter enjoyed the most.
Room service was really hard working, fixed a blocked wash basin within no time.
Staff at reception helped whenever they could - always swamped with guests
Staff who helped us with our luggage was the most helpful person in the hotel, also helped planning our visits to near by places
Cons:
Check in at odd time - 3PM
No complimentary breakfast
Really noisy at night due to Sky Bar
Staff at the 'may I help you' counter directed us to check with the staff who handled luggage for every question we asked. I wonder why she was sitting there then.
Little expensive compared to the hotel we stayed in KL.

Overall had a very relaxing stay and lazy time in this hotel, would recommend to others if the 'cons' listed above are addressed.

Room Tip: Ask for beach facing room, 14th floor is the best but can be very noisier at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manoranjan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear Manoranjan A,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you very much for your review on your stay with us In October. Reading through your review, I am glad that overall you and your family had a nice relaxing and lazy time with at the hotel. To address the cons that you have highlighted
1. The check-out time is at 12 noon and the room attendants need time to clean and refresh the room which. That is why we have set the check-in time at 3.00pm. If the assigned room is ready upon arrival, we will always release the room early and not let guest wait until 3.00pm.

2. I am not sure of what package you bought but if you refer back to our webiste you will see that we do offer breakfast packages. I believe that you had bought a "Room Only" deal.

3. I apologize for the noise from Skybar and will look into this.

4. The girl that you are mentioning I believe is the tour desk executive and not a "May I help you desk" . Although she is not part of the hotel's staff directly, she should have been more proactive in assisting you with your questions.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back again to Bayview Georgetown.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

I called them to ask for some information, the staff over the phone sounded unpleasant and she did not return my call even though she said that she will return my call after she checked on the details. However , the location and the cleaniness of the room was considered good.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jecice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Jecice L,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you for your review and I would greatly appreciate it if you could message me your room number, the date & time that you had asked for information so that I can further investigate on this matter.

I am glad that you found the location and the cleanliness of the room good.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Rooms were very nice, really big size and nice clean bathroom. Location is a few minutes walk to most places which was ok.
Really good buffet breakfast. A lot of options. Don't eat in the revolving restaurant it's really expensive for what you get, service is awful. Waiters asking you a few times to confirm your order. A real lack of confidence.

Only fault with this hotel is the staff. Check in was slow but that's ok. Girl checking us in was speaking really low and had to ask her a few times to repeat herself, still we don't know what she said.

Girl in tour desk has no interest or passion in her job. When asked about a tour she didn't say a word just handed us a folder and continued to play on her phone. Management should really look at the front of house staff.

One staff made our holiday, a bellboy wish I knew his name, worked until
11pm on the 3/11/13.
Helped us organise our bus and recommended things to do for the day. A saving grace of otherwise terrible staff.

Overal it's an ok hotel, a little expensive for the service you get.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cocodooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Cocodooo,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Please allow me to apologize for the level of service experience that you had encountered on check-in. I have taken note of all your comments and I will get my Front Office Manager to look into this matter and make improvements.

I have also forwarded your comments on the tour desk personnel to the tour operator and the Revolving Restaurant operators for their info and remedial actions.

I am glad that the Concierge staff (by the way his name is Nazri) was excellent is his service to you.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed in superior room for 4 nights. If the hotel meant "newly renovated" when they said they have "93 newly refurbished Superior Rooms", my room didn't look like it was one of them. However, it was clean and room service was excellent in cleaning up after each night.

My first complaint was the shower in my room. It was small and it felt cramped whenever I took a shower. If you're over 6 ft. tall, your head will probably hit the ceiling. The bathroom exhaust fan is also awkwardly located in the middle of the window (made of privacy glass) that was right next to the shower. Although there was a diagram on the fan that showed that there was a possibility to close it with the cover outside, I wasn't able to do so since I think mine was broken (I even removed it from the window to see if I can close it). If you view through the fan at a certain angle, you can see the windows from the neighboring rooms. Hopefully they weren't able to see me whenever I was in the bathroom.

My biggest complaint about the hotel is the noise from the sky bar. If it wasn't for the loud music, I would've rated the hotel 4 out of 5. Although I was located on the 10th floor (in the middle of the building, overlooking the pool and the E&O Hotel) and the bar was located on the 16th floor, it still sounded like someone on my floor was having a party at night. The hotel needs to seriously soundproof the window or quiet the music after 10-11pm.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ap0calypseNOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Ap0calypseNOW,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

First and foremost, please allow me to apologize for the poor experience during your stay with us. I am not sure of the room category that you were assigned but all our Superior rooms and above categories have very large bathrooms. Only our Standard room bathroom is a bit small and had the fan that you had mentioned. The Standard rooms are due for a makeover in 2014 where we plan to enhance the room.

I have taken note of the loud noise from SkyBar and I will will the operators on this matter urgently. I fully agree with you that the noise level should be tone down at late night.

Please do message me on your next stay with us and I will ensure that you get a nice quiet room with a large bathroom.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.9 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.2 mi away
Cititel Penang
Cititel Penang
#20 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royale Chulan Penang
Royale Chulan Penang
#17 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#24 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
0.5 mi away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#18 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang

Property: Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Address: Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang 25A Lebuh Farquhar, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in George Town
#10 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning hotel for business or leisure. Hotel accommodation, food & beverage services, meeting facilities, banquet function. BAYVIEW HOTEL GEORGETOWN PENANG actively pursues opportunities to provide customer with creative, flexible and value-added promotions which meet your evolving needs in today's travel budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing