We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, average stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Ranked #26 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great location, average stay”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

The building itself is rather old, even though it's recently refurbished. So the rooms were comfy and clean enough, but still old in places. The car park is difficult to find, and access between the hotel and car park is quite troublesome, having to walk up/down stairs, then accessing another lift, which is small and will have trouble fitting a large family. The hotel and rooms are alright, though.

The location is great, within walking distance to Georgetown's heritage quarter which is fast gaining popularity with the hipsters and backpackers. And of course, the many food outlets Penang is famous for.

Do go up to the sky bar upstairs. It commands a fantastic view of the city and the sea.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chiselstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear chiselstone,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you for taking the time to post you review of your recent stay with us.

I am glad that you found our rooms comfortable and clean and the hotel situated in a great location. Thank you also for your compliments on 360° Revolving Restaurant & Skybar.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to see you again.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    605
    332
    95
    38
See reviews for
284
392
110
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My husband n I took our staff nurse n our children for a short holiday.the hotel is so good with the checking in .The hotel as usual has done a real upkeep of the place. They have renovated the place so amicable.the beds are so comfortable .the rooms we stayed were the grand deluxe room n they were so big and spacious.the king size bed is so comfortable that it can accommodate three people in it.the children explored the hotel and enjoyed themselves.good hotel and near to all the attractions.just down the road from the hotel is the world heritage mansion hotel the cheong fatt zee .there are food courts too.very good selection of food to be found there.

Room Tip: Rooms that are good is the grand deluxe ,the premier rooms,the junior suites.take the rooms facing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Catherine D,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you very much for the nice and lovely review of your recent stay with us.

I am glad that our efforts in sprucing up the hotel and paid off in you and your family enjoying the new rooms.

It was a pleasure having you and your family stay with us and we hope to welcome all of you back to Bayview soon.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We had a free upgrade to a premium, but smoking, room. The room was spacious and comfortable, despite the reeking smell of smoke. The bed was big and comfortable, although the pillows were too soft for comfort. The bathtub drain was a little clogged and it take ages for the water to clear, and there was leaking of the water from the bath to the toilet floor. Basic amenities were provided, as well as bottled water, which is a plus. The TV channels are limited though.

The hotel is rather accessible, just a short walking distance to the Red Garden for dinner, and 5 mins walk to the pubs for a after dinner drink. Generally it was pretty safe to be walking around at night.The Concierge staff is very friendly, and certainly very helpful in giving us directions to the Mural wall arts and recommendations for dinner choices. We are very pleased with his service.

Overall, we had a rather enjoyable stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelindaL_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear choroki,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you for your review of the hotel on your recent stay with us.

If you would be so kind as to message me on your room number so that I can get my maintenance team to look and rectify the faults that you have mention, it would be greatly appreciated.
I am happy to note that the concierge team was friendly and helpful and that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back to Bayview Georgetown Penang again soon.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
224 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Good sized room. Clean and tidy. Nice band in the lobby bar. 360 restaurant and sky bar are by far the highlight of this hotel and I only went there on my last night.
All in all a good stay.

Only downside for me was the paper thin walls and noisy neighbours

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan-Holden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Alan-Holden,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you very much for the nice review and I am glad that you found our rooms to be of a good size, clean & tidy and also offering good entertainment at the lobby lounge as well as 360° Revolving Restaurant & Skybar.

I apologize for the noise from the room next to you. It was indeed a pleasure having you with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I stayed for 2 days at Bayview Hotel and I had a lovely stay as the rooms are really luxurious and clean .Its location is amazing and you can catch the free hop on hop off CAT bus just in walking distance also the mesmerizing wall-art is also 2 km away.There are taxis just outside the hotel which have a fixed rate for kehloksi temple and Penang hill .Breakfast had variety of things to choose from.Very Friendly staff and ready to guide you for any of your queries.We had amazing view of the sea from our room window.I highly recommend this hotel to everyone going to Penang

Room Tip: You can choose the sea facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soumyakhurana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Soumyakhurana,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you very much for this lovely review and for giving us a 5/5 score. I am happy that you had thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you also for recommending Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang as a preferred hotel to stay in Penang.

We hope to welcome you back again to the very best of Bayview.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Was only staying at this hotel for one night while attending business meetings in Penang. It is in a good location which is easily accessible to the airport and most businesses nearby.
The staff in the hotel are helpful and friendly.
The hotel on the whole is clean and in a good state though could be better in places.
There is ample car parking which is attached to the hotel should you be driving to Penang.
The room - well its neither great or poor. Not the most modern room but it was clean and tidy but could do with a refurb soon. Quite noisy as the room was facing the road and could hear lorries etc - even on the 10th floor.
The bathroom in the room was ok but showed its age.
Breakfast was nice, good choices of local and western.
Not a bad hotel for a short business trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ismail77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear Ismail77,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

Thank you very much for your review of the hotel and for your endorsements on the good location, friendly & helpful staff, the overall cleanliness of the hotel as well as the good buffet breakfast.

I am glad that you had a pleasant experience during your stay with us.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The hotel's centrally located: getting to attractions was easy.The famous Cheong Fatt Tze Mansion's just across the road. You could also walk to Chowrastra Market, Prangin Mall, Komtar and 1st Avenue Mall. Penang has a free bus service that plies the city centre -- from Bayview you could walk to a bus stop on Penang Road, opposite Citidel Hotel.

The staff at the Concierge were great: helpful and gave good tips on what to see and do.

However, the hotel doesn't feel like a 4-star establishment. It looked aged. We had a room on a non-smoking floor but the corridor reeked of smoke occasionally. We booked a family room: On Day 1, I requested for a rubber mat for the bath tub as it was too slippery and dangerous to shower without one (There was no shower room per se). Housekeeping came back to say they didn't have one for me. I insisted on one, as I had a senior and young children. The nice man returned with a floor mat instead. Again, I insisted on a rubber mat, citing safety concerns. After about 30 mins, he came back with one.

On Day 2, the toilet malfunctioned, causing a mess in the bathroom. This happened after we returned for the night after 9 pm. Someone came to fix it, but missed out on getting the bathroom disinfected and cleaned. There was some back and forth before someone came with a mop. All this time, all four of us were exhausted while waiting to shower to turn in. To add to the problem, the air con in one of the bedrooms was faulty.

On the morning of Day 3, the toilet malfunctioned -- again. The staff were apologetic and offered to move us to a new room. I said please get the toilet repaired as it was a hassle to move, given we were going to check out the next day.

No surprises but on Day 4, the toilet was faulty yet again. The duty manager said yes to my request for a late checkout, to make up for the inconvenience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheesetomato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Cheesetomato,

Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang.

First and foremost, please allow me to sincerely apologize for the poor impression and the inconveniences that you had endured with the faulty toilet in the room during your stay with us.

Just to let you know that the room that you had occupied has already been blocked off for rectification works.

I thank you for bringing this matter up to me.

Once again, my sincere apologies.

Thank you.

Kind regards
Lawrence Perera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these George Town hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.9 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.2 mi away
Cititel Penang
Cititel Penang
#21 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royale Chulan Penang
Royale Chulan Penang
#17 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#23 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
0.5 mi away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#18 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang

Property: Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Address: Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang 25A Lebuh Farquhar, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in George Town
#10 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning hotel for business or leisure. Hotel accommodation, food & beverage services, meeting facilities, banquet function. BAYVIEW HOTEL GEORGETOWN PENANG actively pursues opportunities to provide customer with creative, flexible and value-added promotions which meet your evolving needs in today's travel budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing